We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Tekapo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had flown in from an overnight flight from Singapore to start a 2 week holiday in NZ South Island. This was our first night and the night of our 10 wedding anniversary. We expected, for the price, a lush room and stay and thats exactly what we got. The hosts (Stephanie and Alistair) were amazing. We headed over the road to McKenzies pub for a lovely hot stone steak. We were treated to a special breakfast the morning we left (thank you so much!). We loved the wine recommendations and the tips on where to go. Lake Tekapo is stunning....as is Lake Pukaki nearby. We next stayed in Burnt Cottages near Cromwell which was also fantastic. Stephanie - even after trying all the sav blancs Kuru Kuru is still my favourite ! Wonderful place, wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: The last one on the end !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi Kay! Thrilled you had a great anniversary holiday and that Cromwell was good to you! I especially enjoy talking about NZ wine having spent most of my career in the NZ wine scene. Any excuse to show off our amazing producers. The Kurukuru pinot is also excellent - have passed on to the owner to export to Singapore - got at least one good customer!!? Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
140
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a 1 night stay at Lake Tekapo Lodge for our honeymoon. Our hosts Alistair and Stephanie were very welcoming and made us feel totally at home. The carpeted walkway and room gave a very cozy feel to the whole place. Makes you wanna enjoy the stay more than heading out to take some pictures.There is a common area (lounge) where we had wine, chocolates and watched Lord of the Rings from the selection of DVDs there. What a lovely way to chill out before star gazing at night. Steph made sure that we were well taken care of all the time, and her husband is such a good cook! Breadfast was superb, and the fine spread we had made us feel energized for the day. Of all places we stayed throughout the 3 weeks we spent in New Zealand, we had very enjoyable stays but Lake Tekapo Lodge's experience takes the cake. Such warmth hospitality! We will definitely be coming back again. Till then!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms to choose from and each has a different deco furnish. All beautifully done up, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi there my darling honeymooners! It was so sweet to see you snuggled up on the couch watching LOTR with the obligatory pinot noir and Whittakers chocolates... Hope you recognised places from the movies as you travelled south? Many thanks for the lovely review - come again. Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Stayed in lake tekapo lodge overnight, overall a very beautiful town and the lodge had amazing art decor and view of the lake.

Wished we had more than one night to relax , watch the stars, and enjoy the bedroom with a view more!

Besides a good warm breakfast (Alistair makes a mean omlette), the hosts looked after the details (good bathroom amenities, lounge room with good book/beverage selection etc).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdatedmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi there! Many thanks for the lovely view although the lake and view certainly makes our job easy....
I hope you will come back and stay again but for longer so you can enjoy the gorgeous room! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent four days there last week. When you are sad to be leaving, you know you stayed at a great place. It was beautifully decorated, great and interesting art. Phenomenal view of Lake Tepako. But most importantly, wonderful hosts. They made us feel relaxed and were great company. Also, they made breakfast and dinner with other guests a pleasure. And the food and wine! We can't say enough about the beautifully prepared and great tasting meals. We would definitely return and recommend highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks Alison - we enjoyed your company too! We are so fortunate to have gorgeous guests which makes meal times a pleasure...
Would love to see you both again - still more fishing to be done Tony!
Enjoy Manapouri and the rest of your holiday, Stephanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We loved our stay at Lake Tekapo Lodge! The lodge has just been renovated and is lovely. The owner has local art throughout the whole lodge, and the rooms are beautifully furnished. Stephanie and Alistair (the owners) did everything possible to make our stay great. They had bikes ready for us, provided us maps of the area, and provided lots of perspective on the lake. The lodge also has a lovely common room that is great for relaxing. Stephanie included chocolates, coffee, and drinks which was really nice. We were also really fortunate that Stephanie and Alistair were offering a dinner option the night we were there. The dinner was outstanding - local lamb and salmon! (Be sure to contact Stephanie in advance if you are interested in dinner to see Stephanie/Alistair are available.) The breakfast was also fantastic!
Finally, you will love the views from the lodge. It's beautiful!

We loved our stay at Lake Tekapo Lodge and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RP728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Well hello there my "round the world" friends. High praise indeed from such internationalists and gourmands! Many thanks for your kind words and pleased we were able to offer dinner to you. All the best, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night on Christmas from Tokyo. The lodge has a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. The hosts were very friendly. We had a best quality dinner with wine in the lodge. I have spent 3 months with working in Tekapo. I didnt realize such a good place to chill out. We really enjoyed staying here and playing with a dog. We look forward to staying at the lodge again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for your review TokyoCarter, especially after so long but sounds as if Tekapo has impressed you? We would love to host you again, arigato gozaimasu...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morayfield, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Friends had recommended that we stay here, and we've made a point of thanking them. Having travelled a great deal, we can honestly say that this was the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The beds are incredibly comfortable, the rooms are luxurious, the bathrooms the last word in luxury and the views are spectacular. Alistair and Stephanie were so welcoming we felt as if we were having a lovely family visit. The food deserves several paragraphs on its own - it was amazing. To finish it all off, we had snow overnight, which added a touch of magic to an already wonderful experience. We're already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Every room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59BevS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Word of mouth is always the best referral so thanks to your friends for the recommendation! We did well with the snow - not too much to disrupt travel but enough to offer you Queenslanders a different experience... Thanks for the editing assistance and look forward to the return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Lodge

Property: Lake Tekapo Lodge
Address: 24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is under new ownership from 1 September 2012. Lodge has been upgraded and redecorated with emphasis on NZ food, wine, art.Lake Tekapo Lodge has three stunning lake and mountain view super king ensuite guests rooms. Chef hosts can provide dinner by prior arrangement highlighting premium local fare and NZ wines. A private guest lounge/library and an eclectic NZ contemporary art collection. Located adjacent to the village with easy access to activities and restaurants. On-site warm friendly & experienced hosts ensuring you have the best experience in our magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Tekapo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Luxury Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing