We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Riverside Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Cottages
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed in unit 1 for 1 night. It was very clean although rather small. The bed is in the kitchen area which we found strange!
There is a nice riverside walk into town & the colour of the water is fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancashirefemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Agree with all positive comments posted and the advice given by Derek and Elizabeth really helped us see highlights not only in Lake Tekapo but also all along our journey afterwards. Very well equipped with everything you could want. Note that the Albertine Cottage, unit 1, does not share the lovely deck featured in the photo.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This location was highly recommended at the tourist office. The location is on quiet street. It is close to the river's edge. There is a nice walking path into town. Derek and Elizabeth were very friendly and highly informative hosts. The units are clean, modern kitchenettes, modern compact bathrooms, comfortable beds and have wifi access. We even were able to do our laundry. The layout was different. The bed is with the kichenette,but still plenty of space. Nice sitting room in the front with books and tv, etc. Nice sunny patio to enjoy your meal.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The units weren't quite what we expected, a real mickey mouse configuration. That was sorted out but we had a problem with the TV. The manager came and sorted it out but critized me for using the remote control incorrectly. He said "Read theBloody instructions". Well the instructions didn't refer to "changing channels". He was also very rude to my wife and very condecending. The fridge made an awful noise and was in the same room as the bed. There was a note stuck to the fridge that said if you don't like the noise then turn the fridge off. Well the fridge was there for a purpose that being keeping our food cool but in the middle of the night we had to turn it off. Perhaps they should get it fixed. All in all it was a disappointing finish to our holiday. And as far as riverside, you had to walk to the edge of the property to see the riverbed which was well below the edge of the property.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoldCoastGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blair
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We would certainly recommend Riverside cottage. the room was spotless and beautifully appointed. the owners were helpful and welcoming. we would certainly stay there again as a first choice if we were travelling in that part of the south island again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmm60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed in unit 1, which was clean & tidy. We found the layout a little odd with the sleeping and kitchen areas in one room but it wasn't really a problem. There is a beautiful out look from the terrace over a pretty garden down to the lake and there was a riverside walk that took us to the town in a few minutes. The cottage is in a quiet location away from the main road and overall very pleasent.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neetwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Country feeling. Relaxing. Hosts very nice. Good choice for families.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottages

Property: Riverside Cottages
Address: 18D Murray Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing