We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalet Boutique Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We needed a place to stay for one night that was near the lake but not in the middle of everyone. This was the place. Lake views, was able to walk to lake and star gaze at night. Walking distance to Good Shepard Church. Rooms clean and everything in kitchen to make ourselves a nice dinner and breakfast. Walter the host let us use the laundry facilities which helped after spending 2 weeks traveling in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayBronxAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    24
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
189
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We booked two nights at the chalet and loved it all. They had no problem with accommodating a baby and produced a cot and high chair with no problem. They even adjusted the timing of some work on the balcony to fit in with his sleep. They booked dinner for us at the wonderful Japanese restaurant by the lake even though we arrived quite late. The view was to die for and the apartment was tasteful, clean and really well equipped. It has a lovely calm atmosphere and is a wonderful place to stay. Book early to avoid disappointment and stay as long as you can.

Room Tip: Our apartment had view of the lake which was a real binus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janekdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My original plan was to stay for 4 nights in The Chalet. However, the place took my breath away that after I left for 2 days, I missed it so much that I cancelled all other plans and went back for another 5 nights.

Such friendliness from Zita and Judith was totally unexpected. And it is not just a motel, it felt more like home in where I stayed (Unit 1). I will definitely be back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Allucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Clean, warm, quiet, welcoming unit with view of lake and mountains. More like a rented home than a motel. Wonderful super king bed. Very helpful staff. Highly recommended - we will stay here again next time we visit.

Room Tip: Unit 6 is studio upstairs and has a view of lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Chalet is a beautiful maintained, warm and welcoming home from home but with lots of special additional touches. Located close to all local amenities and attractions this was the perfect place for my short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathypantling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed in unit 1 with husband and daughter. Warm welcome from Judith. Delighted with the lakefront, mountain view from the unit. Spacious bedroom with kingsize bed, and mezzanine lounge with sofa bed - plenty of room for 3. The owners have been there for 20 or 30 years, but were as welcoming as if we were their first guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nijamape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This place is simply wonderful. Utterly charming and educated Swiss hosts, impeccably-appointed rooms/apartments and views over the Lake that are unbelievable. Every conceivable mod con including Sky and unlimited wifi. 30-45 mins from Roundhill skiing area. From about £100/night.

Room Tip: Ask for room(s) with a view over the Lake. No swimming pool - you would not expect one, but there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocketlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Property: The Chalet Boutique Motel
Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing