We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mt Dobson Motel(Fairlie)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aorangi Motel(Fairlie)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lakes Motel(Twizel)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveller rating
367
274
62
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
274
62
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsupstairs studiothe penthousefamily unitspa bathmiddle of townview from the balconyfirst floorthe ground floorrestaurants and shopssofa bedwalking distanceamazing viewswould definitely stay here againsouth islandmt johnfree wifinew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This accommodation is way overpriced for the units offered....the view is spectacular, and that is what you are paying for.

Is it a motel? Is it a hotel? We thought it was a motel but our unit had no sink. There was a plastic bucket so we can only assume you are meant to fill the bucket from the bathroom, take it out to the bench and do your dishes there. Or maybe you should do your dishes in the bathroom? There was a microwave but no hob. No chairs - you had to sit on the bed. No table, other than a coffee table.

As another reviewer has said the owners aren't worried because the place is always full.

Way overpriced for the quality of the accommodation, you really are paying for the view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lake Tekapo.
I regret that your studio unit was not what you expected. The description on our website states tea-making facilities and refrigerator, and the images show the unit’s facilities and furnishings. We will review our description to assist with room selection, as we also have family units with kitchenettes. We would be happy to consider any suggestions you may have to improve this. As most of our guests stay for one night only and our staff wash dishes during a room service for the occasional 2 night stay, most guests find our facilities satisfactory. I hope you enjoyed the excellent restaurant and café options which our central location gives us easy walking access to.
The cost of our rooms is very competitive in Lake Tekapo, and other very busy tourist locations with high guest turnover, and our rates are clearly shown or stated during the booking process. I am always concerned if guests are not happy with their stay, and regard dis-satisfaction as a personal failure on my part. We will try to describe our facilities more clearly.
I hope you otherwise enjoyed your visit to Lake Tekapo, and hope we can host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from Scenic Resort and found the accommodation to be more than i expected. We stayed in Apartment 4 and the view was stunning. (if you look at the professional picture advertising the resort it is bottom corner apartment.) There is free guest parking available right outside the room and the apartment had everything that we needed for our stay. Kitchen area (with fridge, hob, microwave, utensils etc), bathroom and two bedrooms - with very comfy beds. (A bit strange to find the TV in the 2 single bedroom - it would have been better in the living area!! But this didn't bother us as we were too busy looking at the stunning views!) Very helpful staff, and apartments within walking distance of numerous restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 - best views of the lake, mountains and church.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room is small and very basic but the view made up for it all!!! And the price is very reasonable too. We stayed in winter, so the balcony is always wet and it has to be closed all the time and we could not get out sit on the balcony as much because it is too cold, but at other times I imagine it would be great. It is still great though, just the balcony not too usable in winter. The host is friendly. We have utensils in our room so we can use that. There are many restaurants and shops just behind the resort. It is that convenient. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have booked the upstairs unit in advance even without been able to see many pictures .We stayed at unit 3 in April . The lady who was at the reception was not happy when we asked to take a look at the apartment . She noticed that there were no chairs at our balcony and didn't do anything .The apartment is smaller than we thought and the first thing we saw was a stain on the bedspread . We think the apartment needs a renovation and more care . We think the owners are not worried about it because the hotel is always full . The views are relative because what you see is the car parking that is always very busy and you don't have any privacy .You can't open the curtains .When you open the door to go out you can see the back of a restaurant that is very ugly . The only thing that is really good is the location .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Lake Tekapo, although I am unsure if it was our property that you were staying at. We always show our guests to their rooms, and if they are not what is required, will endeavour to find more suitable accommodation. The folding canvas chairs we have for our balconies are stored in a cupboard inside the rooms. Yes, our family units are not large, and we do not have a lot of images on our website, however we have a significant refurbishment planned for June this year, and will post more images of the rooms when completed. If there was any staining on our furnishings, we certainly apologize for this over-sight, as we launder these regularly, and have spare bedspreads as replacements.
We certainly are concerned if our guests are not satisfied, as we work hard to provide good service and facilities. Being very busy sometimes causes over-sights, which leave us feeling that we have let-down our guests for which we apologize. However I do hope that you enjoyed Lake Tekapo, and that we may have the opportunity to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The accommodation we initially wanted was full and referred us to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort. We were lucky they did! The resort provides good value. Clean rooms, fantastic location, great views and friendly service. On check in we were given great advice for what to do in the area. The room itself was typical of a NZ motel. Small kitchenette, table with chairs for four, bedroom with queen bed and a small sitting area with a couch (pull out), and a single bed. What was nice was that you could close off the doors to the sitting area and still have the kitchenette/dinner area, which is nice when traveling with a young child who goes to bed early. The room we booked had a bath which was nice for our 1 year old. Would definitely recommend this place! You spend most of your time outside of the motel as Lake Tekapo is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews