We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very relaxing”
Review of Tekapo Springs

Tekapo Springs
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy outdoor hot pools, ice skating & snow tubing in winter & dare to ride the new 11 metre high - 53 metre long TRIPPO water slide in summer. There is also an artificial summer tube. Enjoy a treatment at the Day Spa or relax in our fully licensed cafe onsite.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 May 2014

we stopped over at lake tekapo on our way back from queenstown to christchurch and stayed the night. the hot springs were a real treat we knew that the waters were mixed and everything that was not so natural but the break was fantastic the price very reasonable and staff really really nice. if you are looking to relax and take a break from the long drive, i highly recommend the hot springs. my friend did not want to get in because of her hair and not a great fan of water but once we got her in, yes we had a hard time getting her out. oh view second to none. those snow topped mountains. just breathtaking.

Thank maryhmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs. We have to agree with you that the view out to Lake Tekapo and the mountains is stunning! It's great to know that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again if you ever have the chance to pass through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 568 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were unlucky being in the area on a day of low cloud and intermittent rain, but even so the spa was a good stop-off. We rented towels and moved between the three pools dodging raindrops or sheltering under the sun (!) awnings. Staff were helpful and we had a post-spa coffee in the cafe and used the wifi. Lots of nice photos from the 1950s of skating on the frozen lake.

Thank LilyScott25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us some great feedback! We agree that Tekapo Springs is a great way to stay warm in the Hot Pools and it's fantastic that you made the most of enjoying our cafe atmosphere and use of the free WiFi.
We look forward to seeing you again if you are Tekapo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This venue is a very good alternative during a less Sunny/ rainy day. There are only 3 pools and de Steamer/ Sauna are very small.

We experienced the Spa as good, however also tiny, in same circumstances we would probably try finding another Spa

Thank Esther1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hi Esther
Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Spring. it's great to hear you enjoyed your time warming up on a cooler day especially as we head into the colder weather. If you are in the Tekapo region again it would be great to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I spent time at Tekapo Springs during April 2014. This is definitely a must do if you visit Lake Tekapo. There are 3 pools all set at different temperatures ranging from 40C - 36C. The pools are set into beautifully landscaped gardens with amazing views of the lake and surrounding mountains. I considered buying time in the steam room and sauna but am glad I didn't...an hour of changing between the 3 pools was enough. Adults are $20 for an all day visit...I thought this was excellent value. A great place to visit. Excellent!

Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Tekapo Springs.
We agree that it's a great spot to sit back and relax and take in the scenery. We hope to see you again next time your in Tekapo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Didn't do pools due to limited time but did have a fantastic bamboo massage at the day spa. Timing spot on and great atmosphere. I am a certified masseuse and am happy to report the masseuse I had work on me, had hand great hands and technique and was very pleasant. I came away feeling exactly how I should, relaxed!

Thank AriTH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RebeccaTekapoSprings, Director of Sales at Tekapo Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our facilities. It's always good to hear from others in the industry and we have passed on your comments to the Day Spa. We pride ourselves in giving our clients the relaxing experience that they deserve -hopefully next time you will have more time to enjoy our fully facilities!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tekapo Springs also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing