We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, nerds look here”
Review of Earth and Sky

Earth and Sky
Ranked #5 of 17 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Earth & Sky Stargazing and Observatory tours operate in beautiful Lake Tekapo situated in the South Island. Visitors find enjoyment, entertainment and inspiration through a ‘hands-on’ experience as knowledgeable astronomy guides share the wonders of space, promote a scientific understanding of the southern night sky, and help reconnect people with a special part of nature using powerful telescopes. Tours operate at two big sky locations including the University of Canterbury Mt John Research Observatory. Lake Tekapo sits at the heart of the gold ranked ’Aoraki Mackenzie International Dark Sky Reserve‘ (est 2012) - Earth & Sky - the best attraction in New Zealand to show you the universe.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“OK, nerds look here”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have always been a nerd when it came to astronomy, and my hopeless telescope in high school entertained me for years. When the chance came to visit a real dark-sky observatory, not surprisingly I booked right away.

Drove up in a bus to Mount John, with fascinating history about the place. A truly international flavour to the place, with Japanese scientists, NASA guide, and a South African "guy" that told us how cool free-floating planets are. Highlight of the tour was seeing Saturn on a real telescope, yes, with rings and all!

Don't know why people would comment on the café etc., this is a "museum' type of place, and a bad coffee isn't worth the mark down. For all you "big bang theory" fans, or "star trek" fanatics, I say suit up for an away mission, beam yourselves up, and report to stellar-cartography.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    139
    46
    29
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning view!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Pro: Stunning, Beautiful view! Pleasant and nice attendants. Please reach there early if you wish to try the food served by the cafe.

Con: The curved and steep road. Drive safely up and down the hill.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BravoKCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent and informative evening”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Informative evening if not freezing cold. Recommend to accept the jackets the company offer. Could not have survived without it. Fabulous night sky. Actually got to see Saturn and it's rings through the telescope. Brilliant

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank browny47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family tour”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It's hard for me to write a review because in all fairness we were warned that due to the clouds, we might not see much and subsequently we didn't! I also feel that if the timing and the weather is right this probably has the potential to be an amazing experience so I don't want to complain about it. Just some points, take warnings about a lack of clarity seriously (we were only there one night so could not return but now I wished I'd just taken the full refund and tried star gazing somewhere else along the line) take the wonderful arctic jackets when they are offered BUT do them up in the light of the office before you get on the bus - we spent ages fumbling around in the dark at the top trying to get ourselves and our children in the jackets, and for some reason on the 'family tour' there was only three children in total and the rest were adults so it was not aimed at children at all really - although the guides made sure the children got time/boosts to see through the telescopes at the moon and Saturn (the only things we could briefly see). Potentially wonderful but far, far too expensive for a modified tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HONGKONG
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Must go tour”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The well-known and amazing tour to watch sky and stars, we lucky got a clear sky night with well-prepared facilities enjoyed a 2 hours tour for star glazing , we learnt lot about the sky from the professional guide and equipments, it's a highlight in Tekapo.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank finejenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earth and Sky also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Earth and Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing