We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Disappointed”

Tekapo Helicopters - Tours
Ranked #9 of 18 things to do in Lake Tekapo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the most breathtaking way to see the southern alps, including Mt Cook,Fox and Franz Josef glaciers with one of Tekapo Helicopters Scenic flights. All flights include a landing!
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We arranged a trip with to do the 50 minute helicopter ride over franz josef, fox glacier and mount cook with a landing. It was booked sometime before our trip for 27th February at 10 am - this was the trip of a life time for us and this was an integral part of our two weeks in New Zealand. We were arriving in Tekapo on 26th so just called into the office to confirm that we had arrived. We were surprised and extremely disappointed to be told that there had been no more bookings they did not have a helicopter for 10am the following day and even if they did it would cost too much money - they might get someone off the street and to try turning up at 12 the next day. We were absolutely gutted we only had two weeks in New Zealand and we had planned the trip extremely carefully they confirmed that the trip was on in an email and only said that bad weather would mean the trip would be cancelled not lack of people. Rather than not do a trip at all we called into another company a few down and they took us on a trip that afternoon - it was great but I had always dreamt of landing in the snow and they only used fixed wing aircraft so unable to land.

I have never done a bad review before but just felt so let down.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank 79Bon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb W, Manager at Tekapo Helicopters - Tours, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi there,
Sorry to hear about your disappointment for the flight on the 27th of February.
We could not fly to one of our helicopters been away on scheduled maintenance and the second helicopter having unscheduled maintenance so it was out of operation for the day due to this.
It was a matter that had to be dealt with as it had just come up. And we would like to know that we are flying the helicopters in the safest possible maintenance schedule to keep our customers safe. Safety is our main priority and will always come first.
Sorry if this inconvenienced you but it was in the only way.
I am glad you got to go on your flight with someone else at least
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“perfect view”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It's our second time to try the Tekapo Helicopter.
last time is 4 years ago,the manage not change,still is Deb.
the take off plat changed, but the Mt Cook view and the snow landing is still the same.

we booked 3 adults and 2 kids to take the flight,but the day before we arrive Tekapo, 1 adult and 1 kid feels not very well, just because of the long time driving. the Lady in the office friendly cancel the 2 seats for us,and show us the way drive to the departure ground.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Had a great time, amazing flight, very friendly staff . We had tried several times to do this flight over the glaziers and Mt Cook, but have always been let down with the weather. We were obviously ment to fly with the brilliant company a once in a lifetime experience. Judith.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb W, Manager at Tekapo Helicopters - Tours, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
thanks for the great comments and great to hear that everyone has throughly enjoyed the flights. it is always a pleaseure flying great people that really appreciate the area that we operate in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Flight”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a great flight the other day, thankfully the weather was kind and we saw both Glaciers and Mt Cook.
The Pilot was great telling us all the info about the area as we flew over.
He told us it was like flying on a magic carpet and he was right.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tekapo Helicopters - Tours also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Tekapo Helicopters - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing