We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired smelly and dirty”
Review of The Godley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Godley Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired smelly and dirty”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The shower and Lino are peeling . Toilet seat misfitting and old . The bathroom sink is cracked the bedcovers are stained and the carpet is filthy. Probably don't need to say anything else. $125 for a double Room comprising of double bed and two singles. Small TV 16 inch. Fridge Unsafe- plugged into wall externally with double plug . Whole unit old and tired . We left for dinner externally and notice re non-smoking was left on our bed whilst we were out. Not happy that our unit had been entered in our absence.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fraserunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    67
    117
    115
    174
See reviews for
89
259
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived in Lake Tekapo in the late afternoon and difficulty in securing a bed.The Godley Resort Hotel was one of the few places with an available room.Accommodation seems to be in several blocks around the property.
Our Lake View Room [406] was $145nz. for the night and was in poor condition: the carpet grubby and almost worn through. The Light in bathroom did not work nor did the door stay closed. There is a general air of tiredness to the room with dust on the lampshades,scratched and chipped paint on doors and a cracked tile on bath hob. Staff were helpful at check in, view over the Lake impressive from the small "porch," but this is an ordinary establishment.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a view - the rooms in the block closest to the road have none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pasc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I didn't stay at the Godley Hotel but I have had the opportunity to eat in their restaurant twice.The last time I ate there was two days ago. I went there for dinner and the food was absolutely delicious. I ordered the roast of the day, which was lamb. Along with the really tender lamb cutlets, came roast potatoes, roast kumara potatoes, cauliflower, green beans and carrots, all coated in a savoury meat gravy. I cleaned the plate. To accompany the meal I asked for a Pinot Gris wine and the one the waiter recommended was perfect for me. Even though it was fairly quiet, with not many guests dining there that evening, I would certainly go back for the food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week and although the room was very comfortable - we encountered two issues during our stay.

1. We checked into our room and when returned from walking around the town, two gentle men were in our room and our stuff was messed up. Cause: we were double booked. Later we had to check into another room.

2. As the hotel didn't come with breakfast, we decided to buy yoghurt, bread milk, salad cream etc.... (Total came to 30 dollars) for breakfast next morning. We put the food into the fridge but next morning all the food was frozen as someone had decided to crank down the temperature. Result - most of food needed to be disposed of. When we quietly complained to the reception staff that morning she said "ahh that will fine later" I found this comment very inappropriate as now we had to go buy breakfast else where and we had bought the first set of food for breakfast. Not for lunch. This place is a good place to stay if don't you care about quality just quantity - our room had four beds, we only needed one. We could have rented out the other three.

sayaka.rtw.paul@gmail.com

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is definitely the worst place we have stayed whilst travelling around NZ. At best it needs a complete refurb or better still - demolishing! I have seen Army Barracks that look more inviting. Shabby accommodation, a radio that didn't work, a TV remote that didn't work and a grotty bathroom. In an apartment which faced the busy road, with no views of the stunningly beautiful Lake Tekapo, the only way to obtain ANY privacy was to pull the curtains at both the back and front and sit in complete darkness!

Couldn't wait to leave!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

When i arrived i walked in sat on the bed and cried thought what have i got myself in to. The pictures of the rooms advertised on their website did not match the room we were put in. Yes the sheets we clean but as they were making them they left bits of dark curly hair behind. The duvets were so old and used i could only sleep with a sheet. It was a roof over our head but still wasn't worth $125 a night iv stay in hostels better than this place. Time they updated the bloody place its so outdated.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k8foster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson City, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

rooms was clean and tidy and linen spotless and obviously from good laundry. but building and room tired, carpet worn, one chair only that is upright, uncomfortable and worn.lake view but no where to sit and relax and enjoy it and from the bed you don't see it. open veranda runs along only window which is a sliding door but there is no privacy curtain and other walk past os if you want privacy you must close curtain so no view or light. for less dollars i stayed in superb motel in cromwell.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamarilloinnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.3 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Godley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Godley Hotel

Property: The Godley Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Godley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the lake, overlooking the lake and surrounding mountains, the Godley Hotel offers comfortable and clean rooms in a beautiful and central location. It is a country style hotel with friendly staff and great service. Just 1.5 hours driving time from Aoraki Mt Cook National Park and 3 hours from Christchurch and Queenstown, the hotel is also only 40 minutes' drive from local skifields. The Church of Good Shepherd, the Sheepdog Statue, and all the restaurants and bars are within walking distance. Just a short distance away you can also find our beautiful tracks and walkways, world-class skiing, horse trekking, as well as the Tekapo Springs where you can enjoy an earth-fed natural hot spring bath and Mt John Observatory where you can view the galaxy of stars. With the wide range of outdoor activities available in Lake Tekapo, the convenience of the Godley Hotel makes it a great choice for the region. The hotel has a large restaurant and cosy bar with great Food and Beverage menu for you to choose, the hotel also offers indoor spa pool, outdoor swimming pool and a pool table for you to enjoy. A warm welcome from all of us at the Godley Hotel and we hope you enjoy your visit in the beautiful Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Godley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Godley Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing