We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The one bedroom apartment had more than enough space and was well equipped for a self-catering stay. The views were absolutely stunning and the food in the restaurant was tasty. The hotel is located just down the road from the village centre and is easy walking distance to shops.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dp1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Kia ora dp 1980,

Thank you for a sensational review! This kind of feedback really puts a smile on our faces and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to let us know.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    811
    533
    299
    220
See reviews for
597
1,471
88
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Staff did not know if they did or did not have rooms available. They had to ring housekeeping twice to see what was available and it was 6pm. Apparently a fully equipped kitchen but not a grater among many other missing items making it impossible to cook a meal. High price gives one expectation but we were sorely disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Another very average Peppers property - seems like the downhill slide of this brand continues under the Mantra groups stewardship.
Management - what management, they couldn't even find our confirmed booking for about 30 minutes until they called somebody external to the hotel who found it.
The weather was dreadful however, they could not open the bar until early evening.
The room was small, very small, there was not even enough room to put our bags anywhere except on the bed. Even though they call the room sleep & go the space was ridiculously
inadequate.
Never Again!

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Only had one night here. Opted to get a Lakeview room as wanted to enjoy the view as much as possible.
Quite a big resort, you are given a map to show you the location of your room upon checkin.
We were on the ground floor with two more rooms above us but they didnt make too much noise so it was fine.
Spacious living area with outside patio. Sky TV setup but a mass of cables everywhere.
Good bathroom with large walk in shower. Decent kitchenette space with Nespresso machine available to use at a cost per capsule.
Room was clean but I did find a large pebble by the couch and a cobweb on one of the windows.
We did not eat there as there were plenty of choices across the road at the local shopping area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Only place that charged my card (August 2013). If they do that to everyone, do the maths on how much interest they make. On arrival wanted to charge me again, but had correspondence of transactions. Then blamed booking co., but told them a duty manager had made the charge, to make HIS sales figure look good. Room was a dog box. We are 65 and 72kg each. Another 5 kg each and we could not have fitted in. Nowhere to put suitcases. Why provide tea and coffee when there is no where to sit? There was more room in the shower. We now know what it is like inside the drum of a rock band drummer. The unit above and alongside made enough noise. We could hear what they had to eat and drink, luckily we did not have to see or smell the result. Restaurant charges were a joke. Go to the pub across the road, good food, good drinks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Kia ora Chris B,

Thank you for your recent comments about our property.

Naturally, we are disappointed to hear some of your concerns.
We did charge your card for your booking, as per the standard Booking.com reservation policy, so we regret that this caused inconvenience to you.
As mentioned, you did book a Standard Hotel Room which was allocated to you. We are disappointed to hear that this was not ideal for your needs. We absolutely do our best to clearly highlight the dimensions of these room types, and this in turn is provided by Booking.com.
We do have a number of larger apartment style units, which may have been better for your specific needs.

In regards to our restaurant prices, we feel these are indicative of like products in the area and this of course reflects our ability to source and obtain produce in regional area. We certainly do our best to make these fair and reasonable for all patrons.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Positives:
- The view was nice
- Very close to everything in Tekapo
- The room was nice

Negatives:
-No customer service or knowledge of hospitality
- room service food was utter muck and Luke warm
-Breakfast was non existent, had run out of multiple breakfast buffet by 830 (breakfast hours 6-10)
-I found a screw on the floor in our room and several bits of torn up paper (?)
- Could hear through the window on the main road, and woken up by people walking around upstairs.

If this hotel didn't have the peppers name or the location/view it boasts it would have gone under long ago.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying here.

Having stayed in other Peppers and had great experiences I am left questioning my brand loyalty to this chain.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChristianBendelack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Kia ora ChristianBendelack,

Thank you for your recent review or our property.
We regret to hear about several aspects of your stay, that took away from your overall experience. These matters will be investigated as a matter of urgency.
We are of course pleased to hear that you did enjoy the wonderful view, and the room you were assigned.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at Peppers in Tekapo in a 'sleep and go' room. The room was well appointed, modern and attractive. Just a small room for those wanting to keep moving. However, due to the design of the rooms, the extractor fan for the bathroom in the unit next door was located about one metre from my head and, as the people next door had left it on, the fan throbbed all night totally preventing a peaceful sleep. Next day I woke to find I had a vicious cluster of bites in my shoulder that are still bright red over two weeks later. Bed bugs!! I'd heard they were a problem here now but never experienced them! Dreadful poached eggs at breakfast in the restaurant next morning and disgusting coffee. If a chef can't cook an egg then they're in the wrong job.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rockkote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Kia ora rockkote,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that you were bitten by a bug during the night, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention the next day. As you know, this claim was taken very seriously and was thoroughly investigated, and there was absolutely no evidence of bed bugs. The room was completely stripped, sprayed, cleaned as a precaution, and resold wtihout further issue.

Peppers Bluewater Resort has never had any incidents or reports of bed bugs, so I am somewhat alarmed to hear that you were under this impression. With that said, I would welcome you to contact me directly to provide further feedback. Peppers Bluewater Resort has almost completed a full refurbishment of its beds, which were only 6 years old to begin with. Bedding would normally be replaced every 7- 10 years, but we feel it is important to maintain an elite sleep experience to our guests. Our bedding is modern, comfortable and very well maintained in relation to other products in the market. Nonetheless, we value your opinion in this instance.

We regret your comments in relation to breakfast, which I will certainly look further into. This is far from typical, or what we are accepting of.

Rockkote, thank you again for taking the time to contact us about your recent stay.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing