We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clive Colonial Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
South Canterbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place, great people.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Thanks for the great, peaceful stay. The cottages are perfect for a relaxing time and there are good grounds with lots of space to relax and for kids to run around of that is your thing.
Hawkes Bay is a cool place to visit, we had good weather too which made for a good weekend

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thanks for the great review, we really appreciate guests taking the time to write reviews and really appreciate your kind words. Thanks again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
88
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I just got back from a long weekend in the Hawkes Bay in New Zealand and wanted to make sure I wrote my review for this place as soon as I could. I booked Clive Colonial Cottages based on the excellent reviews on here and I have to say that it was better than I could have ever expected. Not only is the accommodation comfortable, clean and so beautifully done but the hosts are the most incredibly approachable, friendly, helpful people you could hope for. We were made to feel so welcome and at home. I can not speak highly enough of this place. If I could have I would have gladly stayed for a lot longer. The recommendations that were made for places to eat and things to see did not disappoint either. These guys clearly love what they do and in turn do it extremely well. If you are looking for somewhere to stay I can not recommend Clive Colonial Cottages highly enough. You won't be disappointed. Careful attention to detail and service with a smile made this place so memorable and made the weekend to this beautiful part of the country even better!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroveAitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Wow Grove, what a wonderful review. Thanks so much for the awesome comments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The 4 of us stayed here for 2 nights in Bellbird Cottage - wish it was longer - lovely peaceful garden setting, flowers, birds and fruit to eat off the trees. Cooking facilities & BBQ so we chose to eat-in both nights as it was so pleasant. Very helpful hosts Hired their 4 bikes and explored the bike trails. Thoroughly recommend it and we'll return with other overseas visitors!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Thanks Caroline for your lovely review, really appreciate your kind words and it would be lovely to welcome you back to the cottages again in the future, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent a weekend in Hawke's Bay and chose to stay at Clive Colonial Cottages following a recommendation. Set in a stunning location Clive Cottages has fantastic hosts and spotless facilities with everything you could wish for including a complimentary breakfast the first morning. The cottages are situated in a quiet area but also ideally situated for trips to the tourist destinations nearby We have travelled extensively overseas and Clive Colonial Cottages is "up with the best" of them. We can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely be back in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
What a wonderful review, thanks so much for taking the time to write it, it is really appreciated and so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

the best! holiday holiday accommodation we have had. the cottage was clean, had everthing we need for our two nights...we could have stayed for a month and we would have been well catered for.
only a short drive to Napier so ideal spot to base yourself
A+++

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Wow, thanks for your kind words... I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I traveled around New Zealand in a campervan. We wanted to have a break from the van. We chose to stay at Clive to be near Napier so we could visit the wineries and check out the art deco and to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.
We selected the one bedroom Fantail cottage. The cottage was classy, immaculate and cozy. We appreciated that our frig had all the fine makings for a continental breakfast in the morning. We had endured some frosty nights, so we really liked that the bed was equipped with an electric heater.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the cottages and for your kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand.. it was lovely to meet you. Kindest regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were in New Zealand for one week to play golf in the Hawkes Bay region, see the Art Deco buildings in Napier and visit local wineries. We were seeking self-catering accommodation with a high standard of comfort, cleanliness and ambience and also with convenient access to Cape Kidnappers golf course and others in the area. Our needs were met perfectly by Clive Colonial Cottages in the small seaside town of Clive. Our hosts, Sandra and Neil, were very welcoming, friendly and attentive. Arriving late at night, we valued very much the supply of breakfast provisions for our first morning. Our cottage was a lovely haven at each day's end. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CliveCC, Owner at Clive Colonial Cottages, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, it was lovely to have you with us for the week. So glad you enoyed the cottages and managed to get in a few rounds of golf! Kindest regards, Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
3.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
241 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
7.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
861 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawn Cottages
Lawn Cottages
#2 of 5 in Clive
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clive Motel
Clive Motel
#1 of 1 in Clive
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clive Colonial Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Colonial Cottages

Property: Clive Colonial Cottages
Address: 198 School Road, Clive 4102, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Clive
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clive Colonial Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable boutique self-catering accommodation in the heart of the Hawkes Bay. Just ten minutes from Napier, Hastings & Havelock North means you are not far away from the many attractions and activities that the region offers. Our three stand-alone cottages were the Top Pick for the Hastings District in the 2010 NZ Lonely Planet guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Clive Colonial Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing