We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed exclusively at Peppers whenever we visit Tekapo but on this trip we were seriously disappointed. We arrived at 2.45pm to check in only to be told we needed to wait 10-15 minutes for our room to be ready. Considering we pay from 2pm, this was not acceptable especially since we had just arrived after a 4 1/2 hour drive. After waiting for 10 minutes we were then told we needed to wait a further 10-15 mins for our room. It was then that I protested and an alternative room was offered. No apology for the inconvenience, no offer for a free drink while we wait, etc. I was given 1 key to the room and directed there. The staff asked if we had been to the resort before (yes, on many occasions - your records should have flagged that! Talk about feeling not like a valued guest!) We get to the room, 410a to find it is the absolute worst one you can have in the complex (you look out on to the parking lot) - But the rate was low ($165 per night) so we accepted it. The room itself was dirty - tap had a ring of filth around it and the shower had black mold all in the grout. Needs a serious clean. Black hairs left in the bathroom floor (I'm blonde so they weren't mine!!) SO not happy. We will be looking for alternative accommodation after that experience. We didn't even eat at the restaurant we were so angry with the service. Very disappointing! Peppers, you need to lift your game!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SuzieQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,052 - 2,058 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Greeted warmly by the staff, breathtaking views of the lake, restaurant food is good. Great location only a small town but its central to everything you need. Very cold over night be prepared for an icy car.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The resort was very nice and had a great location for visitors that didn't have a car. Service counter was good and so was the restaurant. However, I asked for an early check in of 12pm as I was arriving on a bus I made this arrangement a week in advance. Got to the resort and was told it wasn't ready. This was disappointing as I then had to go to the snow in clothing that wasn't suitable for the snow and it destroyed my clothing. Our hotel room was so tiny to move around and I hit my head and tripped over trying to move around the beds and two bags. The people up stairs was so loud it kept us up most of the night. I would stay at this resort again but I would save the extra money and purchase a villa for extra comfort and a view.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Delaney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The resort was at a great location, with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. We were upgraded to a larger than standard-sized room. It included a frig and electric pot for tea/coffee. We ate dinner there one night at the restaurant, and it was truly excellent. All the great attractions of Tekapo are nearby. Our room was nice, except the shower appliance caused the water to go everywhere, and we did not get a dry shower mat for our second night even though the first one was soaking wet on the floor.

That said, I would rather be given an inclusive rate for certain conveniences than be nickel and dimed for things that are usually free at friendly, but not "resort" places. Internet rates were quite high ($8/hour or $20 for 24 hours, but then only for one internet appliance at a time) and no free internet in the lounge. There was a charge to use the outdoor grill. It seems like we were laughing about other ones. Let's face it: $8/hour for Internet is a ripoff! Most places we have visited in New Zealand have even let us stay an extra hour for no extra charge if they did not need the room immediately, but I believe Peppers wanted $25 for that, too. It just sours the experience for us when compared to other places we have stayed.

Room Tip: We went for a standard room (they are priced according to view), but we still had a partial view of...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place was pretty amazing on arrival - ideal settings, great manager, spacious rooms, modern kitchen, balcony views, frozen pond with ducks sitting on top!

Lake Tekapo is yet another sensational place to visit, by the time when it came to settle in for the night, the drama began. Shower door leaked so much it flooded the floor, a borderline sofa bed, and the worst part - BANG BANG BANG from something! Every 5 minutes! We made a complaint in the morning, which the manager apologised, and we were told it was some sort of oil pump for the heater. To their credit the engineers came right away, but geez, a family of zombies in the morning.

Still, this was a good place to stay, wished the heater wasn't so noisy, and will still return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Kia ora David K,

Thanks so much for your very kind comments, & we are glad to hear you had such a nice time.
We regret the problems with the heat pump during your stay, but are glad we were able to get a resolution for you. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night, first impression......... When we checked in - the staff member behind the desk was not very friendly (more like fake friendly) We booked through a lastminute.com site with a reasonable rate. When we did arrive - we were given a free upgrade - we really appreciated it!
Once we arrived at the apartment - the parking was not possible, as other guests parked on our parking and didn't even do a good job of that either. There was housekeeping bags EVERYWHERE! Walking down the steps into the apartment, all over the parking lot and other entries.....never in my life saw that!(I work in hospo- rule nr 1 is keep all pathways and hallways clear!) Breakfast was good - coffee was cold! Not sure if we will stay again.

Room Tip: Lake front rooms is better.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Kia ora Solar85,

Thank you for your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your free upgrade, & we were very happy to be able to make this arrangement for you during your stay.

Regrettably, our site is very difficult in respect to housekeeping with no sealed roadways and our rooms spread out, with no storage areas within the blocks themselves. We are unable to use trolleys (due to the roadways) which makes the distribution of linen very manual. We can appreciate that this is an unusual site, but we can assure you that we do out best to minimise the visual impact whilst we best maintain our service delivery for all guests in a timely fashion. If we could do it another way, we certainly would do so.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Ideally situated only a short walk from the lake' s edge, we found this 'resort' an ideal place to stay. Each module was a self contained bedroom and shower room with a small patio with chairs to sit outside. The shower room was very attractive with a turquoise wall to reflect the colour of Lake Tekapo. We were able to park the car outside. It was too expensive to eat here but there were two good restaurants a short walk away with views of the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandraclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Kia ora sandraclaire,

Thanks so much for your comments, & we are certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We regret that you found our restaurant prices too high; we do have an array of menu options which are reasonably priced, including set 2 & 3 course options, & room service - which includes more casual fare such as pizzas, slow cooker options and burgers.

Nonetheless, we are pleased you had such a great time.

Many thanks again,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £79 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing