We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DanteHHH
Sydney, Australia

Deceptive Conduct

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2019via mobile
The descriptions and photos of the views from this motel are highly deceptive both on its own website and Trip Advisor. There are no views of the lake to speak of, having been completely built out in 2018 by two new buildings.
At $330 per night for an aging one bedroom studio with hill glimpses, it is rediculously expensive. There are much better alternatives in Lake Tekapo.
Management’s responses to reviews that point out guests weren’t forewarned the “excellent” lake views no longer existed, just confirms they are being deceptive. Adding insult to injury, management excuses this on the basis that they tell guests the best view is from the lake edge ! Is that the best excuse they can come up with ?
This has been the situation for nearly a year, more than enough time to alter the descriptions and photos on their website and Trip Advisor. The views of the lake are the main selling point for the motel as reflected in their pricing. This is a glaring example of gouging by deception.
Date of stay: March 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Mar 2019
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased that Tekapo is growing and we too will be happy when the construction is complete before winter 2019 - we had advised all of our booking agencies in advance of the construction and also have had notification on our website for well over a year now. Although this progress for our wee town has hindered some of our views, we are still in a perfect central location and a full view of the lake is merely steps away. We do hope that you have enjoyed your time in the Mackenzie - it is a wonderful spot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £179
0.4 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£89
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Exterior
£266
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside of our room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £58
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £169
  • Expedia.com
    £182
0.4 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £192
  • Expedia.com
    £198
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £77
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
391
307
83
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
391
307
83
15
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath upstairs room central location studio unit mt john would stay again dark sky stunning views stayed here for one night church lake tekapo supermarket queenstown microwave hosts winter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2019 via mobile

We thought we had paid for & were getting an expansive view over Lake Tekapo & mountains (as posted on the website) but the view was over a building site. The photos on both the website & booking websites are of picturesque views. There was no warning prior to arrival of the change of outlook, nor did the reception staff discuss the change of outlook, let alone apologise or reduce the room rate. We were expecting to spend time relaxing overlooking the lake on the last leg of our New Zealand travel. It was not only disappointing & deceptive but a rip off at $330 NZ per night.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank vaughankate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

We were a bit disappointed in this hotel. It is conveniently situated along the lake; however, no longer has a view. There is construction immediately in front of the hotel (new observatory and another hotel) that blocks the views. Rooms lack air and mattress/pillows are not the most comfortable. WiFi service is relatively good especially considering the area.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DianeL298
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Front Office Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback.
We are excited about the growth of our town and the new developments.
While we no longer have the unobstucted views of the lake that we once enjoyed we have always maintained that the best views are from the edge of the lake which is only a short stroll from us. We wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

A lovely situation, but with lake views now much restricted due to a new hostel, and current building work on a new observatory in front of the motel spoiling what would otherwise be a perfect position. I understand that the room descriptions are going to be updated to reflect this, but it was too late for us so we were a little disappointed not to have been forewarned. As to the room, it was clean and spacious but a lack of table to eat at and the fact that you have to wash your dishes in the bowl provided in the bath was a little unusual, every other motel we have stayed at have provided a table, chairs and a sink. We felt our room lacked a little bit of privacy being on the ground floor nearest the office, other rooms looked to be OK.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback. We do have two types of rooms available.
One is a studio unit and the other is Family suite. Our family suite has a fully equipped kitchen with table and chairs.
We wish you safe travels.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2019

Nothing was too much effort and we were given some good dinner recommendations. Everything was clean tidy and well presented. . A shame the new building is compromising some of the views. I would happily return.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flounder1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your feedback.
Tekapo is a small village undergoing huge change due to increased visitor numbers and unfortunately along with that comes construction. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Could not fault this motel. Well equipped, friendly owners, and it once had a pristine view which, unfortunately, has been spoilt by a construction project that has been wished on the village by the council. Very glad we chose to stay here, so lovely to sit on the balcony overlooking the lake with a glass of wine.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DebbieH3648, Manager at Lake Tekapo Village Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Hi Angela
Thank you for your review we really appreciate the feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Kind Regards
Rhonda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews