We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern and spacious”
Review of Tekapo Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tekapo Heights
Ranked #3 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This BnB was the a great place for my wife and I to stay before we headed back to Christchurch.

We really enjoyed the beautiful lake and there were several great restaurants and hot pools in the area.

The place itself was very spacious and modern. The bathroom was shared but it also huge. The shower was great.

Our hosts were very nice. Breakfast was nice.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelingOnPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a beautiful little b&b and despite the slight dodgy weather the views of the mountains and lake were stunning! We left in the morning completely relaxed and refreshed.
BEWARE - the owner does have two small dogs.... watch out as they are completely adorable and you will want to take them home with you!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frisbeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I truly enjoyed my 3 days stay with 3 cats and 2 dogs in this beautiful large house. Every room facing the big yard plus stunning mountain view, the room was very clean, neat and modern designed. Its only 10-15 min walking distance to town center where you can see lake Tekapo, Chapel and some real good restaurants. The host was very friendly, I got free ride and useful sightseeing advice during my 3 days stay. I strongly recommend this place to everyone visiting Tekapo, and I will come back again 

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy_Gao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B&B. It sits on a small hill, 10min walk from the centre of the village. If you're lucky, you will get a room with the lake view, but unfortunately all we saw from our window, was a bit of a mountain. On a plus side, our room was on the far end of the building and it had a separate entrance. The room itself was large with a built in wardrobe, TV, small fridge, microwave, basic cutlery and tea/coffee maker and a small heater. **Kitchen facilities are limited, so it's best to eat at one of the restaurants in the village (just make sure you book early cause they get very busy). ** The bathroom was also quite big with a very modern shower cubicle and a funky toilet. Basic toiletries were provided, but were not restocked during our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 1 night in mid october. We loved our stay. The room was large, well furnished with a very comfy bed. We even got robes to wear! The hosts were friendly and helpful, providing us with towels so we could visit the tekapo hot pools, and cooking us a lovely homely hot breakfast in the morning. Bonues were the lovely view from our room, and also the very friendly dogs and cats that sat on our laps while we read outside on the porch eating the complimentary giant cookies they gave us. One of the cats even made a surprise visit to our room in the middle of the night because we had left our window open! Very funny. Even though it wasnt in the centre of town we didnt seem to mind this as it was only a 1min drive down to the restaurants, or about a 10min walk. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very friendly hosts, comfortable room and excellent breakfast!
The Guest House is located on the heights above Lake Tekapo township in a very quiet area and has great views of Lake Tekapo and the Southern Alps!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Friendly and warming hosts who were very prompt with service and gave some great suggestions about Lake Tekapo. The room was gorgeous and elegant. Stunning views looking over the lake and mountains. Yummy breakfast the next morning. Just minutes walk from the village centre with many choices of great food or dinner. Its the perfect little romantic night stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Krystle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
703 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
192 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Heights

Address: 2 Sams Place | PO Box 85, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £166 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tekapo Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tekapo Heights for superb accommodation offering stunning views of the mountains and Lake Tekapo. We have just refurbished all our guest rooms with tasteful colours and new furnishings for your convenience and a more luxurious experience. Our Super King size beds have been restyled with new bedding and Dream Lodge pillows for your added comfort. Updated technology with new tvs in three of our rooms and internet for all our guests including Netflix/Movies for your leisure and enjoyment. Enjoy breakfast in our dining room with spectacular views or step outside and take advantage of our outdoor seating areas or stroll around the garden and take in those breath-taking views of the Lake and Mountains from the deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tekapo Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing