We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Witches Falls Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

My wife and I booked a short getaway over the weekend and this place was beautiful. Rooms looked new, clean and refurbished. Weather and atmosphere up there was ideal to just cozy up by a fire!

Service was impeccable. David & Daniella were such warm and friendly hosts who were very attentive and gave us good insight on whats to see/do in Mt Tamborine - thank you!

The massage organized was really good too and highly recommended.

We would def be back !

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mannybrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    21
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
221
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

This place is just a fantastic little getaway that is within an hour from Brisbane.

Service is warm and friendly and very relaxed.

For the price location and accommodation this a perfect gift for your partner and even better if it rains as the fireplace inside creates an atmosphere that only fires can do.

It was the second time I stayed here and was just as good as the last time.

Lastly there are plenty of wineries around with two of them walking distance which is great after some wine tasting :)

Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdjwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We wanted somewhere special for our 20th wedding anniversary and Witches Falls Cottages didn't disappoint; our hosts were charming and the cottage was delightful. To sit in the lovely large spa looking out to a very private garden was a treat.
The gourmet breakfast hamper was delicious and exceedingly generous with a loaf of freshly baked bread, still warm from the oven.
The bed was very comfortable, as were we.
The real question: would we go back again? Absolutely! (and I can be hard to please)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve_Mike_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent one relaxing day at Witches Falls Cottages and found the place to be fantastic. The place was easily located, after an easy drive of approximately 50 minutes from Brisbane. Restaurants and local tourist attractions were near-by and most could be reached on foot, or by a short drive.

Daniela and David were friendly and after giving us plenty of information about Mt Tamborine they showed us the cottage we would in that night. The cottage we stayed in was a cosy, self-contained unit and was a comfortable distance away from the other cottages. We found the interior design to be very nice and thoroughly enjoyed using the spa as well the TV+DVD player for a movie.

We chose the BBQ hamper for breakfast, and it was delivered at 8AM on the dot outside the cottage. We loved it. It was fun to cook, and delicious to eat.The homemade bread was fantastic!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the stay and already we have recommended the place to our friends.

Hope to visit again soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My partner and I spent a relaxing three days at Witches Falls Cottages. The location is perfect, as it is an easy walk to North Tamborine village and also next door to the Witches Falls walks. The accommodation is quaint and the hosts are welcoming. However, the place is very pricey and is not great value for money. At $250+ per night, most people would expect basic room service, even just basic checking for whether tea/ coffee etc needs replentishing. Certainly, I didn't expect to cook all meals on an outdoor bar-b-que at that price. As it was raining (it is a rainforest, afterall), we had to dodge the rain between our room and the bar-b-que area. The living area is quite small, around 4 x 6 metres in the rainforest suite. Still a charming retreat if you don't mind paying a premium for a rustic experience.

Room Tip: Splash out on the cottages for a bit more space, but still very little in terms of indoor facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 51KarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I was to be driven as a surprise, to stay in a cabin of this B+B. Arriving in the early afternoon gave time to take in the ambiance with no per-conceived thoughts whatsoever.

The gardens are lush, but just a little ramshackle. The pathways unlit, but a torch provided for that sufficiently. Not quite sure how others might feel walking to reception without path lighting though. (Suggestion to owners-there are lots of quaint solar systems about, if power is the issue.)

First impression of the accommodation was fine. A private courtyard with a small BBQ and the pleasant manner of our host showing us the finer points of the building. Then left to enjoy the privacy. Breakfast menu ticked , then to work out the dinner menu. This proved to be a little disappointing as the "picnic basket/dinner hamper" in the brochures was apparently not available.("too late" , he said) So we decided to go for a walk to town after our host told us of the delicatessen who actually provided their hampers.

We easily found this deli. And the staff there happily provided us with a great range of goodies to see us through the night. dinner was prepared (yummy). so after some more sightseeing it was decided to return to the cottage. a quick trip back up to reception before dark for fresh milk (no room service phone) and settled in for the night with my wonderful companion. Was disappointed with the sofa seating, not comfortable at all.

A cold breakfast was arranged as opposed to the BBQ choice (self cooking) available. Nice overall but certainly not gourmet, the expectation was certainly not to receive pre packed foods (one muesli pack, one "kellogs? variety pack", single serve yogurt packs, juice, jams, butters.) but a little extra in presentation and food quality and in all honesty, how can one begin to butter a loaf of bread straight from the bread-maker with a just a few tiny butter packets?

Then to enjoy a nice lazy massage from the jets in the spa. This is where things took a turn for the worse. The outlook through the huge windows would have been more pleasant if they were cleaner. Not a big one by itself, but it wasn't over yet. The spa was filled as per instructions and the label "spa cleaned after each use" removed from the switch. Then the pump started. some of the jets seemed blocked. and now I know why. in a few minutes I was presented with small dark pieces of, algae? dirt? whatever, not pleasant to see this stuff circulating around the water. So that was my time in the spa, oh well. But then, to see scattered around the floor of the bathroom in the light of day, black hair of varying lengths. ( I have a crew cut, and my darling is blonde), that was about enough for me. My thoughts turned to vacating without delay. I decided better to not look to thoroughly at the rest of the place as we were now departing.

I have now read some other reviews and am beginning to wonder if "michiyochin" didn't find the key to the discrepancy, between the actual and the reviews within. Offering a bottle of wine for favorable reports seem dubious to say the least. I know an unfavorable review is unwelcome but to entice false comments is just downright underhanded. hope I am mistaken

Up till a few moments ago I was unaware of the rates, but now having seen them, am disappointed in the overall service and presentation. I have had much better at lower rated places. Sorry, I don't think it was very good value for money. And please, please, take the time to check the bathroom for cleanliness before showing it to your guests.

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm availability/contents of hampers prior to booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gigglehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiefwizard, Owner at Witches Falls Cottages, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Most of our guest like our ‘romantic’ garden and our limited pathway lights as they allow you to see the stars at night and our natural gardens are a perfect home to many species of wildlife such as the nearly extinct Land Mullets that call our place home.
Yes we do provide a torch, good in the car park but really essential for those guests who walk to our great watering hole Clancy’s our Irish Pub. There are only a couple of street lights in the 1k walk!

At Witches Falls Cottages we have very high standards of cleanliness and our housekeepers take great pride in what they are doing.

Yes, it is correct that each spa gets filled and thoroughly rinsed and cleaned with a specific product after each stay. We run our own biodegradable system and recently had to change cleaning products to a more environmentally friendly supplier. We are continuing to look into this to find another solution to ensure our guests can enjoy their spa bath and do apologize for the cleanliness not being up to standard.

We never have and never will offer a bottle of wine for a review, if favorable or not, as this user suggests. Maybe this contributor is not familiar with facebook and therefore misunderstood the comment from “michiyochin” regarding facebook.

To avoid further disappointments we will check our ‘Welcome book’ to specify maybe more clearly that extras like the lunchtime Picnic Hampers (supplied by Deli Vino, our local Delicatessen) or the BBQ Dinner Hamper need to be pre-ordered and are not always available on short notice, we do our best to satisfy our guests requests and in this case were able to suggest that if our guests were quick they could get to Deli Vino before closing time and select directly from their wide range of yummy delicacies!
We explained to these guests, the Picnic Hampers were not normally an evening meal option and being supplied by the local Deli who requests that we give them a days notice to prepare the Hampers which we think is fair enough.

We get praises every day from our guests and our guest books are full with raving reports about our Breakfast Hampers. We are sorry if you didn’t like yours.
The way we delivered the breakfast to your cottage with the freshly baked bread in the hampers every morning does limit the use of open products like yoghurts and we must use some pre packed option to avoid any contamination before you have the time you enjoy it. However, our own homemade muesli mix is in creation as we speak and will soon be available.

We have taken on board the issue of the sofa seating and we hope you will love what we do to fix this issue during the planned 3 week closure in May to carry out some renovations and improvements including the sofas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We spent 2 realaxing days at Witches Falls Cottages, Mount Tamborine, which can be quickly and easily reached from Brisbane in one hour (70km). Daniela and David welcomed us very friendly. We were thrilled with the suite especially about the jacuzzi and modern shower. The exceptional breakfast was served in a nice wooden basket to our cottage, of course on time. Exceptional in terms of David's homemade bread, fresh eggs from their own chickens, fresh fruits from Daniela's garden.
The environment is as fantastic as the Cottages. A walk in the morning to the Witches Falls is an experience because the animals are still active. The trees in their variety and shapes are beautiful. The water of the Witches falls splashes into the depths, the panoramic view from the platform is impressive. We will recommend your cottages to our Swiss friends.
We thank Daniela and David for the wonderful days.
Edith and Kurt from Switzerland

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Tamborine
1.5 mi away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
Avocado Sunset Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in North Tamborine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
Pethers Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodges
Cedar Creek Lodges
#5 of 6 in North Tamborine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
20.5 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
2.4 mi away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witches Falls Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witches Falls Cottages

Property: Witches Falls Cottages
Address: Corner Hartley and Main Western Road, North Tamborine, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain > North Tamborine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in North Tamborine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witches Falls Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightfully different, intimate stone cottages tucked away on beautiful, tranquil Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland, 30 minutes from the beach and less than an hour from Brisbane. Witches Falls Cottages is the ideal location for a romantic getaway or short break and for those wishing to explore the magnificent Tamborine National Park. The charming hand-built cottages are nestled in flowering scented gardens and towering rose gums –unwind, revive and rejuvenate the spirit and soul as you breathe fresh mountain air, sip champage and lie back in your glass-roofed spa to gaze at the stars on a clear night. By day, your spa experience becomes at-one with nature as the clear-glass walls blend inside with the forest outside. Witches Falls Cottages is situated right next door to Queensland’s oldest National Park where you find the rare Albert Lyrebirds. From your private cottage you can walk to three of the wineries, enjoy a relaxed lunch with a glass of wine, you can walk to antique shops and the village where you find shops and restaurants which are open in the evening for dinner. Points of interest ● Hand-crafted - each character cottage offers intimate split-level living with a stone gable, bullnose veranda, polished timber floors, cosy fireplace and a double spa, perfect for a romantic retreat. ● Splendid Breakfast - delight in hampers with deliciously fresh warm homemade bread and fresh fruit, delivered each morning to the privacy of your cottage. ● Romance - secluded, relaxing cottages, set in a magical location help set the scene for a romantic stay, where you can retreat from the world in total privacy or venture out when you choose. ● Exciting Packages - not just accommodation - many unique & special packages to select from - spoil & indulge yourself in style ● 10 Stars for Hospitality - nice, friendly, incredibly helpful and hospitable hosts, David & Daniela are always on hand to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Witches Falls Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing