We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fabulous!”
Review of Camelot Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just fabulous!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My mother and I went for 3 days just as a mother-daughter get away.... and it was fantastic!
Stayed in the spa cottage and just didn't want to leave!
The service, the cleanliness, the kindness.... all of it :)

Also loved the fact that they are Environmentally friendly in every possible way :))

loved it ! loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_Kay_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Hi Jenny;
Thank you for your write up and we are delighted you and mum enjoyed yourselves. We always say that "one day and one night on Tamborine Mountain is not enough" but it could be that your bigger break was still not enough. How about a week next time?
We try and use environmentally friendly products whenever possible and leave as small a footprint as we can however we do have to use some products to keep you happy as well as log burners for the romantics!
It all works very well and we love hearing back from our guests.
Good luck with your next trip.
J&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I'm quite a fussy person ( to my detriment a lot of the time ) but I can happily say I could not fault anything at camelot.
We stayed in a cottage which while it doesn't give anything away from the outside, inside it is a clean spacious and luxurious place to stay. Everything was exceptionally clean, fresh fruit on the table, breakfast pack full of fresh bread , juices , eggs, condiments etc. amazing spa bath, Fireplace, large flat screen tv, heated towel racks , quality bathroom products,right down to little touches like chocolates on the comfy king bed.
We did not see one other person while here even though there were other people staying on the property. Owner was lovely and helpful with choosing activities and somewhere to go for dinner- we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hi J&J;
Thank you for taking the time to write us up before you had even left the comfort of your snug retreat. We appreciate the lovely description of our product and your comments on the standard of cleanliness (it take our staff nearly two hours to clean a cottage after each stay) and we are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves.
We look forward to welcoming you both back soon and good luck in your travels.
P&J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We ended up here by chance one evening with no accomadation booked. We only stayed one night and it was just a shame we couldn't stay longer. The owner Peter was really friendly and helpful, giving us useful tips of walks we could do and places to eat. We were really grateful for the tip to eat early before the kitchens close as we have been caught out before when staying elsewhere. The cottage was beautiful, really clean, warm and cosy with the fire. The spa bath is really relaxing. Was a great end to the weekend and I was really suprised to wake up the next morning to find we were amongst an avocado orchard! I would really recommend staying here and we would definately love to return to explore more of the mountain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniveve200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi J&R;
After the GC Marathon what better way to relax than on Mt Tamborine! Obviously the spa bath enabled you to soothe those muscles and wake up refreshed but your stamina to go on to the Mountain's activity centre is almost beyond belief. Well done.

Thank you for your kind comments about our hosting and cleanliness of the cottage and its a shame that our free avocados couldn't get on the plane with you back to Sydney,
See you next time you are up this way and good luck with the next marathon.
J&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

What can we say! My partner and I stayed in a one bedroom ensuited room! For someone looking for a romantic weekend in the perfect location with a view, it was amazing. With a minutes walk to the western facing gorge views and absolutely superb sunsets.

The staff Peter and wife Janice more than helpful with a wealth of knowledge of surrounding tour guides and activities making it ever so easy to arrange appropriate tours and plan our future days ahead

A personalized serviced that made us feel we were left to our own devices enough to enjoy ourselves yet not afraid to ask for help.. A mt tambourine tour guide at our fingertips!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi M&B
Thank you for finding out how to use Trip Advisor and we hope it will benefit you in your future travels.

Wow - you certainly used your three day romantic break to full effect with the full day wine tour, superb sunsets and some great walks. It was also no problem to get you both to the day spa and back again - all part of the service.

Enjoy your next four years with the Defence Forces and we would love to see you back here when you need some R&R.
Enjoy your travels
J&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I surprised by partner with a weekend at Camelot Cottages and it could not have been more perfect! The cottage (luxury spa) was ideal and we especially appreciated the commitment to cleanliness. We were both hesitant to use the spa bath but saw they use Spa-geine to clean out the jets - this sort of outstanding hygiene was apparent throughout and superior to 5 star hotels we've visited. The grounds are just beautiful - we have a bowerbird busily constructing a nest right outside our cottage. Our host, Peter, was amazing - he put up with many questions and minor concerns and contributed to our spectacular weekend. If we visit the area again we would welcome the chance to return to Camelot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBobQA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi Dr Bob;
Thank you so much for writing us up. Commitment to cleanliness gets harder as products get older but our cottages are still fairly young and our cleaners take nearly two hours on each one to ensure our high standards of cleanliness are maintained. Spa-genie is used after EVERY stay to ensure our spas are also hygienic. It costs us a little more but you are among many of our guests that appreciate why we do it.

We were also delighted that you earned your PhD in fire making while you stayed. For a gentleman originally from New York your exposure was probably limited to these type of facilities? We are glad that you managed to achieve perfection in the use of log burners so quickly having immediately accepted that the idea is to build a bed of hot coals rather than have high flames - Yes, you made graduation!

Seriously - our perfect guests - and we would love to see you both back with us soon.
Many thanks
J&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My partner and I went up to Mount Tamborine for a long weekend getaway. We saw the Camelot Cottages online and they looked great and were reasonably priced. From the minute we drove into the property the owner came out to greet us, knowing each of us by name. He gave us a tour of not only our Cottage, but the common area's for guests. He gave us information on the local restaurants, tourist activities and Gallery Walk. He also had a very useful restaurant book with all the names, locations and opening hours on the mountain. The room was also stocked with a large range of brochures for our use.

The cottage itself was beautiful and spacious, with a fire place stocked with wood, a kitchen with dish washer, fridge and pots and pans to use on a 2 plate stove. The reverse cycle air conditioner was great for taking the chill out of the air in the late afternoon on the mountain. The TV was mounted, so we could swing it from the bedroom to the lounge room conveniently, there was also a DVD/VCR and an ipod dock stereo for music. The large bathroom had a spacious shower, toilet and generous sized spa bath. The bathroom was very clean with towel warmer and robes for each of us. If wanted you could have fresh towels each day.

The owner was very considerate telling us beforehand that he would wait for us to leave our cottage before going in, to restock the kitchen, replace towels if needed and empty bins. He was very attentive without being intrusive during out visit. We happened to get the disabled setup Cottage that had a ramp up to the entrance lit with solar lights, large open areas in the cottage and considerate bars and facilities to make it easy for any guest to live comfortably.

The Camelot Cottages were a fantastic place to stay and would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi Emma;
Thank you for your very detailed write up and the time taken to do it. We note that you have also positively clarified some previous TA comments regarding 'intrusion and privacy' - always a touchy subject. As we own Camelot and have travelled widely it is not hard to be friendly to our guests and give them the benefit of our local knowledge however whereas many of our guests have similar requirements we also strive to work with guests who have different issues.

We would love to see you return as the log fires are still burning brightly, the waterfalls are gushing (bit unusual in winter) and the wineries are still fully stocked.
Good luck in your travels.
J&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Camelot in the studio style rooms as we as usual decided to go away on a whim and all the Cottages in the mountain were all booked out.

We were greeted on arrival by the manager/owner of the property and he was friendly, welcoming and very helpful with where to go what to do etc. As we like the idea of cottage accomodation he was nice enough to show us through a well equipped and beautiful cottage for next time we are up.

Back to our room whilst very nice it didn't compare to a fully equipped cottage! Nice all the same our first impressions was a modern clean room overlooking a beautiful garden.

The bed was comfortable but not a generous queen size bed could do with a King size bed to really set the room off

The Tv was very small about 22-24 inch and mounted quite high and being the size it was certainly made watching tv not overly enjoyable

Privacy was a little hard to get as the rooms are very close together and all use the same decking etc We had to walk past the other two rooms to get to ours so very glad we got the end one, if we Stayed here in these rooms again would definately get the same one. Couldn't help but feel like the room next door was like having someone sleep in the room next to you at home, you could literally hear everything........

Having said the above we would stay in these rooms again if we book last minute, we would come back to this property and hopefully next time we would get a cottage

The last thing I would say is the owner is very accommodating he provided us with plates and cutlery for some gourmet items we bought certainly went over and beyond when others wouldn't

Thanks Camelot we had a superb weekend



  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justynm2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at Camelot Cottages, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Hi Justyn;
Thank you so much for writing this review about our secondary product - the 'Mountain Escape' rooms. It was good that we spoke when you tried to book a cottage and I explained exactly what these queen bedded and ensuited rooms were all about and referred you to our website before you booked. It was also opportune to show you a cottage when you arrived so that you could confirm the differences, as shown on our website, for yourselves.
With our 'room only' product we cannot meet the current market trend for 'self contained and private accommodation with huge spa baths, log burners and all the comforts of our luxury cottages'. That is why we built the new cottages and market and sell them separately - hence they are our flagship product but our TA listing addresses reviews from both products.
Our hospitality is the same regardless of the product booked and the important thing to us is that ALL our guests get a great Mountain Experience regardless of their respective budgets.
Finally, true Queenslander properties ARE made of wood and our 'gum' floors and extensive decking does carry sound a little too well. To carpet these rooms would be a desecration of the property's character but it would help to muffle the sounds.
With the mountain overflowing at this time of year with couples seeking getaways we hope you found our 'value for money' proposition in these rooms to your liking. We also know you enjoyed your meals out and it is good to hear you are coming back to us and booking a cottage next time.
Enjoy your travels
J&P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
2.2 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lisson Grove
Lisson Grove
#1 of 3 in North Tamborine
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Cottages

Property: Camelot Cottages
Address: 322 Main Western Rd, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camelot Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camelot Cottages, with AAAT 4.5 stars, offers the finest certified accommodation and hospitality on the Mountain. Our three luxury cottages have been designed for privacy offering the utmost in comfort for couples to enjoy and reconnect. Huge spa baths, KS beds, log fire plus a leather chaise settee with LCD TV, DVD/VCR player and fully equipped kitchen.In a separate guest wing attached to our single storey farmhouse we offer the very best in 'Room only' accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Camelot Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing