We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
£102
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Mercmaster
London, United Kingdom
Superb motel, breathtaking location......
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jan 2013
Drove to lake tekapo, New Zealand to visit the local observatory and planned on sleeping in my car for the night,(roughing it). Found this lovely motel, overlooking the lake. They had one room left for a solo traveller so, I took it, thinking, oh well, it's got be more comfortable than the car and being a studio, didn't expect much? Well!! The room was as comfortable and well equipped as any 4/5star hotel I had stayed in, it was fabulously comfortable, with every amenity, drinks fridge, snacks and free wifi!!!!! Flat screen tv, direct dial telephone, local area information packs, snazzy bedside lamps and a fantastic en-suite. I had the best nights sleep I've had in some time, the bed was very, very, comfortable!!
The motel was very central to bars and eateries, literally seconds away, it was fantastic! The staff member/manager was lovely and very helpful. The view was to die for, worth the price of the room alone and with so many activities available, including, the mt John observatory for the scientifically minded, you are spoilt for choice!

The location is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

If you ever go to lake tekapo, this is the one, I can't praise it enough!
Date of stay: January 2013
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£265
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
£194
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£157
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Nearby church attraction
Tripadvisor
£152
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£148
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £194
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £215
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
391
307
83
15
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
391
307
83
15
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath upstairs room central location studio unit mt john would stay again dark sky stunning views stayed here for one night church lake tekapo supermarket queenstown microwave hosts winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Great place. To die for view. Great service. The hosts went out of their way to be helpful. I will stay again and do tell my friends. Thank you for a great stay. Clean. Quite. Helpful. What more can i say

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyO952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel only for one night with two close friends, the hotel was well kept and the location was truly spectacular, bar none the best view in New Zealand to wake up to, Lake Tekapo in the morning sun is worth the hotel price alone, if you go anywere in New Zealand go to this hotel just for the View....

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 912Phippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2013

its a fair motel room, nothing special and luxurious, but it is located by the lake. you have beautiful views of the lake in the morning and sundown as well as stars at night. a good stop to the mount cook area. be aware of sandflies at night

Room tip: free parking, second floor rooms have better views
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J366ASkevinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2012

In Dec 2011, we stayed in this resort, it didn't disappoint.

This December, I brought my family along and booked 2 rooms; Studio and Family unit. These 2 units are located in different blocks. Communication was made easy by using their inter-room phones.

My family members fell in love with their rooms. Parents got the studio unit and they were pleasantly amazed by the picturesque view of Lake Tekapo. Simple and facilities were all provided for. Family unit has cooking facilities so the others came to my unit for some supper.

The 4square supermarket down the road is well-equipped for simple meals.

Even though we went during Summer, it was cold. Say 13-18 degree celsius.

Don attended to us this time round and he was lovely. Utmost caring of all the lodging hosts that I have met.

Definitely would love to go back again.

Room tip: 2nd level units are the best.
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilngern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We managed to get a last minute cancellation after deciding to head back to Christchurch via Lake Tekapo upon the recommendation of a friend and wow, we were not disappointed. After two weeks of touring around the South Island, I thought I had seen all the breathtaking sights but here was another. We were given a family room for three adults which overlooked the lake and paid NZ$182. It was on the first floor and was very clean and comfortable, just what we wanted. The proprietor was very friendly and helpful and pointed out places of interest such as the little church on the edge of the lake and the drive up to the summit of Mount John. I will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews