We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing views from our second apartment. The apartments are very spacious (we stayed in two different apartments during our stay, the first one did not have a view so the hotel kindly let us move on the second night. The hotel staff were professional and friendly. The only negative I have is that the apartments could have been cleaner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front towards the town of Lake Tekapo as these rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldSearcher2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Kia ora WorldSearcher2014,

Thank you for you lovely review, and for taking the time to post your comments.
We are thrilled to hear that found so many positive aspects in your time with us, and we are thrilled you had such a great stay.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    808
    532
    299
    219
See reviews for
592
1,471
87
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The house and room is spacious and nice, fit for family. The surrounding is peaceful and it's good for relaxation and quiet moments. However, the food is not very attractive and the restaurant is relatively small when comparing with Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge in Tasmania. Nevertheless, it's still a good choice to stay for 1 night or so when passing Lake Tekapo.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Kia ora MaggieWO,

Thank you for your honest review. We also really appreciate you posting those excellent photos!
We respect your comments regarding our restaurant. It is not a huge space, but we can certainly accommodate those who are wanting to make a booking.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just loved this place! The view from our room was breathtaking, like a postcard! the room itself was huge, a living area with beautiful kitchen. The bedroom and bathroom were equally spacious. The heated bathroom floor was pure decadence in the cold morning!
There was a lovely cheese and fruit platter waiting for us as a welcome gift! How thoughtful!
Yes, there was manchester bags strewn across the entry landing, but if I had to go up and down those slippery flights of stairs throughout the complex, I would do the same. All bags were removed within a reasonable timeframe. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Bluewater, and upon future return to Lake Tekapo will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connie567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
KIa ora connie567,

Wow - what a wonderful review! Thank you so much! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, and we are naturally very pleased to hear you had such a brilliant time in our care.

We look forward to seeing you back again!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Neat, clean, spasious. ... A good stop over.

Some units would not have views; we had a two bedroom with views over the town towards the lake.

A little distant from the lake if looking to stay longer (there are places closer).

And a little pricy as well for location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank reklaw_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Kia ora reklaw_d,

Thanks for much for your recent review! We are very happy to know that we more than met your expectations.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were here for one night recently. They allowed us to check in slightly early which was good. The room was spacious and had a lovely view of the lake. Beautiful bathroom. Appeared to be very clean apart from a few long black hairs and a stain on the bedcover when turned back. The breakfast was one of the nicest we have had. The wifi was very expensive so we never used it. They accommodated a late check out which was good. I would recommend staying here even though it was more expensive than other nearby accommodation options.

Room Tip: There was nowhere to rate the cleanliness on this review but I would have given it a 3 out of 5 due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Do you want to trip on a rock on the way to your room? How about pay well over the odds for internet access when even basic motels offer it for free? Do you like tiny TVs? No? Well perhaps Peppers Bluewater isn't for you then.

Given how expensive this place is, everything should be right. It isn't. Corners have been cut. The lack of exterior lighting in the resort, for instance. Or the like-a-TV-only-smaller screens. Or the bath with a couple of spots of missing enamel. None of these things would be a big deal in a $125 a night place, but this isn't. Combine that with staff that act like they are doing you a favour in letting you stay there, and you might wish, as I did, that you had booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Tekapo hotels

Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a long drive from Kaikoura we wanted to have a good and comfortable stay, thats exactly what we got at Peppers.
Peppers have a good reputation and have got good properties in Australia & NZ both. Tekapo being one of them.
The resort has and amazing location and has superb view rooms. The one which we were given had a direct view of the amazing lake.
The check in was quick and rooms were fantastically clean and up to mark. We opted for the suit room which had a huge lounge and sitting place along with a good stocked up kitchen and wonderful fire place. A nice sound system was also placed in the room.
The room had a beautiful view in the morning of the sunrise. Baths were also good and clean.
Staff of the hotel guided us and also booked for us tours and worth seeing places in tekapo.
The resort has a well stocked bar and wonderful restaurant with nice lookout at their very own pond.
Bikes are offered by the resort for short trips.
Check rooms personally before check in try to keep it near the restaurant area as much as possible as other wise it becomes a long walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anuragmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#1 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Property: Peppers Bluewater Resort
Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. Additional Information: Unfortunately we are unable to allow pets onsite at Peppers Bluewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing