We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend!”
Review of Camelot Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I surprised by partner with a weekend at Camelot Cottages and it could not have been more perfect! The cottage (luxury spa) was ideal and we especially appreciated the commitment to cleanliness. We were both hesitant to use the spa bath but saw they use Spa-geine to clean out the jets - this sort of outstanding hygiene was apparent throughout and superior to 5 star hotels we've visited. The grounds are just beautiful - we have a bowerbird busily constructing a nest right outside our cottage. Our host, Peter, was amazing - he put up with many questions and minor concerns and contributed to our spectacular weekend. If we visit the area again we would welcome the chance to return to Camelot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBobQA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hi Dr Bob;
Thank you so much for writing us up. Commitment to cleanliness gets harder as products get older but our cottages are still fairly young and our cleaners take nearly two hours on each one to ensure our high standards of cleanliness are maintained. Spa-genie is used after EVERY stay to ensure our spas are also hygienic. It costs us a little more but you are among many of our guests that appreciate why we do it.

We were also delighted that you earned your PhD in fire making while you stayed. For a gentleman originally from New York your exposure was probably limited to these type of facilities? We are glad that you managed to achieve perfection in the use of log burners so quickly having immediately accepted that the idea is to build a bed of hot coals rather than have high flames - Yes, you made graduation!

Seriously - our perfect guests - and we would love to see you both back with us soon.
Many thanks
J&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

My partner and I went up to Mount Tamborine for a long weekend getaway. We saw the Camelot Cottages online and they looked great and were reasonably priced. From the minute we drove into the property the owner came out to greet us, knowing each of us by name. He gave us a tour of not only our Cottage, but the common area's for guests. He gave us information on the local restaurants, tourist activities and Gallery Walk. He also had a very useful restaurant book with all the names, locations and opening hours on the mountain. The room was also stocked with a large range of brochures for our use.

The cottage itself was beautiful and spacious, with a fire place stocked with wood, a kitchen with dish washer, fridge and pots and pans to use on a 2 plate stove. The reverse cycle air conditioner was great for taking the chill out of the air in the late afternoon on the mountain. The TV was mounted, so we could swing it from the bedroom to the lounge room conveniently, there was also a DVD/VCR and an ipod dock stereo for music. The large bathroom had a spacious shower, toilet and generous sized spa bath. The bathroom was very clean with towel warmer and robes for each of us. If wanted you could have fresh towels each day.

The owner was very considerate telling us beforehand that he would wait for us to leave our cottage before going in, to restock the kitchen, replace towels if needed and empty bins. He was very attentive without being intrusive during out visit. We happened to get the disabled setup Cottage that had a ramp up to the entrance lit with solar lights, large open areas in the cottage and considerate bars and facilities to make it easy for any guest to live comfortably.

The Camelot Cottages were a fantastic place to stay and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Hi Emma;
Thank you for your very detailed write up and the time taken to do it. We note that you have also positively clarified some previous TA comments regarding 'intrusion and privacy' - always a touchy subject. As we own Camelot and have travelled widely it is not hard to be friendly to our guests and give them the benefit of our local knowledge however whereas many of our guests have similar requirements we also strive to work with guests who have different issues.

We would love to see you return as the log fires are still burning brightly, the waterfalls are gushing (bit unusual in winter) and the wineries are still fully stocked.
Good luck in your travels.
J&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Camelot in the studio style rooms as we as usual decided to go away on a whim and all the Cottages in the mountain were all booked out.

We were greeted on arrival by the manager/owner of the property and he was friendly, welcoming and very helpful with where to go what to do etc. As we like the idea of cottage accomodation he was nice enough to show us through a well equipped and beautiful cottage for next time we are up.

Back to our room whilst very nice it didn't compare to a fully equipped cottage! Nice all the same our first impressions was a modern clean room overlooking a beautiful garden.

The bed was comfortable but not a generous queen size bed could do with a King size bed to really set the room off

The Tv was very small about 22-24 inch and mounted quite high and being the size it was certainly made watching tv not overly enjoyable

Privacy was a little hard to get as the rooms are very close together and all use the same decking etc We had to walk past the other two rooms to get to ours so very glad we got the end one, if we Stayed here in these rooms again would definately get the same one. Couldn't help but feel like the room next door was like having someone sleep in the room next to you at home, you could literally hear everything........

Having said the above we would stay in these rooms again if we book last minute, we would come back to this property and hopefully next time we would get a cottage

The last thing I would say is the owner is very accommodating he provided us with plates and cutlery for some gourmet items we bought certainly went over and beyond when others wouldn't

Thanks Camelot we had a superb weekend



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justynm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hi Justyn;
Thank you so much for writing this review about our secondary product - the 'Mountain Escape' rooms. It was good that we spoke when you tried to book a cottage and I explained exactly what these queen bedded and ensuited rooms were all about and referred you to our website before you booked. It was also opportune to show you a cottage when you arrived so that you could confirm the differences, as shown on our website, for yourselves.
With our 'room only' product we cannot meet the current market trend for 'self contained and private accommodation with huge spa baths, log burners and all the comforts of our luxury cottages'. That is why we built the new cottages and market and sell them separately - hence they are our flagship product but our TA listing addresses reviews from both products.
Our hospitality is the same regardless of the product booked and the important thing to us is that ALL our guests get a great Mountain Experience regardless of their respective budgets.
Finally, true Queenslander properties ARE made of wood and our 'gum' floors and extensive decking does carry sound a little too well. To carpet these rooms would be a desecration of the property's character but it would help to muffle the sounds.
With the mountain overflowing at this time of year with couples seeking getaways we hope you found our 'value for money' proposition in these rooms to your liking. We also know you enjoyed your meals out and it is good to hear you are coming back to us and booking a cottage next time.
Enjoy your travels
J&P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend. Cabin was modern and well presented, with all the features you'd expect from this sort of place, including a giant king sized bed. The cabin was clean and had a well-equipped kitchenette.

We've stayed at a few different places of this type and there are a few drawbacks to this place compared to others. The cabins are really close together, making it not particularly private or secluded. The staff, while lovely, we found to be somewhat overbearing. While we appreciate friendliness, we really just wanted to be alone together and though we closed the curtain per instructions, our room was still serviced against our wishes which felt like a bit of a privacy violation. This made us uncomfortable, thinking that we could be interrupted at any time.

I guess just compared to other like places this place was just middling. Not bad, but nothing special either.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smath S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Hi S.
Well we guess after several years of reviews we were due for a 'just average' one - but we would love to know where you go on your travels so we can compare! We have read your only other TA property review and it seemed that privacy and distance between cottages was your main focus. Despite staying 'elsewhere' some 4 months ago you have chosen to directly compare us by writing us both up within a 24 hour period? As you have said we are, "modern and well presented... clean and well equipped kitchen etc. You also were complimentary about our friendly hosting but we usually sense when to back off and can be a little a little more discrete so please accept our apologies that we were somewhat overbearing. We are not the kind of hosts that give you the key, point you in the direction of your cottage and let you get on with it - unfortunately for Queensland there are many operators like that still in the industry.
Unsure if there can be a privacy violation when you are on owner run private property but again our apologies that we tried to be helpful.
Good luck in your future travels
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was our third visit to Camelot and I can't wait to go again. We enjoy the peace, comfort and privacy. These qualities are in abundance and included is a beautiful setting, good breakfasts tailored to our individual tastes, excellent and welcoming hosts plus the company of a bower bird outside our cottage. We enjoyed the use of free wifi, laundry, tv and music. There are also games and DVDs to borrow. The cottage is very tastefully decorated with a great king sized bed, recliner, chaise and extra cosy blankets if required. The gardens are treed and colourful, a place where you can also relax. Recommended places to eat are a couple of minutes drive away. Camelot is a more relaxing and de-stressing place to stay than any expensive hotel, not a sound to disturb your day or night. Go there and enjoy as we did.

Room Tip: The cottages are the most exclusive of which there are three. We haven't stayed in the rooms but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penney H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Hi Penny;
Thank you for your great review and the focus on our comfort and privacy. We guess that three visits from you says something to support our style and hospitality as well as the balance of the product in our surroundings. Obviously being at the very top of the Mountain is also a bonus.
Continue the de-stressing treatment it is obviously good for us both.
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

My husband snd i stayed in one of the self contained cottages at camelot.
The perfect balance between the warm & friendly feeling you expect at a b&b but with the privacy and freedom you feel when staying at a resort or hotel. The room was truly 5 star very modern and comfortable, the log fire was great and the beautiful fresh birds of paradise in the room were a favourite for me! The breakfast basket was yummy- full of local treasures and added to the privacy and romance of the weekend. The host Janis was lovely and helpful. The polish restaurant across the road was amazing and it being in walking distance was an added bonus (especially since the polish beers are huge). We have stayed previously at one of the other top rated b&b's on the mountain and definately rate this one above! Thank you for a wonderful experience Janis we will surely be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melsylovesluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Hi M;
Thank your lovely review that perfectly describes the balance we try to achieve between offering a quality product and being friendly hosts. We have taken the step away from being a "B&B" in offering the self contained cottages where your privacy and comfort is supported as required by friendly or discreet hosting. Janice says she enjoyed looking after you and looks forward to welcoming you both back to Camelot soon.
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

After working several weekends of overtime we booked a luxury spa cottage for a weekend getaway with my partner, and it was everything it said on the website and more. Even making the booking through the phone was a pleasure as the owner, Peter, was amazingly friendly and helpful. We arrived late a Friday night and he was still there to greet us and help us with our luggage and a big smile on his face. All the information he gave us on the whereabouts sounded fantastic, but the cottage ended being so nice and cozy that we barely left it during our three nights' stay. Beside the occasional bug which inevitably flies in when you open the door, the cottage was clean and the air conditioning/heating worked like a charm. The spa was the roomiest, most indulgent and quickest to fill up that we've ever found in four years of travelling through hotels, cabins and B&Bs. The cherry on top of an idyllic weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcarrillob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Hi B;
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to relax and luxuriate in the spa.
Although we have fly screens we do get the odd bug in though the doors but thankfully Camelot is not in the rainforest or alongside the National Parks where the mosquito's can be a nuisance at this time of the year. Being right on top of the Mountain has its advantages LOL.
We also understand that our friends from warmer countries than Queensland also need the Air-Con on for a higher temperature and the inverters are very efficient.
We look forward to your return in the winter to experience the frosts and log burners.
Many thanks
P&J

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Tamborine hotels
2.2 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
128 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
2.2 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Cottages

Address: 322 Main Western Rd, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range: £83 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camelot Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot Cottages, with AAAT 4.5 stars, offers the finest certified accommodation and hospitality on the Mountain. Our three luxury cottages have been designed for privacy offering the utmost in comfort for couples to enjoy and reconnect. Huge spa baths, KS beds, log fire plus a leather chaise settee with LCD TV, DVD/VCR player and fully equipped kitchen.In a separate guest wing attached to our single storey farmhouse we offer the very best in 'Room only' accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camelot Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing