We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's all relative”
Review of Grand Hotel Loja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Loja
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Loja
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Centrally located, a wonderful staff took us in after a frustrating day. Made us feel like royalty. Have their own secured parking that we were escorted to. Ate in the empty hotel restaurant & were delightfully surprised by the quality & reasonable price. Back of property borders a run down neighborhood and was a bit noisy. Also during Xmas holidays so lot of festivity happening. Room was okay, nothing special but always love the smell of clean sheets. Elevator! One of those properties where there are full time residents besides travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet space.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dapinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Loja
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in another Loja hotel that had a higher trip advisor rating but we were not happy with the accommodations. We found the Grand Hotel Loja, walked in, the manager showed us a very large modern room at reasonable rates and we stayed from 4 to 8 July 2013. High points: The hotel manager, Angel, and his staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and enjoy your visit. Most of the staff are bi-lingual. The in-house restaurant was terrific with great food and service and featured a varied menu with many local dishes. Come hungry the serving size is generous. The breakfast buffet was great. Our 7th floor room had a king sized bed, a small refrigerator, large flat screen TV and a sitting area with table. The wi-fi signal in our room was strong and we had plenty of hot water. The view of the city and surrounding mountains was another feature we liked very much. The hotel also offers a business center and a spa with a sauna and whirlpool. My only caution to travelers would be to consider the street noise with any street side room. The trade-off is having a room with a view or a quite room without a view. We did not spend much time in our room but did enjoy being able to see the city and surrounding mountains and people watching as folks visited the local shops. The street noise abated around 10:00 PM and we had no problems sleeping.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms for a view or inside rooms if you want peace and quite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here over a weekend and everything was good. Our room was connected to a central ventilation shaft and we did hear noise from other rooms so if you stay when the hotel is busier this noise may be an issue.

Room was comfortable and good value for the weekend rate. Breakfasts wer eincluded and were sufficient, wait staff was good. We had dinner in the dining room and the meals were all tastey and well served.

The front desk staff was very helpful with directions for around town and arranged a taxi tour etc.

Room Tip: elevator, rooms on central shaft are noisey
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We didn’t know what to expect from this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Arriving at 11:00pm after an exhausting bus ride from Piura Peru we were in our large, spotlessly clean and comfortable room in less than three minutes after entering the lobby. Next morning the shower delivered instant hot water and the tub drained rapidly…always a plus for me. The complimentary breakfast buffet was simple but fresh and delicious. Service in the restaurant as well as the front desk and housekeeping was excellent. The hotel staff supplied us with maps and suggestions as to what to see and do in Loja. Only one staff member spoke limited English. The hotel is located 4 blocks from the principle park and within walking distance of many other attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinoyqueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Alvaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank bettox84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank luis diaz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Loja hotels
0.2 mi away
Zamorano Real Hotel
Zamorano Real Hotel
#4 of 14 in Loja
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel Loja
0.3 mi away
Grand Victoria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Podocarpus
Hotel Podocarpus
#7 of 14 in Loja
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hostal Pucara
#11 of 14 in Loja
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Libertador
Hotel Libertador
#6 of 14 in Loja
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Loja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Loja

Address: Av. Manuel Agustin Aguirre y Rocafuerte esquina, Loja 110150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Loja Province > Loja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Loja
Price Range: £53 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hotel Loja 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without a doubt the Grand Hotel Loja is the best place to stay in the city and to enjoy it fully. Our experience; fine and attractive ambients, coffee-bar, restaurant; modern and elegant dependences and the highest levels of personalized service make of the Grand Hotel Loja a must stop place for the national and international tourists, as well as a tourist attractive for the Lojanos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Loja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing