We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
johnnywilk
Ferndown, United Kingdom

2 night stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2019via mobile
A lovely situation, but with lake views now much restricted due to a new hostel, and current building work on a new observatory in front of the motel spoiling what would otherwise be a perfect position. I understand that the room descriptions are going to be updated to reflect this, but it was too late for us so we were a little disappointed not to have been forewarned. As to the room, it was clean and spacious but a lack of table to eat at and the fact that you have to wash your dishes in the bowl provided in the bath was a little unusual, every other motel we have stayed at have provided a table, chairs and a sink. We felt our room lacked a little bit of privacy being on the ground floor nearest the office, other rooms looked to be OK.
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Feb 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. We do have two types of rooms available.
One is a studio unit and the other is Family suite. Our family suite has a fully equipped kitchen with table and chairs.
We wish you safe travels.
Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
£159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • ZenHotels.com
    £131
  • Hotels.com
    £159
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£287
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £269
  • Expedia.com
    £279
  • Priceline
    £287
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£55
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    £55
  • Vio.com
    £55
  • eDreams
    £55
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£92
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £81
  • Expedia.com
    £80
  • Vio.com
    £89
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Church of the good shepard
Booking.com
£139
  • Priceline
    £139
  • eDreams
    £139
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Nearby church attraction
Booking.com
£144
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £136
  • Agoda.com
    £118
  • Expedia.com
    £138
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£106
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £106
  • Agoda.com
    £88
  • Expedia.com
    £106
0.7 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
£97
  • Priceline
    £97
  • Vio.com
    £59
  • Trip.com
    £97
0.0 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Booking.com
£107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £107
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Booking.com
£112
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £112
  • Vio.com
    £112
  • eDreams
    £112
0.4 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (819)
Filter reviews
819 results
Traveller rating
392
307
83
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
392
307
83
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath upstairs room central location studio unit mt john would stay again dark sky stunning views stayed here for one night church lake tekapo supermarket queenstown microwave hosts winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 819 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2019

Nothing was too much effort and we were given some good dinner recommendations. Everything was clean tidy and well presented. . A shame the new building is compromising some of the views. I would happily return.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flounder1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback.
Tekapo is a small village undergoing huge change due to increased visitor numbers and unfortunately along with that comes construction. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Could not fault this motel. Well equipped, friendly owners, and it once had a pristine view which, unfortunately, has been spoilt by a construction project that has been wished on the village by the council. Very glad we chose to stay here, so lovely to sit on the balcony overlooking the lake with a glass of wine.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Hi Angela
Thank you for your review we really appreciate the feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2019

Disappointed that we paid for a lake view and found that half of the view is blocked by the construction of a new building between the hotel and the lake.
The room was clean and well presented but expensive for what you got.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank need2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to place a review. We are sorry that you were not happy with the view of the lake from your room. We believe the best view of the lake is at the lakes edge...a few minutes walk from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2019 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed here for our few nights at Lake Tekapo.

Room was clean and comfortable and staff were friendly. We had one of the upstairs lake view studios, while we still could see some of the lake unfortunately the building/works for the new observation centre has obstructed some of the views which previously would have been available (however this is no fault of the provider)

Rooms don’t have air conditioning but do have ceiling fans which are reasonably effective. There is no sink near the tea and coffee making facilities so need to use the bathroom sink.

Accommodation is central to everything and is within walking distance to the lake, restaurants and historic church.

Date of stay: January 2019
Thank 464gillt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed your time in Tekapo.
Tekapo is a village undergoing big changes and this has resulted in changes to the landscape.
We believe the best views to be had are from the lake edge and fortunately this is only a 2 minute walk from us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

I booked a lake view studio at the Lake Tekapo Village Motel only to find that ongoing construction between the motel and the lake completely obscured the view. The studio was clean and functional but characterless and also chairless. It was the most expensive of my month-long NZ tour and the least pleasant.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dreamer00496531300
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews