We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Do you want to trip on a rock on the way to your room? How about pay well over the odds for internet access when even basic motels offer it for free? Do you like tiny TVs? No? Well perhaps Peppers Bluewater isn't for you then.

Given how expensive this place is, everything should be right. It isn't. Corners have been cut. The lack of exterior lighting in the resort, for instance. Or the like-a-TV-only-smaller screens. Or the bath with a couple of spots of missing enamel. None of these things would be a big deal in a $125 a night place, but this isn't. Combine that with staff that act like they are doing you a favour in letting you stay there, and you might wish, as I did, that you had booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,928)
There are newer reviews for Peppers Bluewater Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,055 of 2,928 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a long drive from Kaikoura we wanted to have a good and comfortable stay, thats exactly what we got at Peppers.
Peppers have a good reputation and have got good properties in Australia & NZ both. Tekapo being one of them.
The resort has and amazing location and has superb view rooms. The one which we were given had a direct view of the amazing lake.
The check in was quick and rooms were fantastically clean and up to mark. We opted for the suit room which had a huge lounge and sitting place along with a good stocked up kitchen and wonderful fire place. A nice sound system was also placed in the room.
The room had a beautiful view in the morning of the sunrise. Baths were also good and clean.
Staff of the hotel guided us and also booked for us tours and worth seeing places in tekapo.
The resort has a well stocked bar and wonderful restaurant with nice lookout at their very own pond.
Bikes are offered by the resort for short trips.
Check rooms personally before check in try to keep it near the restaurant area as much as possible as other wise it becomes a long walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuragmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for one night during our journey south to Queenstown and we were not disappointed. We booked into a three bedroom apartment, which turned out to be two double bedrooms and a sofa bed but what a view of Lake Tekapo. The apartment was spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was included with cereals, fruits and a full cooked buffet if you wanted it, this was a real plus point. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. However given the standard of the accommodation I would expect complimentary WiFi in the apartment rather than having to pay for each minute used. Watch out for the doors especially if you have young children they are self closing and extremely heavy and always keep the keys in your pocket, it's possible to find yourself outside a locked door with the keys still inside.

Room Tip: Request an apartment with a lake view otherwise you could end up at the back of the resort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBADTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed exclusively at Peppers whenever we visit Tekapo but on this trip we were seriously disappointed. We arrived at 2.45pm to check in only to be told we needed to wait 10-15 minutes for our room to be ready. Considering we pay from 2pm, this was not acceptable especially since we had just arrived after a 4 1/2 hour drive. After waiting for 10 minutes we were then told we needed to wait a further 10-15 mins for our room. It was then that I protested and an alternative room was offered. No apology for the inconvenience, no offer for a free drink while we wait, etc. I was given 1 key to the room and directed there. The staff asked if we had been to the resort before (yes, on many occasions - your records should have flagged that! Talk about feeling not like a valued guest!) We get to the room, 410a to find it is the absolute worst one you can have in the complex (you look out on to the parking lot) - But the rate was low ($165 per night) so we accepted it. The room itself was dirty - tap had a ring of filth around it and the shower had black mold all in the grout. Needs a serious clean. Black hairs left in the bathroom floor (I'm blonde so they weren't mine!!) SO not happy. We will be looking for alternative accommodation after that experience. We didn't even eat at the restaurant we were so angry with the service. Very disappointing! Peppers, you need to lift your game!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SuzieQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Greeted warmly by the staff, breathtaking views of the lake, restaurant food is good. Great location only a small town but its central to everything you need. Very cold over night be prepared for an icy car.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The resort was very nice and had a great location for visitors that didn't have a car. Service counter was good and so was the restaurant. However, I asked for an early check in of 12pm as I was arriving on a bus I made this arrangement a week in advance. Got to the resort and was told it wasn't ready. This was disappointing as I then had to go to the snow in clothing that wasn't suitable for the snow and it destroyed my clothing. Our hotel room was so tiny to move around and I hit my head and tripped over trying to move around the beds and two bags. The people up stairs was so loud it kept us up most of the night. I would stay at this resort again but I would save the extra money and purchase a villa for extra comfort and a view.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Delaney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The resort was at a great location, with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. We were upgraded to a larger than standard-sized room. It included a frig and electric pot for tea/coffee. We ate dinner there one night at the restaurant, and it was truly excellent. All the great attractions of Tekapo are nearby. Our room was nice, except the shower appliance caused the water to go everywhere, and we did not get a dry shower mat for our second night even though the first one was soaking wet on the floor.

That said, I would rather be given an inclusive rate for certain conveniences than be nickel and dimed for things that are usually free at friendly, but not "resort" places. Internet rates were quite high ($8/hour or $20 for 24 hours, but then only for one internet appliance at a time) and no free internet in the lounge. There was a charge to use the outdoor grill. It seems like we were laughing about other ones. Let's face it: $8/hour for Internet is a ripoff! Most places we have visited in New Zealand have even let us stay an extra hour for no extra charge if they did not need the room immediately, but I believe Peppers wanted $25 for that, too. It just sours the experience for us when compared to other places we have stayed.

Room Tip: We went for a standard room (they are priced according to view), but we still had a partial view of...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
673 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#3 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range: £79 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing