We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable! Totally recommend :)”
Review of Lakeview Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Tekapo
Reviewed 21 July 2012

An amazing place, with great views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lakeview Tekapo. The rooms were well equipped, with good kitchen facilities, a comfy bed,and a great star gazing sky light above the bed (Fantastic!) The staff were friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamJohns J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

The quality of accommodation at Lakeview Tekapo was outstanding. The brand new single level suites are of a very high standard and allowed us to maximise the viewing of the night sky through the skylight, and the incredible mountain views from the lounge.
The extras chocolate etc were very well received.
Have already recommended Lakeview Tekapo to friends and family as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The hotel isnt quite what you would expect as it is actually a standard kit home situated in a residential street that has been converted to a hotel. The rooms are on top of each other as you would expect at a b and b. compared to other NZ accommodation it's very overpriced. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Louiselilywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LTOwnerOperator, Owner at Lakeview Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Please disregard and ignore this review.
This person has produced this fraudulent review for reasons known only to them. Our business was closed on the date that this person allegedly stayed. They must have stayed elsewhere or are just ‘having a laugh’.
We have requested Tripadvisor to remove this false review.
Craig & Kay Stinson
Lakeview Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Lakeview Tekapo was a wonderful place to finish our trip. The accommodation was tastefully furnished and extremely spacious with beautiful lounge overlooking the Lake Tekapo in the distance. We woke up to beautiful views in the morning. There were two large televisions- one in the lounge and the other in the bedroom which was a luxury. Other nice touches included binoculars, coffee table books and a cloth to clear ice from the car. The bed was very comfortable and even though the weather was poor, we were able to stargaze through the viewing window. Bathroom was immaculate with toiletries provided. Craig was very helpful and provided us with good information on where to eat in town. Lakeview is not situated directly at the town centre but located in a very peaceful and open area which we preferred.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Lakeview wasn't exactly what we expected. What was described as a well equipped kitchen didnt allow for any food prep and only cooking in a microwave, so we were a little disappointed with that. Also, the rooms are right next to each other and there is no divide between the porch between each room. They are very close. We also were underwhelmed with the viewing window for star gazing. It was small and there were no stars when we were there. Having said this, these were the only negatives and didnt have major impact on our stay. The rooms were new, modern, very clean and comfortable and at a good price point. We loved our time at Tekapo and this was great accommodation, with comfortable bed. It was about 20 minute walk into the heart of town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dazneitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Thanks Craig.

We really ejoyed our stay at Lakeview. The room was exceptionally clean and there was plenty of room. The decor was just lovely and the few extra treats - chocolates and mints - were icing on the cake. The books on the coffee table were also a nice touch. We both enjoyed looking through them.

The only thing I was disappointed in was that there where to do our laundry before heading home. But only a minor hiccup.

I have recommended this accommodation to a friend who is a travel agent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank Pam Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Wow, what a beautiful place with the best views of the magnificent Lake Tekapo there is in town. The accommodation was beautifully appointed and styled with top quality furniture and fittings making us feel very spoilt. This is a great spot well worth stopping at on your way between Queenstown and Christchurch. The owners were very nice and helpful too. The beautiful bathroom is worth mentioning too with a really great shower and the skylight over the bed to watch the stars at night was a real treat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizannePerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
689 reviews
1 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Tekapo

Address: 6 Lochinver Avenue | PO Box 204, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £147 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeview Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Tekapo has been designed and purpose-built in 2010 with our guests' comfort in mind. We are situated just a short walk from the lakefront, Lake Tekapo Regional Park and Lake Tekapo’s famous Church of the Good Shepherd. Each of our luxury self-contained suites enjoys absolute and uninterrupted views of Lake Tekapo, the Southern Alps and the lake’s surrounding mountain ranges. One of the best scenic vistas in Lake Tekapo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeview Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing