We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
hubbabubba96
PA

Lovely Motel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Apr 2024via mobile
I had read some recent less than favorable reviews about this motel before my stay. I was nervous as a result. I was pleasantly surprised on arrival. The unit was neat and tidy. Was the carpet older with some older stains? Yes. Was there some wear and tear in the bathroom? Yes. However, everything was clean and working. Also, keep in mind you should be spending most of the time outdoors. It is a beautiful lake. I’m more than a little confused about the reviews I previously read.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £215
0.3 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£142
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£82
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
£265
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
£91
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    £100
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £146
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £190
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £74
  • Algotels
0.2 miles from Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
391
307
83
15
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
391
307
83
15
22
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2024

This place was horrible, not only was the room old & worn out but it was dirty! Especially the bathroom, there was mould in the shower and sink, a hole in the wall and the paint was peeling. And the worst, there was blood on the bathroom floor! We didn’t notice until just after 7pm when we returned from the hot pools, but by then reception was closed. We expected at least a clean room for $250 a night, very disappointing.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbounz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2024

Our room was very small and looked over used. In need of an update. The floor carpet was very worn and looked dirty.

Nice view from the balcony looking out to the lake and mountains.

Reception only open from 9-6 daily. Late arrivals keys are left handing on a board outside the office. They you find your own way in the dark.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F2856JPbrendas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

Rooms fairly clean but tired and in need of refurbishment. Price was £170 for one night and they add £5 surcharge for foreign debit card. Felt like a rip off.

Positives: Local area has good choice of restaurants. The motel has a laundrette. Location is very near the lake.

Room tip: I recommend avoiding Tekapo unless you are here to stargaze. It is very touristy and busy with noisy tourists with cameras.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rubberdog818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

The carpet is disgusting, dirty, and torn out. Toilet is so low. it looks like a grown-up kids toilet.

Reception is only one man's place. Reception doesn't open until 2 pm.

The only plus point is, it's location. Few meters from bus stop. A few minutes walk to the lake. One can see the lake from this motel.

I was supposed to stay for two nights, but Expedia helped me to get a second nights non refundable payment refunded.

I will not stay here again

Room tip: Avoid it
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2024

Disappointing accommodation that needs refurbishment as other travellers have commented. When we arrived we were told that our reservation was for the following night. We had booked a year in advance! The receptionist blamed a change of ownership and systems for the confusion, and gave us a key to an upstairs room. It turned out that the room was occupied, so we ended up with a ground floor room, without a view! Not a very impressive experience.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinlL633EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews