We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tekapo Top House

Tekapo Top House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tekapo Top House
Ranked #8 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We thought at first this was rather expensive however it was only $20 more than a room (without breakfast) at the Godley Hotel which was a tip so it must just be that Lake Tepako is more expensive in general than other places. Our room had amazing panaramic views and Anne and Tony were very welcoming, making us feel right at home and helped us book our next accomodation too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Anne and Tony are a very good hostcouple. We felt welcomed from the first minute. We had a varm,funny and intresting breakfast with a spanish couple,some relatives to the hosts and the hostcouple. Than you for beeing so generous.

Room Tip: We sleept in an extra room because the omdanare was ocupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4444Sundsvallsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Everything was done well. The beds were comfortable, the views were stunning, the hosts helpful (but not too overbearing), the facilities were spotless, the house was warm.
The highlight was the breakfast featuring the best Central Otago apricots. We were also surprised at how close the house was to Tekapo, the maps made it look farther away!

Room Tip: They all have good views as the house is on top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sv3nn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
128 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

It's difficult to decide the most memorable part of a stay here - probably a tie for first place between the amazing views and the brilliant hospitality. The house is a ten minute walk from the Lake (uphill but easy) and the bedroom is huge with big windows on three sides giving fantastic views of the mountains. There's tea/coffee making facilities in the room but no fridge - although you are invited to use the one in the kitchen. The breakfast is basic continental but fine. We can't understand why this place is only ranked # 9, the other 8 must be unbelievable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_490416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a wonderful overnight stop at Lake Tekapo on route to Queenstown. Top House B&B is a fantastic place to stay with wonderful hosts, excellent views, comfortable room, good food and all together a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLucyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Anne & Tony are great hosts. Lovely house, nice, warm & clean. We arrived at night so we weren't able to appreciate the view but we made up for it the next morning when we could view the hills & mountains etc. Breakfast was yummy; fruit compote, yogurts & cereals wit tea/ coffee & toast. Couldnt ask for more. If you're looking for a homely atmosphere & great conversation look no further..anne & tony are the people to stay with.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A1observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

My wife and I and our 18mth old son stayed with Tony and Ann in late November. Just a short drive to the centre of town and the lake, we were greeted with the warmest welcome in their most lovely home. A most beautiful view of the mountains from our room was something special and your hosts will go out of their way to make your stay most memorable.
We loved it here and the only regrets were we didnt stay long enough! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikemanSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekapo Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekapo Top House

Property: Tekapo Top House
Address: Andrew Don Dr, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing