We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tekapo Heights
Ranked #3 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our last B & B in NZ did not disappoint. Our room was lovely with luxurious ensuite. Very thoughtful touches cookies and chocs in the fridge. Good breakfast with spectacular views, both our hosts were welcoming and helpful. We wanted to do a helicopter trip of Mt Cooke Steve phoned for us to check availability - a trip not to be missed. Wished we had more than two nights thoroughly recommend. Short walk to the lake and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    26
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
91
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Excellent accommodation with a breakfast room view to die for and really friendly owners. No hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sola_bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Everyone said the good things; I am going to only mention the bad:

1. Our hosts were not that friendly. On arrival Steve just took my reservation paper from my hand - no smiles or greetings like "how are you?" no name, no title, etc. No greetings to my travel partner at all. The same when I departed.

2. Steve did not held the door open, he just stood there do nothing when I entered the gate of the house with my both hands full, I had to put my luggage on the ground then open the door. I believe it was quite rude. The same happened when I departed from this B&B.

3. Most view of the lake from the room was blocked by some ugly building top. Compare with other hotels or B&Bs, this one has the most distance to the lake.

4. To go to the bathroom, or to get water, you have to across the hall. This is quite annoy. The TV is very small (around 15 inch I guess) and not working.

5. There is no breakfast for us, so I have no comments.

6. Everything (wifi password, even milk) you have to ask. To ask you have to across to another side of the house. Read the booklet in the room, there are so many basic things you have to ask if you want to have it. I believe providing service is more important.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reiveratsea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Very clean and friendly without being intrusive. What a great view over lake and mountains and to sit with that view at breakfast makes eating and talking almost an unnecessary intrusion except for the fact that the breakfast is great too!
Only issues are that it is a bit further from restaurants than we thought and we could have done with more pillows but that is being picky and we would have no hesitation in recommending others to feel happy about booking here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiveratsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

My husband, son and I spent two wonderful nights at this beautiful B&B. Lovely, friendly hosts that were welcoming and comfortable to be with. Fantastic room, great ensuite, large bed that provided a great sleep along with the quiet surroundings. Stunning views of the lake while having a delicious breakfast including amazing home-made toast. Very close to town centre also. This is a place I would recommend and wouldn't hesitate to come and stay again. Martin, Angela and Luke - Christchurch

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelacurtain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

I guess I'll mention the good things 1st - the room & bathroom were well equiped, elec blanket, heater, fridge, large bath etc. The breakfast was well cooked, nice china-wear & the house was clean & spacious & pretty. Only a short walk to town centre. Jinny was a little reserved but pleasnat enough once she came out of her shell. The side of Lake Tekapo on our way out of town was stunning. Incredible scenery once you left the town. The main disappointment for us was that the B&B did not seem to be as good as it looked on their web site, nor our hosts that friendly. There was a view of the lake (far away) from our Pegasus room but it was hidden mostly by ugly buildings. The bathroom was across the hall so you had to get dressed & leave the bedroom; not only that but it did not lock on the outside, so we felt uncomfortable about leaving any toiletries in it (eg expensive perfumes, & medicines/personal stuff) & had to cart them in & out every time. On our arrival when Steve met us at the door he just ticked us off on a peice of paper he had in his hand - no smiles or greetings like "how was your journey?" etc. I felt like a patient in a hospital & he a disinterested orderly. There were 5 cats & two of them sneaked in to our bedroom uninvited & sat on the bed on my jacket. Personally I did not mind (they were gorgeous cats) but I know if my friend who is highly allergic to cats had been there she would have freaked out. The little dog tried to get in too through the french windows from the garden. At breaky the milk was like water. In the hpouse the town noise was audible at night.The quality of food in the town's restaurants wasn't that good & the town itself was to us a bit tacky.

Room Tip: None of the rooms truly over looked the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethIrePerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

This was our first night in NZ and WHAT and intro. LOVED the accomodation, location, attractions, food and the hospitality was exceptional. Definately one to go back to.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Property: Tekapo Heights
Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tekapo Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tekapo Heights for superb accommodation offering stunning views of the mountains and Lake Tekapo. We have just refurbished all our guest rooms with tasteful colours and new furnishings for your convenience and a more luxurious experience. Our Super King size beds have been restyled with new bedding and Dream Lodge pillows for your added comfort. Updated technology with new tvs in three of our rooms and internet for all our guests including Netflix/Movies for your leisure and enjoyment. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with spectacular views or step outside and take advantage of our outdoor seating areas or stroll around the garden and take in those breath-taking views of the Lake and Mountains from the deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing