We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Our Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Our Needs”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were in New Zealand for one week to play golf in the Hawkes Bay region, see the Art Deco buildings in Napier and visit local wineries. We were seeking self-catering accommodation with a high standard of comfort, cleanliness and ambience and also with convenient access to Cape Kidnappers golf course and others in the area. Our needs were met perfectly by Clive Colonial Cottages in the small seaside town of Clive. Our hosts, Sandra and Neil, were very welcoming, friendly and attentive. Arriving late at night, we valued very much the supply of breakfast provisions for our first morning. Our cottage was a lovely haven at each day's end. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, it was lovely to have you with us for the week. So glad you enoyed the cottages and managed to get in a few rounds of golf! Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
88
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A beautiful place to stay! This was the cleanest and most well appointed Bach we have stayed in. We even had access to a BBQ! The gardens were beautiful and they whole place was very well maintained. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage - 'Bellbird' which was great for 4 of us- two imaculate bedrooms and a lovely lounge/dining space. The owners were very informative and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Thank you for a great stay- we hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ScottC449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your your review, we really appreciate it. So glad that the cottages left a lovely impression and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We only have good things to say about our stay at Clive Colonial Cottages! The place is very quiet, spotless, and the kitchen well equiped. The room is a little bit small for luggage but the bed comfortable. Sandra was very helpful with information about the area and we fell in love with the family dog. We really enjoyed the BBQ available and had a good bike ride by the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa_F30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, it was really nice meeting you and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were expecting something nice, but we were blown away by the quality of these cottages. So contemporary yet so comfortable, and spotlessly clean. To sit on the terrace surrounded by fragrances from the old fashioned roses and jasmine is a wonderful way to spend an evening, especially with a glass of Craggy Range Chardonnay. We had a fun filled 4 days, helped along by wonderful ideas from Neil and Sandra. We went on a tractor & trailor Gannet Adventure - 7 kms along the beach to the breeding gannet colonies (what a hoot). We were there for the end of Napier Art Deco week, so went along on the Sunday to the Great Gatsby picnic. The whole town seems to have set up gazebos, equipped will retro furniture and paraphenalia, and everyone dressed for the era. Jitterbug music was playing on the Shell Stage, vintage cars were everywhere - we really want to go back because it was amazing. Neil directed us to "farm golf" - very different, challenging and great fun. This couple could keep you busy all week as they have so many ideas. We loved our stay and will definitely put it at the top of our list when we go back to New Zealand.

Room Tip: all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Wow, what a wonderful review. Thanks so much for taking the time to put down your thoughts about the cottages and the wonderful activities locally. So glad you enjoyed your stay, it was such a pleasure to have you with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We loved our stay at Bellbird Cottage. It was perfect for two couples and a young baby. Fantastic value and good location for exploring the Hawkes Bay wine region on bikes and by car. Generous and welcoming hosts, beautiful gardens and (very clean) cottages.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sazzle50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
It was lovely to meet your group, and thanks for your review... so glad you enjoyed the cottages and the bike ride! Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This is a great place to stay. We booked all three cottages. Sandra and Neil are great hosts. We didn't need to ask them for much, but they were very obliging with information when we needed it. The cottages are modern units but hark to the traditional exterior style of colonial cottages and are well maintained and very clean and tidy. The grounds are wonderful too and there is a great sense of privacy. We made use of the games room and the large outdoor chess set. The amenities were top notch and the small details - like fresh eggs for the first breakfast, along with good quality plunger coffee, tea and juice - show that they care about the service they provide. Whenever we have a larger group, we now know where to stay. Clive is handy to both Napier and Hastings and surrounding vineyards. The beds were crazy comfortable.

Room Tip: There are a total of four double beds, so for a full booking it suits four couples. We had siblings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. It was lovely to meet your family and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed in the Bellbird cottage for the weekend while up for a friends wedding at Craggy Range Estate. The cottage is just lovely, its got everything you need and is very comfortable. A very pretty location, lovely grounds and fun extras like the giant chess board.
Sandra and her family are also just lovely! very accommodating and helpful. Great location, great price - cant complain at all! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
So glad that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks so much for your kind words, it is so nice to hear when guests enjoy the cottages. Many thanks, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
3.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
241 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
7.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawn Cottages
Lawn Cottages
#2 of 5 in Clive
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clive Motel
Clive Motel
#1 of 1 in Clive
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Property: Clive Colonial Cottages
Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing