We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pleasant night”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My boyfriend and I won a voucher for a one night stay here. We enjoyed our time imensely our cabin was quaint from the outside and blended into the surrounding rainforest however inside it was decorated like a 5 star retreat. We enjoyed a wonderful spa with complimentary bath salts and cuddled up on the giant comfy bed. We felt secluded and enjoyed our privacy while admiring the beautiful rainforest surrounding our balcony. We have no complaints, apart from the lack of choice with their cable package. We also enjoyed a lovely meal at the restaurant a few paces along a magical and well lit rainforest path. We found the menu options were very ostentatious and expensive but well cooked and with wonderful presentation on and off the plate with great service. I would recommend my friends to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 3, we couldn't see any buildings or other cabins from ours, very secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniedear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    28
    4
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
108
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Stradbroke Island, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

With nature at its heart, this enchanting setting was relaxing and rejuvenating. The villa was spacious with a large spa bath and a timber deck overlooking the luscious grounds and trees. The sounds of the forest made Songbirds true to its name.

The restaurant was a short stroll along a lit path and upon arrival we were greeted warmly and enjoyed a delicious dinner.

We would definitely recommend Songbirds for a romantic weekend getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 6
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LizWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We were recommended to stay at Songbirds & I hinted to my husband that it would be a great place to spend our 15th Wedding Anniversary.
We arrived late Saturday afternoon, there was no one at reception, eventually when someone appeared, they then went off to find someone else who was better able to check us in. Given that there are only 5 rooms it couldn't have been that hard! We were eventually given the keys to our room and the receptionist struggled to read our first hames and resorted to Stephen & 'well I can't read the writing', thereby thrusting the keys at us with some vague instructions on how to reach our room.
Our room was a little tired around the edges.
The couch was extremely worn
The deck was unkept and cobwebs on the outside furniture
The floor inside was dusty
No reference was made to our anniversary by any staff member and no attempt at a warm cordial welcome was made.
Now, this might be fine if you were paying a couple of hundred dollars a night for a three star chain hotel, but when i realised the room rate I was extremely upset.
The price charged for 1 night including dinner was over $700! This is SIX star pricing and I expected SIX STAR service!
I do not expect:
To wait around in reception on arrival & have little or no greeting
To have to drive my car in the dark to dinner (why not a golf buggy or shuttle service for that sort of price)
To be expected to pay an extra $38 for a breakfast basket!
To have no snacks or little extra's in my room - how much is a bottle of sparkling wine(wholesale price) or a cheese platter, how about some biscuits?
I resorted to eating dried muesli out of the packet for breakfast (we'd run out of milk)
The spa took forever to fill up, there was so little water pressure

Now, between my husband and I, we've stayed at some of the best resorts in the world and are more than happy to pay for an amazing experience. We left Songbirds feeling 'ripped off'. We've worked extremely hard over the last 12 months and this was our 1 night away without our children.
We're off to the beach now with great nibble and excellent champagne purchased ourselves and will have a heap more pleasure than at Songbirds

Room Tip: Errh if you have money to waste give it a try
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mariahGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Songbirds10, Owner at Songbirds Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
With only 6 villas it is, unfortunately, financially impossible to have a receptionist sitting behind a desk 24/7, though we do try. There is a large sign in reception telling guests to walk into the restaurant (note this is only 6 steps away) where there's always a staff member setting tables or waiting on guests. Usually this is not a problem so I am very sorry that it was for you.
There is a minibar in your villa with snacks in it however maybe you expected these to be available at no charge... sorry but this just doesn't happen anywhere I know of and I travel the world.
If you finished the complimentary carton milk we gave you (which never usually happens on an overnight stay) we would have happily delivered you another carton IF you had asked.
There was also an option for you to dine in our restaurant for breakfast. This was not included in the nightly rate but if you were so keen on having a good time for your anniversary it may have been a better option. There is also wonderful cafes on the mountain that were open for breakfast. We make no money at all on the breakfast baskets but offer them as a service for our guests.
I have not had a previous complaint re the water pressure but will certainly look into it.
The villas are based in the rainforest and cobwebs come up very quickly as do leaves fall from trees constantly. You villa was checked by 2 housekeepers before you arrived and your deck was perfect then.
Included in the $700 was a night's accommodation in a luxury villa, a three course meal for both of you, a bottle of ROCKFORD semillon, plus a glass of this wine, plus 2 glasses of Cloudy Bay bubbles, and a breakfast basket... ummm that's not bad value really.
As you were unhappy when you departed we immediately gave you a complimentary midweek voucher to come and stay with us again. You rang and complained that this wasn't good enough and you wanted a full refund for the night.
No business is perfect. I am sorry we let you down by not greeting you in the manner you expected, and also not recognising that it was your 15th wedding anniversary, this was is no way intentional.
We are fortunate to have many guests that love staying with us and return often. That makes the long hours and love myself and the Songbirds staff put in all worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We wanted a weekend away to just be together and revitalise ourselves after a very tough month of personal setbacks. It was perfect.
We arrive on the Friday afternoon and Joel ensured our check in went smoothly. Our Villa (4) was lovely with a 4 poster bed and a lovely outlook. The bathroom had a double spa that looked out at the rainforest setting and was very relaxing, and the heated towels were a nice surprise! We couldn't be bothered going anywhere else for dinner so ate in the restaurant both nights and were so glad we did. The meals are spectacular, the presentation is amazing and the taste is out of this world!! One 3 course meal was included in our stay for each of us.
We did the Skywalk whilst we were there and it's definately worth the effort, the surroundings are just beautiful.
To wake up and hear birds singing and hear the wind rustle in the trees was just lovely and so relaxing.
The staff at Songbirds are lovely, and we have to thank Joel for making our stay such a pleasure, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We only stayed one night with a combination of a meal at the restaurant. The room was great and we totally loved the double spa bath.
The meal at the restaurant was fabulous and effort had gone into creating a menu with a difference. For the last course we asked for the cheese and biscuits to be in our room and they were more than willing to assist. A great way to finish and good service on top of that.

Have to say a special stay for us and good food. Could you ask for more ? Well maybe a lower price - but I think we would all say that about everywhere :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here recently for 5 nights to have a break and celebrate my 50th birthday with a family lunch at Songbirds Restaurant. Villas are well appointed and spacious and bathroom has a huge 2 person spa overlooking the rainforest. We stayed in Villa 3 and think this is one of the most private of the non executive villas. We thought 5 nts may be too long, but it was perfect and gave us lots of time to have a leisurely look around Mt Tamborine shops, do a couple of walks, eat out and relax. The restaurant at Songbirds is first rate. We had dinner there one night and family lunch for 14 people on another day. Service, presentation and quality of food were excellent. I'd say it's the best restaurant in Mt Tamborine and even if you arent staying there, you should eat there at least once. Menu is quite small so if you are staying there for more than a couple of nights, you definitely would need to eat out to get variety. We also at at Pethers Rainforest Retreat. Stunning, stunning setting and ambience, food ok, not as good as Songbirds.
Gripes, a couple of minor ones. No lamp or light in villa strong enough to read by. Great for mood lighting, but not reading. I also think it would be a great service to offer some sort of breakfast for in house guests (and perhaps others?). You can order a breakfast basket,but it's expensive for what you get (from memory $36 a day). Other than this, loved it and would stay again.
PS Great place to eat breakfast in town is Spice of Life. Good food and great staff.

Room Tip: We liked villa 3 for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My Hubby and I stayed for five nights at this beautiful place, we live by the beach and wanted a relaxing cozy week on the rainforest mountain ..Song birds is on 50 + acres of rainforest, with sculptures in the gardens, fruit orchard and vege gardens, you can walk through their bush walk which is nice, or drive only 3 mins down the road to a gorgeous bush walk called cedar creek falls and see waterfalls. ( dont do the sky walk in the other direction, its too expensive and not worth it) When we arrived there we tried villa 6 for the first night, it was lovely, chilled music was on, king bed, away from the other villas and nice mood lighting, and a warm gas fire was lit already, but we wanted a four poster bed, ( that villa did not have it but the furnishings were alot newer) so we mentioned it to the staff who were amazingly accomodating and we were able to move into villa 3 for the rest of our stay, the next night. Villa 3 was pretty much exactly the same, but the shower was a little worn around the bottom seal, The bathroom was still beautiful with a great big double spa! more secluded with rainforest on the front balcony, there was a mini bar, (which we did not use actually , we bought some of our own food and put it in the fridge) the villa is not self contained though, has a microwave, and The Four poster bed was wonderful, real comfy with soft pillows.. would have been nicer with more drapery on top of the poster bed to stop some sunlight coming in the early morning, but thats a small thing, ( just being fussy) as we loved the whole place!! We were able to have a couples massage in our room, next to our fireplace and the massuese's were great and offered to fill up our spa bath afterwards!
The restaurant food was amazing! and wine gorgeous, beautiful experience, staff were really accomodating, the place looked perfect for intimate weddings.
We definately want to go back again for a weekend..
However; I dont think we will do a whole week again, as the only real problem we found was the cleanliness of the place, as we stayed so long.... better for weekend stays.
We had to do our own dishes in the bathroom sink sometimes ( it was a nice bathroom however) and the sink is not really made for dish washing ( and you dont really want to do that on your break away?!) and nearly ran out of toilet paper one day, which was quite awkward.
The cleaning ladies were lovely but a little laid back, did not change all the bins, or wipe over benches, or the leather lounge or change our bed sheets; they made the bed, but after a couple of days we thought they should be changed ? and they cleaned in the afternoon, so by that time, we had done the dishes anyway so we could eat! We were not sure if they were trying to stay out of our way, or whether that was their cleanliness level.. they were really lovely to talk to and all the people at song birds are wonderful and helpful.. they even gave us a free cuppa, a card and book at the end of our stay!! But to really enjoy, better for a 3 day stay, unless you dont mind cleaning a little yourself.

Room Tip: the rooms are all similar really lovely , 6 does not have the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
1.5 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
303 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
75 reviews
2.5 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Songbirds Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Songbirds Rainforest Retreat

Property: Songbirds Rainforest Retreat
Address: Tamborine Mountain Road | P.O. Box 275, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Songbirds Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Songbirds Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing