We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really wacky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really wacky”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

this place looks like a Scottish castle- but in the rainforest on Mount Tamborine. The main lounge area is full of tartan and has two large coats of arms with dummies inside! The rooms are all named after places in Scotland (my sister stayed in Loch Ness!). The rooms are quite large and have everything you need. The decor is dated, but I guess cute. There is a big teddy bear on each bed. One downside is that there are no breakfast facilities at all-so you need to walk or drive to one of the local places- all doable, but a bit surprising that nothing is possible in house.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radicalseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    20
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here in one of the 4 rooms at the manor while attending a wedding but wished we could stay longer. Spa bath, huge room and once we checked in didnt see the staff/owner once. Left us with a lovely feeling of privateness and space and would love to go back.

Heaps of great palces to eat in town or takeaway and a lovely outdoor area, huge grassed area outside the room to enjoy if dining out isnt your thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed one night in the Balmoral room - it was a cold night and the hot air heating just wasn't up to the task. Fortunately we located an oil filled radiator and that saved the day. Extra blankets would be a good idea.

Lots of scottish stuff around, a bit over done for my taste but I guess it would appeal to some people.

The grounds looked nice but we didn't have time to explore.

Handy hint - don't get a takeaway from the fish and chip shop. Food was greasy and not recommended at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed two nights. Rooms were spacious with enormously high ceilings. Good location for exploring Tamborine. Hosts were friendly and welcoming. We took our elderly parents and the steps and bathing facilities were probably a bit of a challenge. Would highly recommend for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Samson Queensland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My hubby and I stayed here overnight recently. It's a lovely Scottish manor house situated in a picturesque, peaceful spot with a stream and tiny waterfalls in the grounds. Curtis Falls are just up the road which are a popular tourist attraction. The bedrooms are very roomy with two rocker/recliner chairs and a double spa bath in the en suite. The bed was very comfortable. The only negative is the lights in both the bedroom and bathroom are very dim so if you like to read, as I do, in the evenings, you have to sit near the bed lamp so you can't relax in the comfy chairs to read in the bedroom. There are free DVDs in the lounge to use in your room. The cost doesn't include breakfast so this should be noted but there is a toaster and microwave oven in the spacious and comfy guest lounge if needed. The hosts are friendly and welcoming. The location is central to Eagle Heights and Gallery Walk as well as Great Western Road.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We happened upon this place and loved what it looked like as we drove by... stopping in and were delighted to book a room. Lovely timbered room, welcoming entrance with nice comfy chairs and fire. Our room was large, spotless, had a spa tub and shower. Even had a large selection of DVDs to watch in the evening. Great location, just minutes from the "gallery walk" and the falls. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: I do not believe there is a pool, but there is a lovely garden with seating in the back. Free wirel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savvytravelerCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We love to discover something "different" on our travels, and Stonehaven Manor is one of those gems which provides comfort, cleanliness, a bit of luxury, friendly service and interesting bits to explore, including the spacious grounds with creek running through. Being in transit we only needed one night here but could have happily lingered, had our itinerary permitted. "Balmoral" has a big spa in the ensuite, of which we made good use, and everything felt very spacious, with plenty of storage. The resident teddy bear definitely contributed to the warm, cosy atmosphere (✿◠‿◠)

Stonehaven is conveniently situated between all the little pockets of settlement on Tambourine Mountain and the Rainforest SkyWalk. We dined at the somewhat rustic but fine St Bernard's Hotel on their special budget roast night, and found a wonderful new deli where the food is terrific (wish I could remember the name !) Lots of great walks in the area, but even the backyard is a treat.

Room Tip: There are no lifts !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Tamborine hotels
0.6 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amore Bed and Breakfast
Amore Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House

Property: Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Address: 79 Geissmann Dr, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Stonehaven Manor)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Coast Mountains finest Romantic Getaway. Scottish Manor nestled in lush tropical Rainforest next to bubbling stream. Centrally located on top of the Mountain, close to Irish Pub.Short stroll to Waterfalls, Restaurants , Art & Craft Galleries, Wineries. Cosy clean Private large rooms with Ensuite, Double Spa TV / Video, Air Conditioned. Large Cosy Guest Lounge with open fire. No children policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing