We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Star of Lake Tekapo”
Review of Mantra Lake Tekapo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another Star of Lake Tekapo”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Looking for a stopover between Christchurch and Queenstown we chose Mantra LT. Regretfully we only stayed one night! On our trip through beautiful New Zealand this was one of the best places to sleep. Clean, spacious ( we booked a 2 bedroom Apartment), fully equipped kitchen, Under-floor heating in the bathroom (lovely in July, it was freezing!).
One tip: arrive before 7am, otherwise you have to pick up the keys at Peppers Bluewater Resort (which is nearby).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Kia ora Henry W,

Thanks for your lovely comments, and we are thrilled to her that you found our accommodation so suitable for your needs. We would love to see you back again, to enjoy a longer stay with us. We also appreciate you posted your great photos.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    98
    40
    12
    15
See reviews for
186
53
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were a group of four (two couples) initially booked into a two bedroom apartment. We arrived, about 1/2 hr to 15mins early for the 2pm check in and were greeted by a friendly receptionist. The power was off in town so our initial room was not yet ready, but we were instantly upgraded to a ready 3 bedroom apartment. This was a great initial impression.

The apartment had good quality furnishings and was immaculately clean. It lived up to the pictures and did not disappoint.

The gas fire place in the downstairs lounge and the central heating in the upstairs bedrooms kept the winter chill at bay.

We knew in advance that these were self catering apartments and that reception was 9am to 5pm. So this was never an issue for us. As nothing was or went wrong we actually did not contact staff again until we checked out. We did not use any of the communal facilities as we had a full itinerary Was a great mix of cooking meals at "home" and eating out in Tekapo.

The location was perfect to explore Tekapo, Lake Pukaki, go fishing in Twizel or take a half day hike in Mt Cook National park.

Overall we thought the accommodation was excellent and good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Kia ora CGJax,

Thank you for such a fantastic review. I am glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations, and we are thrilled that you had such a fabulous time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We only needed accommodation to break the journey from Queenstown to Methven. Pleasantly surprised on arrival as the online photos make the property look furnished by an 80's Nana. But a very nice place for what we needed. Would return for a longer stay. Only gripe would be the lack of attention to detail in the cleaning. Overall very good. But needs a good dusting on the shelves and light shades. Alex Polizzi would have a great time with her white glove. Kick the GM's butt Attention to detail is key.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchampdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Kia ora Duchampdada,

Thank you for your kind review, and we are glad our property exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding the cleaning, which we will certainly look closer at.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A party of 3 couples We booked a 3 bed room unit. Arrived early evening and discovered a warm welcoming unit. Master with ensuite second with a queen double and third with two twins. We were only staying one night to visit Mt John Night Sky but would recommend a longer stay. There is lots to do in Tekapo and with this location it is the ideal one to use. The unit was clean with good facilities and a lovely indoor out door setting...The gas fire was a winner.

Room Tip: All units were similar so no favourites here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Kia ora seaoh,

Thanks so much for a fantastic review! We absolutely agree that there is much to do in Lake Tekapo, and it often isn't until you get here that you realise the beauty it has to offer.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the fire place, which certainly is a winner over Winter!!

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlie, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We booked 5 three bedroom apartments for our group of 30 and were very impressed at the standard of accommodation. In fact all our guests commented on the quality of the units. Large, spacious, warm and quiet. We were greeted very warmly by Jonty on the front desk and felt very welcomed. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Kia ora Julianne S,

Thank you so much for your great review! We are excited to hear that your group had such a fabulous time in our care, and I know Jonty will be very pleased to hear your kind comments! Thank you! You are always welcome back, and we hope you can make the short trip from Fairlie again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just to reach there before 5pm otherwise the reception counter will be closed.

It is near to 4square super market. Just about 50 meters away from lake takepo
Fully furnished kichens and you can find whatever you need to cook. But better prepare the material before you reach the lake area as the supermarket there has very limited choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Qi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Kia ora Qi z,

Thank for your recent review, and we are glad you had a wonderful time with us.

Our reception hours are 9am - 5.30pm, however our reception team will call if you are arriving after those hours, to ensure your check-in process is seamless and welcoming.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed one night on the way to the air show at Wanaka. Arrived at around 7.30pm and thank goodness they had put the heaters on!!. The unit was very warm and cosy, had all the mod conns to make it a great and comfortable stay, the gas fire place was a real winner. In the morning got to look at the entire resort and it was very nice and well cared for. Would ceratinly stay there again if back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Mantra Lake Tekapo, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Kia ora Michael N,

Thank you so much for a great review! I'm very pleased you enjoyed your warm & cosy apartment! The photos you've captured are fantastic, and a great representation of our units.
We hope you had a great time at Warbirds Over Wanaka, and we would be thrilled to see you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Lake Tekapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Lake Tekapo

Property: Mantra Lake Tekapo
Address: 1 Beauchamp Place, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Lake Tekapo 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rugged alpine heart of the South Island's Mackenzie Country, just a stone's throw from the shores of a shimmering turquoise lake, nestled amid snow capped mountains, Mantra Lake Tekapo offers the perfect haven for a weekend away or and extended stay. Mantra Lake Tekapo offers 28 spacious apartments each featuring three large bedrooms, two luxury bathrooms with heated floors, a spacious open plan living and dining area with a gas fireplace and French doors opening to a private courtyard. Cook up a meal in the fully appointed kitchen featuring granite bench tops and quality appliances. Stay warm and dry with you own private garage with internal access and full laundry. At Mantra Lake Tekapo you can choose to relax by the pool, spa and a paved BBQ relaxation area with an outdoor fireplace or enjoy a bottle of one of New Zealand's award-winning local wines on your apartment's private terrace. With world-class trout fishing, horse riding, scenic flights and two local ski fields all within easy reach there is plenty to see and do. Mantra Lake Tekapo is a perfect base from which to explore the unspoiled beauty of Lake Tekapo. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Mantra Lake Tekapo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Lake Tekapo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing