We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Waverley International Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Glen Waverley(Glen Waverley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Glen Inn(Glen Waverley)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lang Mews(Mount Waverley)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
35
66
29
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
66
29
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfree onsitereturn stayshopping centrespringvale roadwater pressurebed was comfortableshort walkroom serviceample parkingtwin roompleasant staylocated closeno hesitationlots of restaurantsreception staff arevillage cinemas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was probably a swanky hotel in its time but now it is showing evidence of dis-repair in many corners. Whilst some of the rooms have been well refurbished, the exterior has been neglected from inside chairs left roting in the rain; dirt and dust - none of which justifies the price asked. The web photos must be 'in its glory days' and had i not have paid for the accomodation, i would have considered the more upmarket 'IBIS Hotel' directly over the road. The Waverley didnbt even offer a sitting area for a very elderly American couple that were having to wait several hours for a travelling connection. And being Americans they were far from impressed either.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished one
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

We do apologize for your unpleasant stay with us. We are still trying our best to refurbish all the old rooms. Hope we can have another chance to make you change your thinking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The price was very reasonable compared to other accommodation in the area and on arrival we were given an upgrade. Service was friendly. We loved the location as it was within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The room, although small was clean and had a flat screen tv and a desk. The bed was comfortable. We slept well and no outside noise. Air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was clean and had a spa bath. There was free parking and plenty of it. We only ate breakfast once in the restaurant during our stay. The restaurant area was quite small with a limited menu but was ok. Due to the location it is easy to walk to the nearby shops to eat breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BrisbaneWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

It's such a pleasure to let you feel convenient and satisfied stay with us. We are looking forward to see you soon on your next journey.--Poppy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed in the Waverley International the second time. The first time I got a room on the ground floor and it was quite ok for the location and price. However, this time short after arriving and lying down, I felt some itching and came to realise, the bed was full of bed bugs!! YAKKK!!! In the middle of the night there is no night guard just an emergency mobile number so the only way out I saw was escaping into another hotel. They have returned the booking fee without fuss but I certainly won't stay there anymore, no matter how good the location & price.

Room Tip: Arrive before the reception closes and inspect the room first (also under the mattress)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fredy_P1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Firstly, we have to seriously apologize for your terrible experience. And thank you for your review which is remind us pest control is the curious maintenance problem for us. We already rechecked all the rooms and we will make sure this thing won’t happen to our dear guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Spa notworking correctly in room. Not up to Executive room standards. Attitude of reception staff - not very careing to the issues in the room. Reception staff just stated that they would report it to housekeeping in the morning. This is not good enough when the room was booked specifically because it had a spa. No recompense was even talked about until customer asked about a refund.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

We really do apologize for your upset experience with us. Most of the rooms’ facilities are old and need urgently renovate. We are already in the process. Moreover, we checked all the spas, and adjust the price if the spa is not working. Thank you for your detailed review. Hope we can have another chance to change your thinking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nothing exciting, just a bed in a room, the room we stayed was clean if that is what you are looking for it is good. Air conditioning is sus. For same price I am sure there are better motels. If you are travelling with kids and they are looking for some thing exciting this is not the place.

Room Tip: do not take self rated hotels, unless it has been recommended to you by some one else.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-chelliah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2014

Thank you for your time to review us. Yes! Surely, we are not a fun place for kids. Actually surrounding here, there are plenty places fun for kids like cinema, bowling……. And we renovated our restaurant. Hope next time, the food can makes you feel more exciting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews