We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but not inexpensive stay”
Review of Creel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creel House
Ranked #4 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient but not inexpensive stay”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Of the 28 B&Bs we stayed with in NZ this turned out to be the most expensive and therefore the least value for money. The hosts were reasonably hospitable and the breakfast was ok. The accommodation was slightly dated but convenient.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sparke_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

You can be sure of a warm welcome from Rosemary if you stay in her home at Creel House.
We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Lake Teakapo area during our recent tour of South Island and had the front room at the top of the house. The view of Lake Tekapo from the bedroom window was superb and with access to the balcony we were able to also fully enjoy the clear night sky after dark. Situated just a short walk from the town centre the house is ideally located for walking to local restaurants. There was a wide choice of breakfast fayre including delicious home made croissants and cakes. No hesitation in recommending this to others.

Room Tip: The front room at the top of the house has a balcony and fantastic views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemaryneeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you Sue. Pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Have a lovely Christmas and a happy New Year. Best Wishes - Rosemary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Mary was very nice and welcoming, and her breakfast was expansive and delicious. The home is a little older for the price, but the location and views were good. We would stay here again if it was a little less expensive. The Lake Tekapo area was great, and the little town was within an easy walk of Creel House.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennyoswalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We have just spent two days at Creel House. Rosemary made us very welcome and opened her home for our use. Our room was very clean and comfortable with tea and coffee fascilities
available. The view from the balcony was amazing as the colour of the lake changed all the time, so it was fascinating to watch. Creel house has a very relaxed atmosphere which we really enjoyed. There is a TV , books and a music system if you want to use it. We were there two days and did lots but came away feeling as though we had been for longer.

Our breakfast was set in the lounge /dining room and offered plenty choice. We had continental and always had plenty and more.

Rosemary has a good knowledge of the area and will give you plenty of help if you ask. She also has some laundry facilities which we found really useful. Thank you for a brilliant two days.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the balcony which looked out to the lake. It has its own shower room which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed one night in the Creel House, and while the rooms were clean and the location excellent, the breakfast was so-so (except for the excellent stewed plums). It was expensive compared to other places we stayed in our trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
201 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The room is nice with a lovely view on Lake Tekapo. The bed is small. And there is no TV in the room. The hosts expect that guests use the TV that is located in the(ir) living room. This lack of privacy is also reflected in other aspects. There is no lock on the room and the bathroom is outside the room across the stairway. Due to a low water pressure the shower does not function well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemaryneeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Greetings NC0205
In response to your comments, the bed is a standard NZ queen size bed and I’m sorry that we do not have tv’s in the guest bedrooms. From time to time we survey guests about this and the response has been surprisingly as a preference that a tv in the bedroom is not a prerequisite, but have noted your comment. The tv is in the guest lounge which is a communal area for all guests to use and so those that like to watch tv can do so there or read etc. or be social. A tv in the bedroom would be more practical for those who do not want to socialise with others as we do not offer a private tv lounge. We have asked the mobile locksmith to come and place doorlocks on the bedroom doors. Living in a very small rural village, and a quiet back street with a pine forest at the back of us we haven’t felt the necessity to have door locks on guest bedrooms as is typical with country kiwi culture, but I hope this will appease any concerns that readers may have. Each room will have an individual key. The house is always locked at night and locked when I go to the village shop as a matter of practise and commonsense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Rosemary was the perfect host....available to give advice and answer questions, but not intrusive. The B&B is lovely! big room, comfortably furnished, great location at top of hill overlooking the lake. FABULOUS breakfast with home-baked muffins and croissants. We were so glad we drove up the hill and stumbled on it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary-neeDoig, Owner at Creel House, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your positive comments! Much appreciated, and it was nice that you took the time to do so. Hope you enjoyed the rest of NZ as much as enjoyed Tekapo! These ladies did a 13km walk - Richmond trail - a popular hike but better for a cooler day and am embarrassed to say 'I haven't done it yet!' its a newer trail but will make the time over winter!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel House

Property: Creel House
Address: 36 Murray Place, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Creel House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel House is located in the village of Lake Tekapo and is an excellent base for exploring the Tekapo and the Mt Cook region. Your hosts, Rosemary & Grant invite you to stay in their three storied home built by Grant in the style of a Norwegian chalet. All rooms are spacious and comfortable with three guest bedrooms, two doubles (queen beds) with private bathrooms, and twin room with two single beds and ensuite. The accommodation is on the middle and upper floor with guest entrance and lounge. A continental breakfast is served with homemade and seasonal produce. Lake Tekapo is situated halfway between Christchurch and Queenstown, and only 75 minutes from Mt. Cook. It is also close to Roundhill, and Mt Dobson skifields for winter skiing and pursuits. The lake is known for its incredibly turquoise blue glacial waters and the historic Church of the Good Shepherd which sits on the foreshore. Local walks start nearby. Creel House is a 12 minute walk to the restaurants and shops, or five minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing