We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Clive Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clive Studios
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clive
Reviewed 16 June 2014

They went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and stress free, A great place to stay, very clean and peaceful. We will be staying here again its a great central location and is indeed value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

Wow - what a breath of fresh air it was to stay here! Super helpful and so so friendly. The rooms were modern,clean and quiet! How fantastic it is to stay where you can see that the manager really wants to make your stay the best it can be! We enquired about a taxi - and were offered a lift instead of the taxi! We will be back same time next year! Thank You

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Room was clean, everything we needed was there, we enjoyed the stay and would return to stay.
Only thing was not impressed with shower curtain please replace or get a glass door.
But otherwise was very happy with the room.
Thanks

Room Tip: Large and quiet room plus sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed overnight here in a King Studio. We needed to stay in Clive and this was the only motel there and so we expected the usual small area basic motel and WERE WE SURPRISED. This motel is fabulous. We arrived early and didn't expect our room to be ready for a couple of hours, checked in with a delightful young lady and were told that the room wasn't ready, then another very nice lady took us over to the motel block and told us that they would get the room ready for us, it was only the floors that needed washing so the ladies doing the cleaning stopped and finished off our room in 5 minutes, and with smiles and waves.
The room itself was huge, beautifully clean, nice decor, kitchen and bathroom, with a spa bath, fantastic! The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.
We didn't want to be driving to have a meal so we thought we would try the River Bar Restaurant, which is on the corner, across the road from the Motel. Another wonderful surprise, once again expecting a bar type area and meal. This also was fabulous, we walked in and thought WOW. The decor is classy and trendy, with modern silver and grey wallpaper, nice artwork, comfortable leather chairs and lovely wood tables. The two young people who served us were delightful, lovely smiles and very helpful. We had 2 x fish meals - beautiful fresh groper (don't get that fish very often), very generous portions and beautiful presentation. I can't speak highly enough of this Motel and the Restaurant and the lovely people who work there. They also had a very pleasant young lady singing. Plus there is an outside area with tables and umbrellas - lovely.
It is only a 10 minute drive in one direction to Napier and 10 minutes in the other direction to Hastings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Me and my family of six recently stayed at this motel and I must say it was awesome value for money. The room was huge and trying to find a place to stay for 4adults and 2children for under $180 is not easy. The room was 2bedrooms with a king in one and 2singles in the other the living area also had another single bed and a pull out double couch. The bathroom was very clean and modern with a separate shower and spa bath. There was a full kitchen with a good size fridge/freezer.The host was fantastic, prior to our arrival I had called to confirm booking and informed that the main reason for our trip was Splash Planet, which I must say is only about a 7min drive to from the motel, so when we arrived we were warmly greeted. To my surprise the hostess had taken the time out of her busy day to actually drive to Splash Planet and get a residents discount for us to use saving us a whooping $50. So please if you are heading to the hawkers bay don't pass by this great motel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Visiting Hawkes Bay is always a dilemma for us - do we stay in Napier, Hastings or Havelock North. The answer now is CLIVE. It is right in the middle of Napier and Hastings and is therefore and ideal spot to use as a base. The motel is clean and neat. The family suite was big and good value. It was a little worn but hardly noticeable. The bike hire place just down the road was fantastic and gave us a great deal as well as some fabulous recommendations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Recently spent two nights in Clive Motel. Marlene was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and had everything you need. Clive is a good central spot to see Hawkes Bay as you are only minutes away from Napier, Hastings and Havelock. Lovely Mexican Restaurant right across the road. Also very close to the river, bike tracks and the beach. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Even though close to the main road didn't hear much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clive hotels
1.2 mi away
Clive Colonial Cottages
1.2 mi away
Lawn Cottages
Lawn Cottages
#2 of 5 in Clive
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clive Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clive Studios

Address: Corner Ferry and School Roads | Corner Ferry and School Roads, Clive 4102, New Zealand (Formerly Clive Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Clive
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clive
Price Range: £88 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clive Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clive Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing