We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waverley International Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Room Service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a long day of travel and work, I was desperate for a decent dinner and comfy bed. The Waverley International had exactly that. Tuesday night was Steak night, with the choice of 4 (or 5?) steaks. Mine came in adequate time, delivered to the table, with a smile. The steak was excellent - cooked to perfection. The hot chips were some of the best (crunchiest) I've ever had and the salad on the side was adequate. The icecream was Ahhhmazzzing! Yum. The room was a little chilly on arrival, but it was an exceptionally cold winter's night. The heating is great, but does take a few minutes to kick in (which can seem like forever when you're cold).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarsyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
So touching when I read through your review. As we warmed you up when you arrived, you also cheered us up when we have your supportive review. Warm welcome, delicious food, kindly service and homey comfortable will be always here for you. Offer you our best always. - Poppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    62
    27
    10
    14
See reviews for
28
26
9
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly helpful staff from making the booking to checking in. Rooms are nice and tidy and after a long day out in the cold came back to find a warm bed. Good location and walking distance to public transport and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clari125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Thanks for your supportive review. hope for you next stay we can even more satisfied you with our food and service. Cheers - Poppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked on our behalf by the company, we thought we were going to be in the nearby Ibis... Not to be! Instead, we realised we'd been booked into the Waverley International by mistake. No matter, location wise, this suited us well and was very convenient. Nearby 'The Glen' is a good shopping centre with a wide range of quality shops and isn't too large such that you can't get around it fairly easily in a couple of hours. Glen Waverley has a large Asian population and with that comes a plethora of Asian marks and restaurants. Papa Rich just around the corner (Malaysian) must surely deserve a visit to anyone to staying here.

As for the hotel itself...disappointing...and perhaps even a little rough. The room was basic to say the least and while it had what was needed i.e. a bed, phone, tv and adjoining bathroom, there wasn't much more than this on offer. The carpet had the most almighty stain on it - we never did figure out what it was and that may be just as well. Our view of Springvale Road (three lanes each way) was...well, as you might expect...'urban'...and our ensuite 'sparse'.

The bed was comfortable - and I have to say, the cleaning staff were very friendly indeed and a credit to an otherwise very ordinary hotel. Cost wise, I'm told this was pretty reasonable - and rightly so given what we had - but I suggest there are better stays to be had in this area of Melbourne.

With that, stay here only if you have to - and if you do, I guess simply expect the minimum and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms backing on to Springvale Road...unless you like the sound of (and view of) traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Thanks for your very detailed and helpful review for us to improve as well. We do apologies for all the disappointing. We are doing refurnishing for all the rooms step by step since this year. We hope if we can get another chance we could offer you a smarter choice. Have a lovely day. - Poppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second time here and this time I had a refurbished room on the 3rd floor. Room was very clean and nicer than my last stay. Very comfortable bed and pillows which is always nice when your away from home. Shower could do with a new shower head though. Breakfast was delicious and a pretty good choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank azznjo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Nice to hear you’re happy. Nice review too. Hope we can always have your visit and always makes you happy. Cheers. - Poppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It was probably a swanky hotel in its time but now it is showing evidence of dis-repair in many corners. Whilst some of the rooms have been well refurbished, the exterior has been neglected from inside chairs left roting in the rain; dirt and dust - none of which justifies the price asked. The web photos must be 'in its glory days' and had i not have paid for the accomodation, i would have considered the more upmarket 'IBIS Hotel' directly over the road. The Waverley didnbt even offer a sitting area for a very elderly American couple that were having to wait several hours for a travelling connection. And being Americans they were far from impressed either.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
We do apologize for your unpleasant stay with us. We are still trying our best to refurbish all the old rooms. Hope we can have another chance to make you change your thinking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glen Waverley hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The price was very reasonable compared to other accommodation in the area and on arrival we were given an upgrade. Service was friendly. We loved the location as it was within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. The room, although small was clean and had a flat screen tv and a desk. The bed was comfortable. We slept well and no outside noise. Air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was clean and had a spa bath. There was free parking and plenty of it. We only ate breakfast once in the restaurant during our stay. The restaurant area was quite small with a limited menu but was ok. Due to the location it is easy to walk to the nearby shops to eat breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
It's such a pleasure to let you feel convenient and satisfied stay with us. We are looking forward to see you soon on your next journey.--Poppy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed in the Waverley International the second time. The first time I got a room on the ground floor and it was quite ok for the location and price. However, this time short after arriving and lying down, I felt some itching and came to realise, the bed was full of bed bugs!! YAKKK!!! In the middle of the night there is no night guard just an emergency mobile number so the only way out I saw was escaping into another hotel. They have returned the booking fee without fuss but I certainly won't stay there anymore, no matter how good the location & price.

Room Tip: Arrive before the reception closes and inspect the room first (also under the mattress)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredy_P1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wei X, Manager at The Waverley International Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2014
Firstly, we have to seriously apologize for your terrible experience. And thank you for your review which is remind us pest control is the curious maintenance problem for us. We already rechecked all the rooms and we will make sure this thing won’t happen to our dear guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen Waverley
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Glen Waverley
0.2 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
1,063 reviews
3.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Forest Hill
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Punthill Burwood
Punthill Burwood
#1 of 3 in Burwood
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quest Glen Waverley
Quest Glen Waverley
#1 of 6 in Glen Waverley
251 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Inn
Glen Inn
#4 of 4 in Glen Waverley
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley International Hotel

Property: The Waverley International Hotel
Address: 301 Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, Monash, Victoria 3150, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Glen Waverley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glen Waverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waverley International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley International Hotel is located in one of Melbourne's major commercial precincts, Glen Waverley, 20km south-east of the city, close to entertainment, shops and sporting venues. In this spacious complex 65 accommodation rooms are available with all the comforts of a luxury hotel plus 6 brand new two bedroom apartments all with the personal attention that only a small establishment can offer. Well positioned in the heart of Melbourne's south-eastern business district, our spacious, fully-equipped and serviced conference rooms are the perfect setting for business meetings, presentations or seminars. The Waverley International Hotel is fully licensed and caters for local and international cuisine from our A la Carte menu, served in our warm and graceful dining area. Sip your favorite drink or enjoy a coffee at our in-house bar, or we can also serve you anytime in the comfort and convenience of your own room. Centrally located with excellent public transport facilities, restaurants, health and leisure clubs, shopping centres, cinemas and golf courses, our friendly staff will ensure that your stay at The Waverley International Hotel will be a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waverley International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waverley International Hotel Glen Waverley, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing