We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romance in the snow”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkbrae Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkbrae Estate
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“romance in the snow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the cottage in 2013 and witnessed the first blanket of snow for the season. Comfy rooms and the open log fire is a hit. Sit next to the roaring fire and watch the snow falling outside or see the local attractions without leaving the warmth of the cottage. Directly across the road is the famous lake, ( the color is out of this world), the church, the mckenzie dog statue and the snow covered mountains. Visit the observatory, a 5 minute drive or take a 30 minute drive and do a scenic helicopter flight over the mountains - well worth it. A very romantic a nd quaint home for a couple or go with friends and enjoy some of the best views in the world all year round. On site parking and helpful and friendly hosts. Do not forget to sample the local salmon- a must. Great for skiers as close to ski fields.

Room Tip: Self contained, comfortable beds. Parking available close to the house. Cottage decorated in old wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Winter at Parkbrae is just celestial! The snow on the ground or mountains just makes it! On a sunny day nothing beats it!!
We are hoping this season to be great! So fingers crossed and hope to welcome you again.
All the best,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    26
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
50
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stay here if you can, in any of their gorgeous options. Kind, helpful proprietors; unique, comfortable accommodations; gorgeous properties, gardens, and views. The only critique is that the wifi was highly unreliable, but this place is so wonderful you shouldn't be wasting your time on the internet anyway. Step outside and soak up the view! We stayed for two nights, but I wish it had been a week or more. The town was lovely from top to bottom,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Delighted you were able to enjoy time out in our gorgeous estate. It's a blessing to be surrounded by gardens which add to the total experience! We are working on strengthening the WIFI system as having such lush gardens although it is just magical it does hinder the signal... Hopefully our technician will come up with a brilliant idea!!
All the best and hope to see you another time!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

WHAT A LOCATION! There is no place with better views of the church - they were even better than I expected. It was such a joy to walk right from our place over to the church and walk along the water. The house is basic (decor a little tired), but has everything you need. Just like it says on the website, "If you like the all-wood interior of a traditional log cabin with unrivalled views of the lake and its iconic shoreline features, this is the cottage for you." My husband and I stayed here in December of 2011. I'd give it a rating of 3.5 if I could.

Room Tip: Church House has best location/view to the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Laura,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your constructive and positive review. You are absolutely right! Church House does have the best views!! We are very lucky to be able to offer this property as part of our estate. Since 2011 we have changed the feel of the place; from sofas, to tables, curtains and duvees. However, it is a cabin decor and atmosphere, so that aspect remains. Hope you can come and visit some time soon.
All the best,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The night that we spent in Garden Cottage at Parkbrae was most definitely the highlight of our holiday with my parents who were over from the UK on their first visit to New Zealand.
On entering the cottage there is a sense of history and quirkiness but with an assurance of cleanliness and the provision of all modern amenities with a touch of luxury. The view onto the lake and the Church of the Good Shepherd was breathtaking,
The folks there were so helpful and welcoming and charmingly trusting. (We were asked to pay when we left the following morning as there was no one available that could operate the card machine).
We will most definitely be back and unreservedly recommend Parkbrae to all fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Garden Cottage was perfectly placed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 323matt_tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Hi Matt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. And apologies for my delay in acknowledging it...
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you all again on your next trip to visit your son in Christchurch - New Zealand.
Hope you have a great summer!
Best wishes to all,
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Parkbrae estate is definitely one of the best places in New Zealand! We decided to have our wedding reception on site and it couldn't have been more perfect. From day one the communication was positive, prompt and enthusiastic. We booked out most of the houses for the lead up and the day after the wedding. Although there was a overbooking of Aldourie house on our first night due to change in the their booking system they looked after us and made sure our stay wasn't disrupted or a negative experience. They were so helpful and accommodating. It was just perfect. The houses all have such wonderful character and quirkiness. They have great kitchen facilities and the bathrooms are perfect. If you're like us - you'll be pleased with the showers as they have great pressure. You can tell they have put a lot of thought and love into the houses and gardens. It is all the small details we appreciated. Pepy the dog is equally as lovely and friendly. It is ridiculously close to the Church of the Good Shepherd with most houses having a stunning view of the lake and church. Everyone who stayed here (which was about 25 people) loved it and said they'd be back. What more can I say?? Stay here if you get a chance - you'll be so happy to did.

Thank you thank you thank you!

Room Tip: Aldourie house is bigger, has wonderful character, rustic and comfortable. The garden is large with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wietidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!! It was just wonderful to be part of your beautiful day!
And how lucky were you with the weather??!! It was all just perfect!
Make sure you come back for a wedding anniversary :-) You could make it a tradition!
We wish you all the happiness you deserve and much more!
All the best for you both.
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Doctor's Retreat for two days. Right from the booking till the time we left Lake Tekapo, the management of Parkbrae Estate was very prompt in service. I had tried booking Garden Cottage but due to some over booking, we were upgraded to Doctor's Retreat for no extra charge. When we reached Parkbrae, though Patricia was on a holiday, someone else had made sure all arrangements were perfect.

As for the Estate, its a beauty and it is surrounded by beautiful gardens and scenery. The cottages are warm and are well equipped to meet all your needs.

Room Tip: Book early as they get sold out quickly during peak season
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khushishahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay as Doctor's Retreat is a beautiful property! I hope you had a great time in New Zealand. make sure you come back.
Al the best for 2014!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This apartment was totally suitable for an overnight stay. Very quiet and peaceful with a spectacular uninterrupted view of the Church of the Good Shepherd. It lacks proper cooking facilities but very well equipped for takeaways, light breakfasts etc.

Very helpful and knowledgeable hosts who persisted with our internet connection on a very windy evening. A great suggestion to go up the hill to the observatory for coffee and possible the best vista of our holiday. Wonderful park like grounds to explore.

We would love the opportunity to stay here again and will certainly recommend Parkbrae accommodation to friends and family coming your way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareJay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Manager at Parkbrae Estate, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such positive comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be wonderful if you could return for a longer stay with your family.
Keep in touch and all the best for 2014!
Patricia Baptista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbrae Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbrae Estate

Property: Parkbrae Estate
Address: Sealy Street, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkbrae Estate is so much more than a stay... it is an experience! Preferred by so many due to its unique style cottages and units (apartments), peaceful surroundings and privileged location! No doubt the spot in Tekapo! Only a stone's throw away from the stunning turquoise lake and a few steps from the Church of Good Shepherd and Collie Dog Statue, Tekapo's best known icons!! When at Parkbrae Estate, wake up to breathtaking scenery or warm up by the fire on a cold winter night... stroll through the gardens with camera in hand soaking up the morning light... sit on the balcony with a book or a glass of the finest NZ wine...wait until the stars come out in the mesmerizing night sky and make a wish... or two... Perfect for romantic getaways, family holidays, weddings, gatherings or just an excuse to treat yourself!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing