We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect. Wished we could stay another longer.”
Review of Lisson Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lisson Grove
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Tamborine
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We dont get away often so we were stoked to see our cottage looked like it did online. Very quiet and peacful setting. The staff were very helpfull and provided us with everything needed on arrival to get us through. We were given some local pointers on the best bushwalks and given bird seed to use on our porch. The next morning we were greeted with fresh bread and supplies. We probably should have ordered the cooked breakky. Also the seed came in handy. All the cottages facilities were perfect for our short stay. The spa was huge but most of all we could not get over how beautiful the morning was. It felt like a fairytale. Very unexpected. i night wasnt enough. we'll be back for more of those magical mornings. Thanks Cheryl for the late checkout. Overall Very happy!!!

Room Tip: We had the balcony with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Owner at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Our pleasure. We always offer a later check-out if at all possible - and you're right, the mornings are beautiful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Lisson Grove was the perfect place to escape and relax for the weekend. Set in beautiful rainforest gardens, the nicely appointed accommodation offered a clean and peaceful environment in which to relax. Meals offered at the restaurant were delicious and the approachable staff were more than happy to cater for my specific dietary requirements. Overall, a very enjoyable and pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaSzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Owner at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

So glad you enjoyed your escape. Your kind words will be passed on to all staff members. We all love it when our guests have a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had the most amazing stay. The accommodation was perfect - beautifully decorated with a supremely comfortable bed and the double spa was the icing on the cake. We had a fully cooked gourmet breakfast delivered to us daily (at a time chosen by us) which was absolutely delicious. The service we were given was unmatched - nothing was too much trouble and everything was done graciously and with a smile (thanks Tracy!!). We did a wine tour with Tours on Tamborine Mountain (an ABSOLUTE MUST) on our first day there (organised for us by the staff at Lisson Grove) which, followed by an afternoon spent lazing on the balcony of our cottage was one of the best times of our lives. We took the opportunity to have a massage onsite at the Castle Day Spa which, again, was amazing. We can't recommend this venue highly enough - easily the most beautiful, boutique stay on the mountain complete with five star service. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Owner at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

It makes for a good day for all of our team when we read that our guests have enjoyed their stay - that's what it's all about for us.
Also pleased that you enjoyed your gourmet breakfasts. Our special advertised packages include breakfast that is served to you in your Cottage or Castle Wing each morning. Our normal rates however, include a cook-yourself breakfast & we deliver hot bread & OJ each morning to your door. Of course, gourmet breakfast is available as an optional extra should you wish to order it any morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We originally booked in to the gamekeeper lodge however on arrival it had a damp smell. As soon as we explained to the onsite manager she immediately offered us an alterantive cottage. We stayed in the Abbey which is a lovely church style cottage. Two story with the bed romantically perched on the second floor complete with the a dreamy four poster and attic style. windows. The overall cleanliness and quietness completed our stay. The onsite manager was overly accomodating to our every need. Greeting us by name and we enjoyed our included bottles of wine and loved cooking our brekky in the cosy kitchen. i would have liked a little oil to cook my bacon and eggs with :) but the hot crusty bread and fresh orange juice finished off our morning perfectly. We also indulged in the day spa having a couples massage. So relaxing to wander around the beautiful gardens and spend time in the arbor. Overall beautiful quiet and most of all freindly

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quickwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Front Office Manager at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

It was our pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to place a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Although we enjoyed the romantic cottage and double spa experience, there were a few things that made our stay less than ideal. One, that on the website it mentions, "As our guests you are pampered way beyond your wildest dreams upon arrival you are treated to champagne and chocolates you are also spoilt by our scrumptious, piping hot, two course gourmet breakfast that are hand delivered each morning to your cottage door at a time of your choice".

This is untrue. There was wine available, in the fridge, which cost money. There WERE chocolates, these consisted of 2 small foil wrapped hearts on each side of the bed.

Also, the promise of a scrumptious, piping hot, two course gourmet breakfast is a misleading one. Breakfast actually consisted of uncooked bacon, eggs, mushrooms etc on a glad wrapped plate to be cooked yourself in the kitchenette.

I don't have a problem with this per say, but the fact I had been looking forward to this pampering since reading about it on the website before booking was disappointing to say the least. I would suggest amending the website text to avoid misleading future guests.This concerns me as it's simply false advertising.

We were told quite pointedly that if we wanted hot bread, we would have to answer the phone when it rang in the morning (from memory I believe this was between around 8-9, and tell them yes, we wanted bread. I thought this was a little early to be disturbed on a romantic getaway; I would have no problem if they instead said they would leave it at the door at a specific time, or if you could request it within a timeframe of sorts.

Sadly we found the customer service lacking, apart from the booking experience, which was good. I thought we were treated rudely quite a few times.

Despite these issues, we managed to have a decent time and did really love our cottage. Although I would have otherwise have loved to return, we won't be as the customer service really soured our stay.

I was actually very surprised that we were treated in this fashion after reading some of the other reviews, and also that some people seem to have had cooked breakfast delivered! For the price, I expected more.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank X_LiliB_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Front Office Manager at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

To say I'm disappointed to read this review is an understatement. If there is one thing we pride ourselves on, it is customer service. We try our very best to take care of the every need of our guest & to think we didn't achieve this is concerning. No excuses, I can only apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in the Gamekeepers Cottage at this quaint property on glorious Mt Tamborine in South East QLD.

Its not our usual B & B style, but we were enjoying a weekend retreat with a group of friends and Lisson Grove was the chosen venue, able to accommodate 6 couples in the themed cottages.

Its very easy to find, but as with most B & B style accommodation on the Mountain, you have to drive to most attractions.
There are a few antique & curiosity shops within walking distance, and the Bavarian Grill Haus & winery is about 15 mins. walk if that's your thing.

We strolled the 1.7klm to visit fantastic Witches Falls Winery, but there are no defined footpaths, the road is twisty and quite narrow, and walking on the roadside not for the feint hearted, or anyone with small children in tow.

Our hosts at Lisson Grove were welcoming and very accommodating, considering how wary these venues can be about larger groups. Our party booked the whole place for 2 nights, so we were unlikely to disturb any romantics looking for an intimate weekend away.

6 rustic, themed cottages with real wood burning fireplaces make up half the accommodation on this property, with a medieval style 'Castle' offering the other option. There is a day spa attached to the Castle property.
One of the group stayed previously in the Castle, and raved about their experience.

Every cottage has a kitchenette, ingredients are supplied to cook your own breakfast. Each morning a warm loaf of bread and fresh OJ is delivered to the door.

We enjoyed our stay, however considering the cost ($300+ per night) it would be nice to see the accommodation renovated and updated.
The Gamekeepers cottage was spacious, but dark and dusty, with very dated décor and tired fixtures/fittings. Faded prints and scruffy cushions on the sofa, cobweb covered ornaments and hideous green paint effect in the spa bathroom didn't match the 5 star price.
The bed was comfortable without being luxe, and the pillows adequate without being ahhh..

The grounds are well maintained, brimming with beautiful orchids, vibrant hippeastrums, all manner of tropical ferns and a romantic wisteria walk. The birdlife is abundant.

The owners obviously put their heart & souls into attending to their guests every need. Its a shame this is let down by the dated accommodation.

Room Tip: The Gables Cottages are a little cheaper but offer better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pc0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Front Office Manager at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was our pleasure to take care of your group, & it was wonderful to see you all enjoying your stay so much. We always go out of our way to ensure that our guests, be it 2 people or many, have a wonderful stay. Each of our Cottages has a different theme. Unfortunately, the one chosen for you definitely has a dark, cosy atmosphere internally. It is one of our most popular cottages for this reason. I'm sorry you didn't appreciate the décor. Perhaps one of the more open plan ones would have been more to your liking. It is helpful to have a chat with our reception staff, who are always happy to suggest a Cottage just right for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Although we have stay at lisson before this time we stayed in the castle it was very romantic and full of luxury. The Castle is a must to experience with fireplaces, double spa baths, indoor pool, project, yummy hot breakfast deliver to ur room every day and plush Bath Robes. Lisson Grove owner and staff ( including day spa) have great customer service and has gone out of their way to help us enjoy our stay they have given us the most romantic 3 night holiday that will be hard to forget

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willmot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Castle_Tamborine, Owner at Lisson Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to send in your review. We know everyone is busy, which makes it even more appreciated. Your kind words will be passed on to all of our team & also to The Castle Day Spa. We're very proud to have this facility on-site for our guests enjoyment. A good massage treatment is hard to beat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tamborine Gardens
Tamborine Gardens
#3 of 3 in North Tamborine
13 reviews
2 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
0.8 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
281 reviews
17 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisson Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisson Grove

Address: 274 Main Western Rd | PO Box 266, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Tamborine
Price Range: £122 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lisson Grove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisson Grove Boutique Spa Retreat,The Ultimate Romantic Escape for Couples. Multi award winning, luxurious and private, fully self-contained individual cottages feature the very best in Tamborine Mountain Accommodation. Our beautifully themed cottages are designed purely for couples. Nestled high on Tamborine Mountain and opposite Queensland's oldest National Park with spectacular views over the valley below, famous for its breathtakingly beautiful relaxing sunsets. Genuine Open Log Fireplaces, Double Spa Baths, Air-conditioning, Beautiful Furnishings and lush Bath Robes supplied for the duration of your stay. It’s no wonder why we have won so many prestigious awards for excellence and have won Best Honeymoon Destination in QLD for the 5 consecutive years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lisson Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing