We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful place on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Tomball, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Most beautiful place on earth!”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The room was pleasant and clean. The view from the room was a bit disappointing, as it was hard to see the lake. But the location was ideal, and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    254
    56
    6
    8
See reviews for
211
325
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Our party of 6 stayed in 2 upstairs rooms for just one night. We had considered staying in other more well-appointed hotels in Lake Tekapo, but finally settled on Scenic Resort as it was smack in the middle of the centre of town.

We were greeted warmly upon arrival by the owner, who showed us to our rooms immediately. The rooms were as advertised - carpet tiling, one double bed, prefabricated bathroom fittings with plenty of plastic flooring. However, the lake views from the little balcony are breathtaking, which more than compensated for the room..!

Out of all the places we visited during our tour of South Island, Lake Tekapo was easily the windiest and coldest of them all. That night, there were strong winds whipping across the Lake. As the sliding doors leading to the balcony were not sealed well, the wind whooshed through the whole night, whipping around the curtains. It made for a chilly and we didn't have a great sleep as a result.

If you're just staying for a night, this is a great and convenient location, near shops and the stargazing pickup point. However, if you're staying for any longer, you may want to check out the numerous other options in this very small town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great nights stay had a great weekend with family lots of great weather and food was had.Lots of photos were taken nice people and service

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Good motel with nice large rooms, nenar a range of good restaurants

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This is one of those places you wish you could spend more time. The view from the room was sensational. The service was great and the restaurant provided for breakfast was equally as good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Love this hotel, the lake views was fantastic. Would not mind staying longer if I got the time.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noriza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This hotel really was a very pleasant surprise. Located smack bang in the centre of town and with a view of the lake to die for. It looks a bit shabby on the outside but inside the rooms are really nice. Looks like they have been renovated not long ago and although not 'glam' they are nice, very clean, have heaters, comfy beds and even a toaster and crockery so you can make your own breakfast. We were upstairs in a room facing the lake which had a little balcony so come 5 o'clock you could sit there and drink in the amazing view along with a glass of wine. Literally up their driveway you were on the main street and can walk to eateries so very handy. One quirky little addition, they have their own mini golf course, go figure...?? and this definitely was the highlight for my 8 year old son.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake,preferably upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girly35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing