We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch with friends/family”

The Chequered Skipper
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ashton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Chequered Skipper is a Grade II listed Thatched Public House and Restaurant with Function Room, The pub is located at the heart of the Rothschild Estate village of Ashton which is also designated as a European Conservation Village. Traditional Limestone Exterior with a contemporary interior which boasts a stone bar, flagstone floor and light oak beamsThe business has been operated by Local Chef/Owner Ian Campbell since 1997 and uses local suppliers and producers where possible. The menu is a mix of bar items, homemade pizza and changing a la carte specials and is suitable for a light lunches, dinner or family meal, we are listed in the AA Good pub food guideThe bar also stocks a minimum of 3 real ales and has been listed in the good beer guide for 14 consectitive years. In 2008 the Green Room function room was opened and we now cater for upwards of 20 wedding receptions per year
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends/family”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The pub is gorgeous and the location idyllic. The menu gave a reasonable choice (it isn't the Fat Duck!) and the food was excellent. Staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive. We will be going again. Some reviewers sound disappointed but I can't see why.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    56
    24
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Celebrating with friends”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked the Chequered Skipper for 6 of us to celebrate our friends 20th wedding anniversary had never eaten there before only had the occasional drink there along time ago, So glad we went the food was fantastic,staff were excellent and there was even a young band playing live in one of the other rooms to finish the lovely night off .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanBrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

thank goodness for google. Was searching for a nice country pub not too far from ours to celebrate our friends birthday and what a lovely surprise. The staff were friendly and the food delicious we all had steak which was cooked to perfection. We all had starters and desserts too which were equally lovely.Will def be visiting again All four of us enjoyed the meal

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karenandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely pub”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great pub with good food and plenty of space for the kids to run around outside. Excellent menu and friendly staff

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
346 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've been here before but never for Sunday lunch and won't go for lunch again

A simple Roast Beef lunch at 1.30 just very poor . Veg was served in a pool of water over cooked and awful .Roast potatoes were deep fried and overlooked and not good , Yorkshire pubs as dry and un tasting as old cardboard . Why don't such a normally good pub that serves great food in the evening get it right for Sunday lunch?

It isn't hard to do Sunday lunch sadly

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chequered Skipper also viewed

Oundle, Northamptonshire
Oundle, Northamptonshire
 
Woodnewton, Oundle
Oundle, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Chequered Skipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing