We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break in a wonderful environment”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Chalet is a beautiful maintained, warm and welcoming home from home but with lots of special additional touches. Located close to all local amenities and attractions this was the perfect place for my short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathypantling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place is simply wonderful. Utterly charming and educated Swiss hosts, impeccably-appointed rooms/apartments and views over the Lake that are unbelievable. Every conceivable mod con including Sky and unlimited wifi. 30-45 mins from Roundhill skiing area. From about £100/night.

Room Tip: Ask for room(s) with a view over the Lake. No swimming pool - you would not expect one, but there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocketlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Chalet in 2001 and had such a wonderful time that we deliberately rerouted our recent South Island trip to make sure we get to stay here again. This time with the 3 generations of the family.
As there were 5 of us, we were offered the 2 bedroom chalet right in front of the property, overlooking the stunning view of Lake Tekapo. The chalet is very spacious, clean, warm, and very homey. Our hosts Zita and Walter had done fabulous jobs to make it feel so much like home away from home.
Walter was very very helpful with great tips of the area - from restaurants where we can find the freshest salmon, places for night sky photography, to ski school for our young kids. Added extra touches like the wood fireplace and train track and blocks for the kids (plus extra mat to keep them warm while playing on the floor) just made us love this place more and more.
Highly recommended and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

this motel is on a lake, about 200m from attraction 'house of the good shepard'. The accom is about 1km to town centre. The hosts were nice, gave us good info and recomendations for the area. The room was clean, warm and had cooking utensils. Shower was great. They had clown dolls in the room which was a bit weird.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holla56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed two nights at The Chalet and found it too short a stay. Upon leaving, I knew I was going to miss the beautiful place and the lovely host, Zita as well. I think that's a very clear sign of how lovely and hospitable Zita is. She's our favourite out of several hosts we stayed with during our trip.

When we arrived, Zita picked us up and immediately, we took a liking to this bubbly lady. She was very warm and endearing and later, as I came to find out, she had helped to arrange for a bouquet of flowers to be delivered (in winter!) and placed it in our room at my fiance's request. She was very happy for us and I am also equally glad my fiance has chosen such a beautiful location (both Lake Tekapo and The Chalet) to propose to me.

We were upgraded to unit 3 which was very clean and kept very warm with the air conditioner and radiator. Laundry could also be done at no extra charge which was a great thing for us! The location was also a great boon. Step out of The Chalet and you see the turquoise lake immediately. Just slightly further down the road is the Church of the Good Shepherd which made photo taking very easy both during sunrise and at night. Thanks to Zita's great recommendation, we also managed to explore a hill nearby that rewarded us with beautiful views.

Thanks a million to Zita for making our stay so memorable and wonderful. We will be bringing our kids to The Chalet in the future as we had agreed. ;)

Room Tip: Unit 3 is right above the laundry room. Looks like a treehouse to us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinglebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Chalet motel has the best views in Lake Tekapo! When you open the curtains in the morning you see this wonderful view down the lake and if the mountains are covered in snow, it is even more special. We have stayed at the Chalet for a week at a time in June every year for the last 10 years. Zita and Walter have been wonderful hosts and units are spotlessly clean and tidy and a pleasure to stay at. Units 1, 2, the two bedroom apartment and the Henkel Hut have the best view, but the others are great in a different way. People ask what do you do for a week at Lake Tekapo? There is plenty to do and see: a flight over Mt Cook and the glaciers, day trip with Walter up the back country, coffee at the top of Mount John (walk up takes and hour if you are energetic), day trip to Mt Cook, Lake Alexandrina is so peaceful etc, etc. We are never bored and a night trip to Mt John to see the stars will amaze you. If you are going to travel in the South Island the Mackenzie Country it is a must and stay a couple of nights in Tekapo, you won't be disappointed!
Gary Whiteside, Christchurch, New Zealand.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Chalet during easter holiday. It's a family trip with my parents, so lots research work had been done beforehand to ensure we can get a perfect holiday. I'm so glad I made the decision to choose The Chalet, and extend the stay from 1 night to 2 nights! The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The location is perfect, right on the lake and a very short walk from the church and restaurants. Great thanks to Zita, the owner, who could not have been more helpful: helped to post our forgotten folded knift (which is a souvenir from our Switzerland trip) back to China!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
0.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
182 reviews
18.2 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £82 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing