We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pilgrimage for Motorcyclists” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whangamomona Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stratford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Whangamomona Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Stratford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pilgrimage for Motorcyclists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

The Whangamonona Hotel is one of the places every keen motorcyclist needs to visit at least once. Sure, it is remote and takes a bit of getting too, the the hospitality, the meals and history make the trip worthwhile. Stay the night , but don't expect 5 stars, this is a true country pub, and all the better for it.

The publicans, Vicki & Richard have just taken the pub over and they'll make you very welcome.

The roads are twisty, can be slippy when wet, and are deserving of utmost respect - enjoy the ride but don't go crazy (go over a bank & you may never be found).

Do it!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    50
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
51
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had a great night here. Meals were excellent and staff and locals friendly. Good place to stay while doing the forgot highway. We had a lovely dinner and watched the all black s play Australia. A very Kiwi pub with kiwi patrons. A true NZ experience

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hi Penny & Geoff
Just a wee note to thank you both so much for the truly wonderful stay we had at the hotel for Mum & Dads surprise 50th wedding anniversary celebration.

You both exceeded our expectations in every aspect of our stay!!
I would like to thank you sincerely for thinking & doing all the small things that made such a difference & enhanced our stay, like putting the banner up Geoff in the dining room & Penny for helping the children with their breakfast Saturday morning just to name a couple of things.
From myself & the rest of my family thank you both, we had a magnificent stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just OK. Penny was great and very helpful and very accommodating with our 2 children. Husband Geoff I found to be quite rude. Maybe hes just had enough but still, no excuse...

Rooms were fine, everything clean. Meals nice, lamb shanks tasty. Pretty disappointed about the early closure of the downstairs bar. We put the kids to bed and were hoping / looking forward to a drink and a game of pool only to find that everything got closed up - at 8pm! Maybe this is normal for a Monday night? Would have appreciated some earlier warning of this as felt like I was at boarding school and had to go to bed at 8pm!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Whangamomona Hotel is good back-country hotel with friendly staff (except for the owner who was doing some very good Basil Fawlty imitations). I am not used to sarcasm and rudeness from someone in the hospitality trade. The room and shared bathroom were clean and tidy and what you would expect from this type of hotel. Food was average though and uninspiring. My wife had a lamb shank for $28 and most of the vegetables tasted as if they had come from a frozen packet from the supermarket. It was a real nuisance that you couldn't check in until after 3pm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is Glynis from Kapiti 4 Seasons. Two days ago eighteen of us enjoyed our $22 finger food luncheon in the private dining-room. We had three tables of six people. Each table had huge platters of hot food and delicious sandwiches along with lots of chocolate mini muffins and fresh fruit...So much food we couldn't eat it all (many did try...) Penny, the owner gave us lots of attention along with her very friendly staff...We also had a nice stroll around this historical little village before continuing on to Taumarunui on the Forgotten Highway...

Room Tip: we only had lunch this time but it is a fun place to stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiconnection2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

The Whangamomona Hotel is a must for anyone with an interest in New Zealand's architectural heritage. It is, however, much more than just an interesting building - the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The personal service met the same high standard. The rooms were well set out, clean and comfortable. The whole experience was like a window onto times gone by. This enchanting hotel is well worth a diversion from the main route

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takatapui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford hotels
27.5 mi away
Amity Court Motel
Amity Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
36.0 mi away
Dawson Falls Mountain Lodge
34.7 mi away
Ngati Ruanui Stratford Mountain House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.8 mi away
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
ASURE Antonio Mews Motel
#2 of 3 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
27.6 mi away
Broadway Lodge Motel
Broadway Lodge Motel
#4 of 8 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
28.1 mi away
Stratford Holiday Park
Stratford Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in Stratford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangamomona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangamomona Hotel

Property: Whangamomona Hotel
Address: 6018 SH 43 New Zealand, Stratford, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region > Stratford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Whangamomona Hotel Stratford, New Zealand - Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing