We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning lake view”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The location is really good, lake Tekapo is just beneath your eyes. From the balcony we could enjoy the lake view as well as the clean view of sky at night. Rooms are clean and warm. It's worthy a try.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankGUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    253
    55
    6
    8
See reviews for
210
321
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have stayed here several times over the years and have always had a very pleasant experience. As many others have stated - you can't beat the views from the balconies. The rooms have always been very clean and well-maintained. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. I absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank India J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We choose the Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort for a weekend away from Dunedin. First impression is the friendly reception and the clean and tidy room. We stayed in one of the upstairs studios which have breathtaking views over the lake. Coffee/Tea making facilities, Microwave, fridge and LCD TV, one sofa and a comfortable queen bed. The ensuite was clean and tidy, thought the water pressure in the shower was irregular. Thought a power outage sent the hole town for most of the day back to "stone age", Don and Catherine did everything to keep the stay as comfortable as possible.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and highly recommend Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UliK834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great position overlooking parkland toward Lake Tekapo. Just amazing views. Room was compact with a queen size bed and a sofa and very clean.Cooking facilites limited with just a microwave and fridge. We had a lovely balcony which overlooked the lake and also carpark. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Lake Tekapo is a perfect place to break the journey from christchurch to Wanaka.

Room Tip: room with a balcony facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miffcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

You get beautiful views from this place and that it a big plus But.. Showers are old and water pressure was very low.but the view from the room is just amazing and can forgive the small issues. Motel is right next to the lake.overall average motel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a dorm room here with my boyfriend in low season, there was noone else in our dorm and one of the beds was a double so we basically got a great value double room. The rooms were warm, big and clean with towels provided. The staff were very friendly and its in a great location. I would have liked to stay here more than one night but unfortunately we had time limitations.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The day we came it was bit cold and wet but despite this the hotel and its beautiful location made up for it.. I think nearly every room in the hotel has a great view without having to walk further than the balcony. The owners are a friendly couple who checked us in quickly and showed us to the room. The rooms have all the mod-cons needed if self catering, but still there is several restaurants / cafes round the corner if you want to eat out. Round the corner as well is a local small supermarket, has everything you need though a little expensive. The room was very tidy and well cleaned / maintained and has a very good heater which of course is needed in the winter months. There is ample parking which is easy to drive in and out of .I would totally recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing