We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view just outside your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We visited Lake Tekapo during our NZ trip last November and stayed in this hotel for a night. The hotel was quite easy to locate and the reception was quite friendly.
The rooms are very neat and tidy and had a good sized bathroom. There was no kitchen facilities but there was a microwave in the room. The best part of the stay was the amazing scenic views just at the door step. All the rooms in the hotel have breathtaking views of the lake and the church but recommend the first floor rooms. Nothing compares to waking up in the morning to the amazing view. This was one of our best hotel stays in NZ and greatly recommend this hotel for a romantic holiday.

Room Tip: Take the room on the first floor for an amazing view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takkaratakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is one of the best in Lake Tekapo with its breathtaking views from the balcony of the room and also the friendly staff - Wyane who recommended good food and activities to keep us occupied during our stay.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JL0537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We arrived late in the evening after a great drive from Queenstown to a friendly welcome at the reception. The rooms have been recently renovated and are fantastic inside. We only had a standard room but this included a good sized spa. The room is well done and has everything you need minus a kitchen.

The location couldnt get better at Lake Tekapo. It was right on the edge of the park and the lake. It has the little church just to the right and the great attraction that is the Hot Springs pools just up to the left. Across the lake from the room there is a nice mountain range that was snow capped when we were there in june.

The price was reasonable for the quality of the room and the location. We would definately stay there again. We only had one night and would have loved at least one more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Braxi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled here mid way from Christchurch to queenstown. We arrives approx 8.30pm so wasn't aware of our surroundings until the morning. We woke to a wonderful view and the scenery was spectacular. Owner was very friendly and very helpful.
Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spent 1 night at the resort and it was very nice. Rooms clean and warm and reception staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again. Views from the room were excellent. Had a great dinner in Reflections Resturant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ndgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for just one night on way to Queenstown from Christchurch.

Rooms are just ok. Not spacious at all.
Didn't had food.

But the lake view just behind the hotel ground is awesome. You can have segway ride in summers in the large hotel ground on backside.

All in all ok. But i guess you can have better options in Tekapo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent a night in this motel and the only thing I can say is fantastic!!!! The view from our room of the lake and mountains was superb. It was reasonably priced and extremely clean. we have stayed in other places in Lake Tekapo before and were not impressed and Lake Tekapo Scenic Motels surpassed them by a long shot. We we're made welcome by the staff when checking even take. to our room and shown all the amenities within, I was very impressed!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
0.2 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,303 reviews
18.5 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#5 of 18 in Lake Tekapo
194 reviews
18.4 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Tekapo Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Village Motel

Address: State Highway 8 | Village Centre, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand (Formerly Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £94 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Tekapo Village Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quality accommodation in Lake Tekapo is situated in a central position in the village, close to local shops and restaurants. Rooms are modern, clean and most have excellent views over Lake Tekapo and the surrounding mountains. Located just 3 hours from Christchurch and 3 and a half hours from Queenstown, it’s a fantastic accessible stop on your journey, or the perfect getaway for a worry-free weekend. For the more adventurous, activities include boating, fishing, hiking, mountain biking and horse trekking. If you’re looking for a more relaxed pace, the views of the lake offer a constant vista to enjoy the world-class cafes and restaurants, as well as the local hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Tekapo Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing