We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Cosy...”
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed one night on the way to the air show at Wanaka. Arrived at around 7.30pm and thank goodness they had put the heaters on!!. The unit was very warm and cosy, had all the mod conns to make it a great and comfortable stay, the gas fire place was a real winner. In the morning got to look at the entire resort and it was very nice and well cared for. Would ceratinly stay there again if back in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Kia ora Michael N,

Thank you so much for a great review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your warm & cosy apartment! The photos you've captured are fantastic, and a great representation of our units.
We hope you had a great time at Warbirds Over Wanaka, and we would be thrilled to see you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to Queenstown from Christchurch. As there were 6 of us, we booked for a 3-bedroom apartment. I must say that we were impressed with the quality of the accommodation...! It was like staying at a friend/relative's well-appointed house. Perhaps this is not surprising since some of the units here are actual residence.

The two-level apartment was very spacious and tastefully furnished. On the ground floor there are the living room (complete with gas fireplace which is much appreciated during those cold south island nights), a well-equipped kitchen, a toilet, and a large backyard. The bedrooms are all on the upper level, and there are two bathrooms with toilets.

Some minor drawbacks are its location, which is not exactly close to the lake nor has a view of it, and the limited reception hours (the reception office is very small, almost perfunctory). There is no bar/café/restaurant on-site, although the compendium has some suggestions, including the restaurant at Peppers, a sister property. But all things considered, this is a very good option to stay in Lake Tekapo and we were satisfied with our visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpiceNSpruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Kia ora SpiceNSpruce,

Many thanks to you for such a comprehensive review of our property, Mantra Lake Tekapo.
We are certainly pleased to hear that you found the apartment so well appointed, and suitable for your needs.

We would absolutely love to have you stay with us again.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom, 1 bath accommodation in March 2014.

Well kept, clean and generously equipped accommodation. The attached drive-in garage was convenient should it be pouring with rain. Washing machine (detergent included) and dryer in the garage. Kitchen well equipped with dishwasher, microwave, fridge, oven and hob. Living room was comfortable with gas fireplace. Bedrooms were simple and clean.

Location was great. 5 minutes walk to the lake, 10 minutes to town.

Small inconveniences : lack of 24 hours reception but there's always the option to call the sister resort (Peppers Resort) should the need arise; no in-room dining available.

All in all it was a good stay at Mantra Lake Tekapo. Lovely accommodation in a beautiful, scenic and peaceful town.

Room Tip: Request for an unit away from the main Fairlie - Tekapo Road (Highway 8).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genekhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Kia ora genekhoo,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!
We are over-the-moon to know that you had such a great time, and enjoyed so many aspects of our property.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

First time to New Zealand and I must say that the stop at Mantra Lake Tekapo was amazing. Office staff was extremely pleasant, accommodating and offer excellent suggestions for dinner and sights. The apartment was well appointed, comfortable and made the stay away very home like! A sort walk to the lake was a great plus. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Kia ora Pamela V,

Thank you for a wonderful review of your recent time with us! It makes us really happy to hear that you had such an amazing time in our care.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was a great place to stay. It was in easy walking distance to the lake and restaurants etc. We had a two bedroom apartment and it was beautiful set out. The view was over the swimming pool and out to the mountains. We didn't have a view of the lake but that was ok. It was very quiet, especially been on the main road. The only problem was as we were after 5.30pm checking in we had to go up the road about 5 minutes to other hotel to check in and get the key (this would have been a problem if you don't have a vehicle). Things for children to do was only the swimming pool and as it was not heated was to cold for us to use. Would be great if there was a play ground for children.

Room Tip: I think all the apartments would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tui3560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Kia ora Tui3560,

Many thanks to you for a lovely review of our property.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us.
We also value your suggestions about how we can improve pour service offering, and thank you for providing that opportunity.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were offered this by Trailfinders as an alternative to Peppers which was full. It is a small development of townhouses just outside the town. There are no services offered and reception is open (allegedly) between 9am and 5pm. Otherwise you contact Peppers (but the phones in the apartment do not accept outgoing calls -mmm). Reception was not open when we left at 09.25 hrs. We were given the keys to 13 which had not been cleaned! We just caught the manager who offered us another unit which was three beds but with one shower not working. The ensuite was fine and it was acceptable for two of us. The house was large and very well equipped (except corkscrew/ opener) with modern furnishings and full kitchen. A fair walk back from town after dinner but great for families and those who want to self cater. We were not troubled by traffic noise. No wi-fi available.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Kia ora yarrow1946,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us.

There are certainly a few issues with your experience that I regret, and I sincerely apologise to you for.

Reception is manned from 9am - 5.30pm each day, but there can be times where the receptionist needs to leave to attend to matters in a room. I can only suggest that perhaps you arrived at reception during such a time.

Please accept my sincere apologies for these matters. I regret the inconvenience caused to you, and I am pleased that you otherwise felt strongly to provide us with such a positive review.

Warm regaards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

A perfect choice for those wanting self catering options. These apartments are well appointed; the beds are comfy and the furnishings tasteful. There is plenty of space inside and out and the lake is a 1 minute walk away. The service was friendly and helpful - good recommendations made re dinner. We didn't cook but a bottle opener would have come in handy - suggest they furnish the kitchens with one.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank RestnRecreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Kia ora RestnRecreation,

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!
We are really thrilled to hear that you found Mantra Lake Tekapo so comfortable and well appointed.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
182 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £161 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Mantra Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing