We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We got a really good deal through expedia (3 nights for the price of 2) for a mountain view room. So was pleasantly surprised to be able to see the lake from our apartment.
The resort is in a great location, staff were personable and the housekeeping staff were very accommodating (as our kitchen utensil had a broken handle and they replaced ASAP).
I would return or recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanenekke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Kia Ora Jeanenekke,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your room, the views, location of the resort and your interactions with our friendly staff.

We take such pride in the service we provide, and truly appreciate you sharing your great feedback

We hope to see you again at Peppers Bluewater resort.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    851
    561
    312
    226
See reviews for
655
1,531
90
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

stayed in a standard room and it was immaculate. it mustn't be very old. bathroom was nice and spacious. this room doesn't have a microwave only a kettle. Wasn't far to walk to the village where you can get something to eat. My room didn't have views , unsure if there are any standard room along the front with views, may want to ask, as the views would be spectacular.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Komodojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Kia Ora Komodojj ,

Thank you for your great feedback. Unfortunately our standard rooms do not have views of lake but we do have other room types which offer excellent views of Lake Tekapo.

We are glad that you found your room to be immaculate and enjoyed the close proximity of the resport location to the village centre.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Upon arrival we were told our room had been upgraded. Great we thought. Not a busy time of year, must be wanting to show off their better rooms. Key 403. Right at the back. Near the gas cylinders. If your really lucky the coaches park there overnight and start warming their engines at sunrise. When we pulled up there was laundry lying in the car park. We thought 'upgraded ??' Hate to see what we would have got. Then we walked into our tiny room. The room that looked directly to the back of the room in front. No lake view! No mountain view!! No view!!! So I thought I would have a chat to the guy behind the desk. 'Yes I can easily change you to a better room sir, one with a view ...... For another $100.00' he says. Yeah right. Very disappointed. After driving around there were plenty of cheaper places yo stay with by far better views actually on the lake front.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holtontrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Kia Ora Holtontrio,



Thank you letting us know about your experience with us. We are glad that we were able to upgrade you to the next available room type which was a spacious room compared to the room type you had originally booked.

We do have other room types that better capture the view and we always encourage those desiring lake view to upgrade to ensure they get the view they seek.

We do appreciate your feedback, and we feel that we have appropriate choices for all budget needs, and regret that you feel our prices were too high in this instance.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This property has best views of lake tekapo, but you must book a lake view. When I booked this I read other reviews and was expecting rude staff , bad staff and not very clean rooms.
So I had low expectations.
We stayed in a 2bedroom suite and it was lovely, really well appointed, great views.
We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was well priced and very nice.
Contrary to expectations staff were all very friendly.
The only down side is that wifi cost extra which I think is bad for an expensive hotel like this. Every other comparable hotel I've stayed at in NZ had free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spenca382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Kia Ora Spenca382 ,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very gald that you have enjoyed your stay at Peppers Bluewater Resort and found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you again sometime in near future.

Kind Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Rooms were Ok, but the cleaning could be a lot better. When we arrived we were told that we had been updated. Luckily as the rooms are really small. The room however had a real bad musty smell and after the 2nd day we complained. We were updated to a nice villa. Once again the room was not the cleanest. Unfortunately we were given single beds and were too embarrassed to complain again so we took it on the chin.

Room Tip: Don't go for the basic room as they are a box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Kia Ora Lynne B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience casued to you.

We have reviewed your feedback in detail and assure you that this is not level of service we are know to provide at Peppers Bluewater Resort.

We sincerely hope to see you again so that we can better showcase what Peppers Bluewater Resort is really all about.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies.

King Regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The lakefront rooms are well worth staying in and with the exceptional dark skies of the Tekapo region walking outside at night gives vistas that are unheard of in most places in the world.

Rooms are very comfortable with a good air conditioner which works very well for quiet heating. The bathroom is massive for the typical hotel room. Large windows allow for easy views of the lake and surrounding areas.

Dinner was very nice and quite well priced. Staff were very helpful although there was only one staff member on for check-in. Another member came out from an office to help after a few minutes of waiting. For some reason the hotel required not just a credit card but also photo identification for check-in.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Gnuthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Kia ora Gnuthad,

Thank you for your comments, and we are glad that you had such a great time.
We regret having to ask for photo id, but it is a part of industry protocol for certain booking channels in this day and age. We do appreciate your understanding.

We hope to see you again.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed in a two floor townhouse/rowhouse type suite, plenty of room, very confortable, great linens, full service kitchen - Bosch appliances - no one above or below. However, the construction obviously left out any sound damping insulation between adjacent suites and therefore, easily heard guests in units on either side tramping around in their suites. While the food and wine in the restaurant was very good, the service was slow, but not much in the way of other options in such a small town.

Room Tip: Defiitely ask for a two floor suite on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank styaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Kia ora styaner,

Thank you for your recent comments.
We are pariticularly glad to hear that you enjoyed your spacious apartment.
Whilst they certainly aren't completely sound proof, we are more than happy to help contact any adjacent guests that might not being as considerate as they could be. We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities on offer!

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Cottages
Lake Tekapo Cottages
#11 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tekapo Heights
Tekapo Heights
#3 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#12 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing