We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Best B&Bs”
Review of Three Rivers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Three Rivers Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of Best B&Bs”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A superb room with a view to the Lake to die for. When you add our good fortune of perfect blue skies and sunshine you can see why this place has such wonderful memories. Add to this the wonderful food and hospitality of our hosts Joanne and David you can see why this is one b & b we would ALWAYS recommend people to stay at.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    32
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
181
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Room with a view of the Lake, which must be one of the prettiest in NZ. Clean, modern and the breakfast was superb. Very welcoming couple - we were even given 2 NZ ales as a parting gift, very generous couple who make your stay very comfortable

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeRiversLodge, Owner at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thanks you for the review. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete it. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed the place. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Take Care
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had the good fortune to stay with Joanne and Dennis on our last night in South Island and wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy their charming hospitality and the delicious breakfast. We were warmly welcomed upon our arrival and given excellent advice and help with booking our evening meal. The view from our small but well furnished room (also good value) was enchanting. Although at the side of the property the view of the lake was stunning. Breakfast the next morning was a delight - anything we wanted from an all-encompassing menu. We left with heavy hearts and the excellent advice to visit the mountain-top observatory as we left the small settlement. We very much hope to return.
One further important point - Joanne had kindly declined to enforce the penalty payment to which she was entitled when I had inadvertently booked online for the wrong date. Many thanks!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subortna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeRiversLodge, Owner at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate the change of date for you. We are very lucky here in Lake Tekapo and I do believe that the views from the top of Mt John is one of the most stunning views in NZ, in addition there is the great café up there too. We do hope we see you again in the future. Regards Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I've been meaning to write this review for a while now (it's somehow been 2 years!), because I always meant to make mention of what a wonderful stay we had at Three Rivers. We had a room at the front of the building, so our view was down across the lake. Stunning!

The bed was really comfy, and the breakfast was really good. The room was immaculate and the finish very sleek and tasteful. My favourite part of our stay though, without doubt, was the dog! I could have stayed and played with him all day, if only we hadn't needed to drive on.

We will return, and next time our plan is to stay a few more days to get more dog love (and also hopefully some better weather in which to do some walking around the lake, and Mt St John).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sosaidellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeRiversLodge, Owner at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review and I think it is awesome you have done so nearly 2 years later. We would live to see you again and I am sure Snoopy would always enjoy more fun and playtime. He loves having guests to play with all the time and is still entertaining everyone. I am pleased you also enjoyed the place and position and really look forward to seeing you again. Take care Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Our only stay in a B&B in New Zealand, and wished we could have stayed longer. We stayed here to walk in and around the Mount Cook area, and it was a good decision, as the scenery and tranquility was perfect. Dennis and Joanne were great hosts, helpful and friendly, and Snoopy the dog took the biscuit for fun! Really comfy beds, large bathroom and very well equipped. Quality furniture and fittings, and an easy 15 minute walk along the lake to the restaurant Mackenzies. Stargazing was amazing; we saw shooting stars from our front porch. Would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Every room is good, and all enjoy the same fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fids499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeRiversLodge, Manager at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review. I feel privileged that we were the only B&B you stayed in during your trip to NZ and that you enjoyed the experience with us. Was lovely to have you stay and we do hope you make it back out this way in the future. Take Care Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had the double room at the front and the view out to the lake was stunning. The room is really large and has the most comfortable bed. The bathroom is good too. All was immaculately presented. The hostess was waiting to welcome us and was friendly and helpful (booked dinner for us at Mackenzie's) and provided an excellent breakfast. It was wild and windy when we arrived and sunny and calm when we left - both suited the place. It's quite a walk to the nearest restaurant and I was a little worried that the aircon unit on the outside wall would be noisy, but it didn't disturb us. Great value and we wished we'd been staying longer than one night.

Room Tip: the two rooms in the main building have lovely views. Can't comment on the others as I didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greypet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeRiversLodge, Owner at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review. We are pleased you enjoyed the stay and the place. Hope you had a good trip home. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We spent the last two nights of our NZ trip at Three Rivers Lodge which was a perfect end to a great holiday. The building and room design is clever and the furnishings/fittings are of excellent quality, tasteful and very clean and comfortable. Especially enjoyed sitting outside our room with views of the lake at sunset and the very generous breakfast. All the little touches offered such as free wifi to check your emails, the advice offered on day trips, chatting over breakfast, the quality toiletries made us feel at home and like house guests rather then tourists. Thanks Joanne and the walk you recommended for us on the Hooker valley track to the iceberg lake will remain a favourite moment of our time in NZ. Thanks Fiona and Rich

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daphnescooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThreeRiversLodge, Owner at Three Rivers Lodge, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky to live in such an amazing part of the world with magnificent views and night skys and so many fantastic walks that we love to see people enjoying themselves and out and about experiencing the area. Loved the chats at breakfast and hope to see you both again in the future.
Take care
Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
1.0 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,845 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Rivers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Rivers Lodge

Property: Three Rivers Lodge
Address: 2 Lochinver Ave, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Rivers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Rivers Lodge is modern, purpose built accommodation located 1.5km or a 2 minute drive from Tekapo village. Floor-to-ceiling windows provide picturesque views of the lake and surrounding mountains with no interruptions as the land between the Lodge and the lake is all reserve land. Guest rooms offer comfortable beds and en-suite bathrooms. All rooms are modern with heat pumps (air conditioning hot and cold), heated floors, LCD flat screen TVs, Sky TV including sports channels and free wireless internet. A BBQ is available for your use in summer. B&B rooms have magnificent uninterrupted views and either a super king, king or king single beds available. Continental or full cooked breakfast for 2 is included. The 2 bedroom self-contained apartment, including a washing machine and DVD player has partial views of the lake and surrounding mountains from the open plan living and kitchen area. Discounts are available if you stay more than 1 night. Your hosts Dennis and Joanne Bradley look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Three Rivers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing