We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
YHA Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Thanks Billy and Erin (two Scots living far away from home in Mackenzie Country) for your warm hospitable welcome!

I stayed two nights and considering I've had a few issues with $$$ of late I was glad they were more than happy to wait for some funds to come through.

Rooms were tidy and homely, I enjoyed the thick duvets and the room heating.

Only downside was the disabled shower/toilet having a strong ammonia/urea smell.

The log fires were great and loved curling up in the common room reading a book, with a great view of course!!!

Thanks again for all your help and I will return in 2015!

Room Tip: Stay an extra night in tekapo so you can see what this little town does have to offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlankerLady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    67
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
7
45
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really cosy hostel, very small. When I was there there were a lot of asian people, which leads to another atmosphere. But I really liked this hostel. All facilities were there and the staff was absolutely the most amazing people I have ever seen. They help you with everything and make you feel like home. Thanks for that guys! The view over lake tekapo is also amazing and definitely go up to mount John (during day and night)!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Manon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The location is great - we could walk to a lot of nearby attractions from the hotel. The view of the lake out back with the lupins was truly beautiful. The kitchen area was fairly large, with a very nice dining room and common area with an awesome lake view and a little patio outside. The atmosphere is really great - relaxed and positive.

We stayed in a twin private room next to the handicapped bathroom. The bathrooms were kept clean, and the bedroom had a nice view.

My only issue is that the heater didn't work (and it was spring, so fairly chilly at night - I wore thermals to bed). They gave us a portable heater, but that blew the breakers on the outlets in the room and no one was up in the night to help us get them reset, so we just froze. Also, all the lights in the room were plug in lights, so after that we didn't have lights either. I assume that was just a temporary problem as it really is a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dt_Panic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thanks for the great review and yes you are right it is a temporary problem and we're sorry you had that experience.

We have just finalised putting in ceiling heaters in all our rooms, yours was the last one! This means we no longer need to put in oil heaters in rooms which frees up more sockets for all those digital devices that need to be charged up so you can take great selfies by the lake.

For other guests staying, if there is a problem and no-one is at reception we have someone on call 24 hours so it's no problem to ask for help anytime.

Hopefully you don't need it.

Thanks for the great comments, we love it here in Lake Tekapo, it's such a special place and we're even happier all our guests can be cozy and warm this winter. we're here to hep and make your stay as trouble free as possible.

Billy Kerr
Manager - YHA Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent location with lake view from common area.
Few minutes walk to the village centre.
Kitchen is well-organized and equipped but suggest to prohibit some oily cook, it too smelly.
Our room have window that opened into the hallway, but night time we still can have good rest because no much noise from outside. People stayed there are thoughtful ^^~
The only concern for female is the bathroom. It will be great if the number of bathroom can be increase.


Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

the kitchen fully equipped with cooking utensils. and the YHA management is quite thoughtful in a sense that they trying to keep the kitchen smell away but keeping the door between kitchen and bedrooms is closed especially during the meals time when people cooking.
the room is clean
bed is comfortable.
the toilets also very clean just that it will be good if able to increase the number of toilets
2 toilets and 2 shower rooms is not enough when the YHA is fully occupied.
I like the living room where we can spend time to chat and have a wonderful view of lake tekapo.
overall is value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherineaow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Check in for 2 nights stay, have a good sleep there. Good location as it just next to the bus stop. Friendly staff and manager provide good service. Clean and comfortable room.Good option for budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TayTYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Clean with good communal areas and kitchen, bit of a weird urinal smell throughout the hostel when we were there. Mattress was comfortable and linen was clean. The one window in our room (5) opened into the hallway which wasn't ideal, but a giant skylight on the ceiling helped with some natural light.

Good budget option for travellers in Tekapo. Beautiful view!

Room Tip: Room 5 doesn't have a window opening to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backwardblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tailor Made Tekapo Backpackers Hostel
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Lake Tekapo

Property: YHA Lake Tekapo
Address: 3 Simpson Lane, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YHA Lake Tekapo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right on the lakefront with unobstructed views to the mountains beyond, the million-dollar view from the YHA Lake Tekapo backpacker hostel is of the incredible shades of blue of this glacier fed lake in the centre of the South Island of New Zealand. The hostels large lounge area directly overlooks the lake and is a comfortable and cosy retreat. Relax in front of the roaring log fire with the friendly hostel cat on your lap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your YHA Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Tekapo Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing