We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Accomodation on the Alps to Ocean Bike Trail”
Review of Braemar Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Braemar Station
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super Accomodation on the Alps to Ocean Bike Trail”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Braemar Station Cottages
We headed to the South Island specifically to have a ride on the newly formed Alps to Ocean bike trail in the Mackenzie Country. The word was out that completion of some of the tracks would be by Christmas – wrong. They are getting there slowly but the a few logistical problems which need to be overcome first.
DOC info brochure indicates that the start of the ride is opposite the Hermitage over the Tasman river. The only problem is getting there. The idea is to get a helicopter ride from one side to the other but no one could tell us how much this would cost. We had figures of $150 each, BUT if there were only two of you, this would double. I can tell you for sure, bikers will not enjoy having their wallets emptied at the start of a trip like this, even if you do love helicopter rides.
So, they only alternative is to start the ride on the eastern side of the river so we did our planning around how to achieve this. The best way is to get to the first night’s accommodation, at Braemar Station where there are two cottages and the shearers, quarters to choose from. From there it’s possible to bike up to the start and back on the first day.
We had the Hilltop cottage which was just perfect for our requirements. The cottage was basic but had all you would want in this beautiful part of the country. It was clean, had a great bed and nice outlook onto farmland and the stunning torquoise waters of Lake Pukaki. This accommodation is great value for money and if you want a little piece and quiet in fabulous surroundings, this surely is the place to go. We couldnt speak highly enough of owner/ host Julia McKenzie. She was such a delightful person to deal with, super friendly and no request appeared to be too much trouble for her.
Julia operates a very smoothly run business and we can highly recommend a stay at the station.

Room Tip: The cottages are self catering and have good cooking facilities plus BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckyboo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Our extended family, six ranging in age from 3 months to 60 years, spent a week at Pine Cottage, Braemar Station. The cottage, a heritage building sensitively modernized, was comfortable and provided incredible views of Lake Pukaki and the mountains beyond. With three bedrooms (2-2-4), a fully equipped kitchen (with a big propane bbq on the porch) and modern bathroom we wanted for nothing. Although we didn't use them during our stay there were both an air tight wood heater in the sitting room and an outside firepit.

Privacy is assured by the cottage's location on a ridge top backed by a magnificent stand of mature pines. We were granted free run of the station and took several lovely tramps across the paddocks as well as a relaxing stroll through the striking family garden.

Hosts Hamish and Julia Mackenzie made us feel welcome, assisted us with various minor issues and, when our car tire went flat on departure, Hamish helped with the change and even repaired the tire for us. Real country hospitality.

Braemar Station gave our family a fascinating and engaging experience of high country station life. The atmosphere is relaxed and casual, the hosts friendly and helpful, we enjoyed the immersion in the rural life of New Zealand.

More details and photos on my blog:
http://yukonrambles.blogspot.co.nz/2013/01/braemar-station-ranching-in-new-zealand.html

Room Tip: Braemar Station offers group accommodation in Shearer's Lodge, 2 bedroom cottage and three bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Eight of us who were completing the Alps 2 Ocean cycle had our first night here in the Shearers quarters at Braemar Station. It was an amazing eclectic mix of beds and rooms - enough for everyone to have their own space, The views of lake Pukaki was amazing as we sat outside listening and breathing the noises and smells of a working station. Because we had been cycling all day we asked Julia who owns the station with her husband, if she could leave some food for dinner! What a meal she left us and for $25 a head - local salmon, fresh salads, new potatoes, rhubarb crumble and ice cream and cream.
Incredible value for food and accommodation! Would loved to have stayed for several nights as there were many walks and cycles from the station.
The station is isolated but that is its charm so need wheels to get there - car or bike!
Need to have own food etc as no eateries close by.

Room Tip: There are several different groups of accommodation depending on the size of your group. Some quarte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

This was a beautiful, peaceful place to stay for a couple nights. The charming house was situated off Tepako Lake and had fantastic views of Mt Cook if you were lucky enough to have a few clear hours which we were! Not any sheep close by to us and you could walk as long as you liked around the hills. Some of the rooms had great window views but we had an inner room that we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy....but Ioved sitting on the picnic table in front to watch the sunset. Very rustic quarters where you needed a sleeping bag but it was worth it.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the inner room......had to have our curtain pulled......no sheets
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank skibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
230 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

We stayed in the Sheep Shearers' Quarters--where the sheep shearers stay when they are in town on business--quite a unique accomodation! The lodge had several rooms, most with single beds, all requiring you bring a sleeping bag as only a slipsheet, pillow, and pillow case are provided. Notably, there isn't a ton of privacy as rooms adjoin in a strange way with only French doors and curtains separating them in some cases. Facilities are shared--there is a single communal bathroom as well as a communal bathroon with multiple shower stalls, toilet stalls, and sinks. There is a nice lounge area. Views out the windows of the sun setting over Lake Pukaki with Mt. Cook in the background are awesome! There is a golf cross course and nice garden on the property. Despite it being a sheep station, we didn't see more than a dozen sheep while we were there--although plenty of evidence of them was left behind on the grounds! About 1.25 hour drive to Mt. Cook Park.

  • Liked — location, views
  • Disliked — lack of privacy
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CourtneyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Tekapo
14.3 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,915 reviews
14.8 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,589 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
712 reviews
14.0 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
17.3 mi away
Lakestone Lodge
Lakestone Lodge
#1 of 1 in Pukaki
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Station

Property: Braemar Station
Address: PO Box 62, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braemar Station is a working High Country Station located on the eastern side of Lake Pukaki at the foot of Mt Cook (New Zealand's highest mountain). We have 3 self contained houses available for short term stays. All have stunning views of the surrounding mountains and Mt Cook. We are located 30 minutes drive from Lake Tekapo township. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Braemar Station Hotel Lake Tekapo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing