We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Loja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed one evening in the Loja HOJO and I was pleasantly surprised by the professionalism of the staff and the quality of the room. Both very much met our expectations. The breakfast buffet, included in the rate, was excellent. As noted by one of the other reviewers, there is no AC, but opening a window allows a bit of circulation and kept the room comfortable. Unfortunately, there was some sort of celebration going on in the park nearby with a live band, which made it difficult to get to sleep, but to be fair, this was probably a one time event. The pool and the exercise facilities are quite nice, as well, but unfortunately do not seem to be open until about mid-morning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stay here for three days and had an awesome time.

The service is as you could expect Freon the Howard Johnson chain.

The room got everything you need and more although there could add the Pringles for an afternoon snack.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Diego M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent hotel, in general Hojo's in Ecuador are way much better than in the US!. Hojo Loja has big rooms, comfortable beds, nice clean bedding. There's no A/C in the rooms but you can open the window to get some fresh air. The hotel is smoke free. Buffet breakfast is included. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielaAndrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Let's just get right to the point. The Hotel and staff of Howard Johnsons in Loja, Ecuador is...in a word...AWESOME! Why do I say that? As a travler I have stayed in hotels in many parts of the world. This Hotel was just great, from the moment we arrived the service and professionalism never stopped.

Patty Battallas of www.wakaniexpediciones.com recommended this above several others, and she was absolutely right. We loved our stay. The beds were comfortable, the food was great, and the best part was the buffet breakfast included in the cost of the room! What a spread!

At every turn, we really felt like guests and not an intrusion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alanj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... H, Director Comercial at Howard Johnson Hotel Loja, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Alan

Kindest regards from us, in advance thank you for your positive comments about our hotel and service. Likewise we are proud to have met your expectations and that you felt very well during his last stay with us.

We hope to have it soon in our city and hotel.

Sincerely

Veronica Macas E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Me and my family stayed there for 2 days. All the staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and confortable. They have a pool that is open from 11a.m to 6 p.m. Also there is a jacuzzi beside the pool where my children played a lot. Definitly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank VICOUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson ... H, Director Comercial at Howard Johnson Hotel Loja, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013
Google Translation

Apreciado VIco

Muchas gracias por sus positivos comentarios en este medio. Agradecemos de sobremanera por el tiempo que Usted se tomo para dejar su opinion. Asi mismo nos alegra que Usted se haya sido bien atendido durante su ultima estadia con nosotros.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros.

Atentamente,

Veronica Macas E.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed here numerous times and it is ok. Actually it would be better than ok if the staff wasn't horrible. Most travelers are under the assumption that this is the only option in Loja and thus the reason they get alot of business. There are other good options.

I have asked several times please don't enter my room if it has the do not disturb sign on it, but without fail they feel the need to come in "all the time". WHY? What is it that you need to do? If I am staying for two night, I don't need new dirty sheets, the ones last night will be fine. I don't need a piece of chocolate either.

I then requested to discuss with a manager at the front desk, they told me he was at lunch (at 1500hrs), this always seems to happen in Ecuador. Anyways, I was told he would get back to me, he unfortantely never did.

Then there is the nice gym they invested in but act like the guests want to steal dumbells, it is always closed if the "one guy" who works in that depart decides to go walk around or whatever other activity. It a gym, just leave it open for the hours it indicates or better yet 24hours.

Anyways, this is by no means a bad option, but if they got there act together it could actually be a good one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panamatravel0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We were passing through and looking for a place to stay for the night. After driving around for 30 minutes, we hired a taxi to lead us there. Upon arrival, we were attended to by a professional and friendly staff, and given a freshly prepared fruit drink. The hotel is relatively new and nicely appointed, with a large, modern lobby containing about a half a dozen computers for the use of the guests and a drink table where you can get coffe, tea or water whenever you want.

Nice amenities: secure parking for our pickup, well appointed gym, swimming pool and jacuzzi. They have two restuarants, one open for breakfast and lunch, and the other for dinner. The dinner restuarant is more high end; we just wanted soup or a sandwhich, so we ate in the bar. Food and service there, not so good: my son had about the sorriest looking hot dog we had ever seen. However, the breakfast buffet was outstanding.

Nice rooms, but need ventilation. This is more of a business, convention type of hotel, and as such, was a bit pricey for our needs, but a comfortable place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loja
0.5 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#3 of 14 in Loja
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Victoria Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Romar Royal Hotel
Romar Royal Hotel
#2 of 14 in Loja
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Podocarpus
Hotel Podocarpus
#6 of 14 in Loja
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador
Hotel Libertador
#7 of 14 in Loja
32 reviews
17.6 mi away
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
Madre Tierra Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Vilcabamba
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Loja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Loja

Address: Av. Zoilo Rodriguez y Antisana, Loja 110150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Loja Province > Loja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Loja
Price Range: £59 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Loja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Loja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing