We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ok stay.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for just one night on way to Queenstown from Christchurch.

Rooms are just ok. Not spacious at all.
Didn't had food.

But the lake view just behind the hotel ground is awesome. You can have segway ride in summers in the large hotel ground on backside.

All in all ok. But i guess you can have better options in Tekapo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RRajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    247
    54
    5
    8
See reviews for
204
313
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent a night in this motel and the only thing I can say is fantastic!!!! The view from our room of the lake and mountains was superb. It was reasonably priced and extremely clean. we have stayed in other places in Lake Tekapo before and were not impressed and Lake Tekapo Scenic Motels surpassed them by a long shot. We we're made welcome by the staff when checking even take. to our room and shown all the amenities within, I was very impressed!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

While traveling through NZ recently we stayed here at the Lake Takapo Scenic Resort. I had booked online before leaving Perth without really knowing much about this accommodation. It was lovely, clean, well appointed and ALL the kids travelling with us were pleased with the amenities here. There was more than enough beds, heating, towels etc, The staff were very informative and friendly plus full of information related to the local area. So upon hearing about the local hot pools I took my tired hubby kicking and screaming to them and we were very glad we did as it was awesome. Thanks again. Another great little find while traveling.

Room Tip: it is right in the heart of all the restaurants, bakeries, gift shops...plus the land in front offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharlene66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for one night during our trip from Christchurch to Queenstown. We stayed in a studio unit upstairs and enjoyed every moment of it. The bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and clean. The hotel is located conveniently near shops and restaurants. We went for a walk around Lake Tekapo to take in the breathtaking views. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to stay in Lake Tekapo!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in a Studio Upstairs unit for one night. This motel has probably been around for quite a while but the room looked like it has been partially refurnished recently, which is great. The room and en suite bathroom are generally clean. I like that there are some amenities in the room like a microwave oven, an electric kettle, fridge, tableware and cutlery so you can prepare some food and drinks. The walls seemed pretty thin so sometimes we can hear some people speaking. But the little imperfections are nothing once you catch a glimpse of the view from the balcony. In the morning, I was literally awakened by an incredible sunrise view of the lake.

Breakfast is not included but Reflections Restaurant which is just a few steps away serves good breakfast and coffee.

I'd highly recommend the Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort for the view and price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palliechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very friendly owner who allowed us to look at the rooms before making a confirmation. More privacy if you take the rooms upstairs. Family units do not have direct lake view. There is a little supermarket less than 80 m from here.

Room Tip: The studio units are good for three pax. A microwave and some dinnerware are provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamilahAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spent 1 night here after driving from Christchurch which took us longer than we expected with all the stops along the way.Arrived just before sunset to a beautiful outlook and a clean,comfy ground floor room just metres from the pub , restaurant and lake. Easy and quick to use on-site washing machine and drier. Helpful, friendly and efficient staff. Woke up early to a frosty ,clear morning to views of the mountains, lake and the little old church. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: any would be fine. ground floor facing the lake would be my pick but it wouldnt matter too much as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly_p62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#2 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#10 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Property: Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing