We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best YHA in New Zealand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best YHA in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

For me YHA Lake Tekapo was the best of all the YHA hostels I stayed in during my trip.
The double room was lovely. The bathrooms and the kitchen were very clean and well equipped. From the common room you have an amazing view towards to lake through huge windows.
The village's centre is very close, too. There are a few restaurants, shops and a small supermarket. The owner was very friendly.
I definitely want to stay here again when I come back to New Zealand next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nici1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    68
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
7
45
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was my first trip to YHA lodge during my 1 week New Zealand's trip, so I really didn't know what to expect. It was at a great location, you can enjoy Lake Tekapo's view from the common room and even walk straight to the Lake from the lodge. The view was heavenly! The room was fine and the kitchen was fully equipped with cooking tools and pans, had no problem finding any. All in all, it's a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aziey_zaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
298 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I reckon YHA Lake Tekapo being the best YHA I've ever stayed in Aotearoa. The location was perfect, a minute from Naked Bus stop, right in front of the lake and easy to hike to Mt John Observatory. Money cannot buy the view I bet!
Even staying there for only 1 night but I really enjoyed it. I had memorable talks to the other backpackers who stayed there at the same time. We also walked together to the church to observe the sky and the stars.

Room Tip: Check the information board diagonally with the reception desk to see if someone can offer a ride fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Despite de good localisation, it doesn't wort the money that you pay for it. We stay there for a night and it was a nightmare. First of all the rules are not enforced - kitchen was a mess and very dirty, disgusting! It is not higenyc at all...
Secondly, the roons are located next to the dining area and, even thought there was a sign for quiet zone, people didn't respect it and the staff was just next to it and haven't done anything even after several guests complaints. We couldn't sleep till around 1 am.
Our room was really smelly and just getting in it made me want to trough up! I had to sleep with a towel covering my nose.
About the toilets: the female was not to bad considering the others things. It wasn't that dirty, but I wouldn't have a shower without tongs if I were you.
My advise: if you have another choice, take it! If don't, just pass for lake tekapo, stay for a few hours and keeping driving to next stop.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA N, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hi there, and thank you for the feedback. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.

The team here work hard to make sure our hostel is always at its best. The kitchen is tidied at the start of shift each morning and closed every day at 10.30am until midday for a deep clean and then cleaned again at the end of the day. It is also checked regularly by staff throughout the day. The bathrooms are also closed daily for a clean.

We do alert our guests to the fact that we have a quiet zone and that those quiet times are between 10pm and 7 am. Posters throughout the dining room emphasize this. If you found that other guests were not respecting this quiet zone, you were welcome to ring our staff as we have staff availability 24 hours a day. We have posters in the hostel with the appropriate phone number to call after hours.

Again, we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Billy Kerr, Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I spent few days in this hostel and was very nice. Dormitory are good, bathroom ok, very clean. My favorite thing here is the lake view and the region. Just awesome. Tekapo Lake is a paradise!!
It's a little hostel where you can relax, walk around the lake, go to Mt John or to the hot pools and look the stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annelaure313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Sitting in the lounge room you get one of the best views of Lake Tekapo there is - and for a fraction of the price of the local hotels. Also a log fire to keep warm and add to the atmosphere.

Staff were fabulous. Kitchen clean and organised.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

This is definitely my favorite among all the hostels that I have stayed in. Well-located and just within walking distance (in a couple of minutes) to town village, YHA Lake Tekapo has an amazing view of the lake where one can catch the sunrise! It is within 15mins walking distance to the hotsprings or if you go the other way, it would be 15mins to the famous chapel.

Receptionists were all very kind and nice (helpful too!). The lounge was so comfortable and the kitchen has got to be one of the most well-kept and cleanest of the 3 YHA that I stayed.

There were only 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets but that's ok, as there weren't many guests. Shower works well with healthy flow of warm/hot water and hair dryers are available upon request from the reception.

I booked for the double room, that's right next to the male toilets. There were many reviews about noise but it was alright for me. I find the room cosy, and just nice for a solo traveller who wants to spulrge abit but not to the extent of staying at a hotel. Wifi was available at all time (full signal!), regardless of whether I am in my room or in the lounge area.

There are tiny touches, like art pebbles with messages that travellers left behind, and books or clothes for exchange and nice posters and compiled info of tekapo and the region in files. It's the small things that count and one will definitely feel at home at Lake Tekapo YHA.

Try it to know it:)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaZsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Property: YHA Lake Tekapo
Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing