We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clive's Best Kept Secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent a weekend in Hawke's Bay and chose to stay at Clive Colonial Cottages following a recommendation. Set in a stunning location Clive Cottages has fantastic hosts and spotless facilities with everything you could wish for including a complimentary breakfast the first morning. The cottages are situated in a quiet area but also ideally situated for trips to the tourist destinations nearby We have travelled extensively overseas and Clive Colonial Cottages is "up with the best" of them. We can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

What a wonderful review, thanks so much for taking the time to write it, it is really appreciated and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

the best! holiday holiday accommodation we have had. the cottage was clean, had everthing we need for our two nights...we could have stayed for a month and we would have been well catered for.
only a short drive to Napier so ideal spot to base yourself
A+++

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Wow, thanks for your kind words... I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I traveled around New Zealand in a campervan. We wanted to have a break from the van. We chose to stay at Clive to be near Napier so we could visit the wineries and check out the art deco and to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.
We selected the one bedroom Fantail cottage. The cottage was classy, immaculate and cozy. We appreciated that our frig had all the fine makings for a continental breakfast in the morning. We had endured some frosty nights, so we really liked that the bed was equipped with an electric heater.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the cottages and for your kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.. it was lovely to meet you. Kindest regards
Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were in New Zealand for one week to play golf in the Hawkes Bay region, see the Art Deco buildings in Napier and visit local wineries. We were seeking self-catering accommodation with a high standard of comfort, cleanliness and ambience and also with convenient access to Cape Kidnappers golf course and others in the area. Our needs were met perfectly by Clive Colonial Cottages in the small seaside town of Clive. Our hosts, Sandra and Neil, were very welcoming, friendly and attentive. Arriving late at night, we valued very much the supply of breakfast provisions for our first morning. Our cottage was a lovely haven at each day's end. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoisCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Many thanks for your review, it was lovely to have you with us for the week. So glad you enoyed the cottages and managed to get in a few rounds of golf! Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

A beautiful place to stay! This was the cleanest and most well appointed Bach we have stayed in. We even had access to a BBQ! The gardens were beautiful and they whole place was very well maintained. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage - 'Bellbird' which was great for 4 of us- two imaculate bedrooms and a lovely lounge/dining space. The owners were very informative and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Thank you for a great stay- we hope to return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ScottC449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your your review, we really appreciate it. So glad that the cottages left a lovely impression and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We only have good things to say about our stay at Clive Colonial Cottages! The place is very quiet, spotless, and the kitchen well equiped. The room is a little bit small for luggage but the bed comfortable. Sandra was very helpful with information about the area and we fell in love with the family dog. We really enjoyed the BBQ available and had a good bike ride by the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa_F30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thanks for your lovely review, it was really nice meeting you and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were expecting something nice, but we were blown away by the quality of these cottages. So contemporary yet so comfortable, and spotlessly clean. To sit on the terrace surrounded by fragrances from the old fashioned roses and jasmine is a wonderful way to spend an evening, especially with a glass of Craggy Range Chardonnay. We had a fun filled 4 days, helped along by wonderful ideas from Neil and Sandra. We went on a tractor & trailor Gannet Adventure - 7 kms along the beach to the breeding gannet colonies (what a hoot). We were there for the end of Napier Art Deco week, so went along on the Sunday to the Great Gatsby picnic. The whole town seems to have set up gazebos, equipped will retro furniture and paraphenalia, and everyone dressed for the era. Jitterbug music was playing on the Shell Stage, vintage cars were everywhere - we really want to go back because it was amazing. Neil directed us to "farm golf" - very different, challenging and great fun. This couple could keep you busy all week as they have so many ideas. We loved our stay and will definitely put it at the top of our list when we go back to New Zealand.

Room Tip: all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Wow, what a wonderful review. Thanks so much for taking the time to put down your thoughts about the cottages and the wonderful activities locally. So glad you enjoyed your stay, it was such a pleasure to have you with us. Kindest regards, Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
7 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clive Studios
Clive Studios
#1 of 1 in Clive
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawn Cottages
Lawn Cottages
#2 of 5 in Clive
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Clive
Price Range: £81 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing